• logo linkedin
  • logo email
BUJAGALI
After financing the construction of the Bujagali hydropower plant in 2007, this new project is refinancing the loans allocated by PROPARCO in 2007.
This 250 MW power plant has been in operation since 2012 and is the country’s main electricity supplier.
This refinancing will reduce the price of electricity for users in Uganda.
Client presentation

Bujagali Energy Limited (BEL), the project company set up to operate the Bujagali hydropower plant, is co-owned by the Aga Khan Fund for Economic Development (AKFED), a historical shareholder, CDC and SN Power.
BEL has a 30-year concession. 

Project description

The project involves refinancing the loans allocated by PROPARCO in 2007 for the construction of the Bujagali hydropower plant located on the Nile, downstream from Lake Victoria, in Uganda. 
This 250 MW power plant has been in operation since 2012 and is the country’s main electricity supplier (43% of annual power generation at the end of 2017). 
This refinancing leads to an extension of the loan maturity and a reduction in the amount of the repayments, which results in a significant reduction in the sale price of electricity to the Ugandan operator. 

Project impact

As the power plant has already been built and is operational, the refinancing operation will have limited impacts on energy infrastructure and employment, but it will have significant economic and social benefits. Indeed, it will reduce the price of the PPA and therefore contribute to reducing the price of electricity for the final user and to maintaining the competitiveness of the infrastructure.
The final tariff will thereby be reduced by an average of USD 2.31 cts/kWh between 2018 and 2023 for the 7 million people who may potentially benefit from the 1,533 GWh generated by the hydropower plant every year. 

22/06/2018
Date of signature of the project
Financing tool
31 722 589 Euros
Amount of funding
Loan of USD 37,045,639
Financing details
BUJAGALI ENERGY LTD
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
BUJAGALI
Après avoir financé en 2007 la construction de la centrale hydroélectrique de Bujagali, ce nouveau projet permet de refinancer les prêts accordés par Proparco en 2007.
Cette centrale de 250MW, en service depuis 2012, est le principal pourvoyeur d’électricité du pays.
Ce refinancement permettra de faire baisser le prix de l’électricité pour les usagers.
Présentation du client

Bujagali Energy Limited (BEL), société projet créée pour exploiter la centrale hydroélectrique de Bujagali, est co-détenue par le fonds Aga Khan pour le Développement Economique (AKFED), actionnaire historique, CDC et SN Power. 
BEL dispose d’une concession d'une durée de 30 ans.

Description du projet

Le projet consiste à refinancer les prêts octroyés par Proparco en 2007 pour la construction de la centrale hydroélectrique de Bujagali située sur le Nil, en aval du Lac Victoria, en Ouganda. 
Cette centrale de 250MW, en service depuis 2012, est le principal pourvoyeur d’électricité du pays (43% de la production annuelle d'électricité à fin 2017). 
Ce refinancement se traduit par un allongement de la maturité de l'emprunt et une réduction du montant des annuités de remboursement, ce qui entraîne une baisse significative du prix de vente de l’électricité à l’opérateur ougandais.

Impact du projet

La centrale étant déjà construite et opérationnelle, l'opération de refinancement aura des impacts limités sur l’infrastructure énergétique et l’emploi, mais elle aura des bénéfices économiques et sociaux significatifs. Elle permettra en effet de réduire le prix du contrat d'achat d'électricité (PPA) et contribuera donc à baisser le prix de l’électricité pour l’usager final et à maintenir la compétitivité de l’infrastructure.
Le tarif final sera ainsi réduit de 2,31 cts USD / kWh en moyenne sur la période 2018-2023 pour les 7 millions de personnes qui pourraient bénéficier potentiellement des 1 533 GWh produits par an par la centrale hydroélectrique. 

22/06/2018
Date de signature du projet
Ouganda
Localisation
Outils de financement
31 722 589 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt de 37 045 639 USD
Details du financement
BUJAGALI ENERGY LTD
Client
CES