• logo linkedin
  • logo email
To support Banco Continental in the current crisis caused by the Covid-19 virus, Proparco has renewed its partnership by allocating it a new credit line to support the development of its green credit line, with climate co-benefits, and financing for Paraguayan SMEs
Client presentation

Banco Continental was set up in 1980 and has been the country’s leading bank since 2013 in terms of assets. It operates based on the model of a universal bank, providing banking and financial services to over 100,000 clients in all sectors of the economy, via a network of 62 branches. It has the status of S.A.E.C.A (Public Limited Company of Open Capital). At the end of 2019, the bank had a 15.4% market share in terms of assets and 13.7% in terms of deposits.
PROPARCO entered into relations with the bank in 2017 by participating, alongside CAF and DEG, in a USD 80m syndicated loan to support Banco Continental’s lending activity in the agriculture sector.

Project description

This second operation with Banco Continental aims to help the bank develop its green credit portfolio with climate co-benefits with USD 21m (70% of the credit line) and increase its loan portfolio for small and medium-sized enterprises with USD 9m. This financing will also provide the bank with long-term resources, allowing it to prepare the end of the health crisis under the best possible conditions by supporting the economic recovery in the country.

Project impact

The main expected impacts of this project are as follows:

  • Support for the economic development of Paraguay by financing SMEs, most of which operate in the agriculture/livestock raising, trade and industry sectors and generally find it difficult to access financing;
  • Some 6,000 jobs maintained over the next 5 years, mainly indirect jobs in the companies that will be targeted by the credit line;
  • The mobilization of EUR 68m of private finance, i.e. a ratio of 2.56.  

Through these various expected impacts on development, the project will contribute to SDG 8 (Decent work and economic growth) and SDG 13 (Take urgent action to combat climate change).

12/18/2020
Date of signature of the project
Paraguay
Location
Financing tool
25 098 301 Euros
Amount of funding
USD 30m loan
Financing details
BANCO CONTINENTAL SAECA
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Pour soutenir Banco Continental durant la période de crise engendrée par le virus de la Covid-19, Proparco renouvelle son partenariat en lui octroyant une nouvelle ligne de crédit destinée à soutenir le développement de son portefeuille de crédits verts, à co-bénéfices climat, ainsi qu’au financement des PMEs paraguayennes
Présentation du client

Fondée en 1980, Banco Continental est la 1ère banque du pays depuis 2013 en termes d'actifs, opérant selon le modèle de banque universelle et fournissant des services bancaires et financiers à plus de 100 000 clients présents dans tous les secteurs de l’économie, via un réseau de 62 agences. Elle opère sous le statut de S.A.E.C.A (Société Anonyme à Capital Ouvert). A fin 2019, la banque disposait de 15,4% de parts de marché au niveau des actifs et 13,7% au niveau des dépôts.
Proparco est entrée en relation avec la banque en 2017 en participant, aux côtés de la CAF et de la DEG, à un crédit syndiqué de 80 MUSD destiné à soutenir l’activité de crédits au secteur agricole de Banco Continental.

Description du projet

Cette deuxième opération avec Banco Continental vise à soutenir la banque dans le développement de son portefeuille de crédits verts à co-bénéfices climat pour 21 MUSD (70% de la ligne) ainsi que dans la croissance de son portefeuille de crédits aux petites et moyennes entreprises pour 9 MUSD. Ce financement permettra par ailleurs à la banque de disposer de ressources de long terme, lui permettant de préparer, dans les meilleures conditions, la sortie de la crise sanitaire en soutenant la reprise économique dans le pays.

Impact du projet

Les principaux impacts attendus de ce projet sont les suivants :

  • Un soutien au développement économique du Paraguay à travers le financement de PME, pour la plupart actives dans les secteurs de l’agriculture/élevage, du commerce et de l’industrie, lesquelles ont généralement difficilement accès aux financements;  
  • Le maintien d'ici à cinq ans de près de 6 000 emplois, essentiellement indirects c'est-à-dire auprès des entreprises qui seront ciblées par la ligne de crédit.     
  • La mobilisation d’un montant de finance privée de 68 MEUR, soit un ratio de 2,56. 

A travers ces différents effets attendus sur le développement, le projet contribuera à l’ODD 8 (Travail décent et croissance économique) et l’ODD 13 (Lutte contre le changement climatique).  

18/12/2020
Date de signature du projet
Paraguay
Localisation
Outils de financement
25 098 301 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt de 30 MUSD
Details du financement
BANCO CONTINENTAL SAECA
Client
CES