• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Proparco has allocated a loan to African Banking Corporation Botswana (BancABC Botswana) to support the bank’s activity for SMEs and commercial companies
Client presentation

BancABC Botswana is part of the group with the same name which operates in Southern Africa. It is a subsidiary of Atlas Mara, a long-term partner of Proparco. Since 1986, it has gradually been transforming its activity into a fully-fledged commercial bank. ABC is the 4th or 5th leading bank in the country. Among these 5, ABS is the only one that is not a subsidiary of a major international banking group. With its recent listing on the Botswana Stock Exchange, it is considered as a local People’s Bank. 

Project description

For this 1st financing in Botswana, Proparco wanted to support BancABC’s strategy to diversify towards a corporate and SME customer base. This financing is strengthening the bank’s regulatory capital and providing it with resources for its development. It is part of extensive support to this bank. Indeed, it is subsequently planned to provide it with technical assistance and ARIZ guarantees

Project impact

The expected impacts of this financing are as follows:

  • Support for over 650 direct jobs over the next five years (including over 400 jobs held by women), as well as some 4,100 indirect jobs in the 32 SMEs and 11 corporates potentially supported by BancABC through Proparco’s financing.
  • A 66% increase in the SME client base of BancABC, which should have some 330 SMEs in its portfolio over the next five years. 
16/04/2020
Date of signature of the project
Botswana
Location
Financing tool
9 114 108 Euros
Amount of funding
USD 10m loan
Financing details
African Banking Corporation of Botswana Limited
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Proparco accorde un prêt à African Banking Corporation Botswana (BancABC Botswana) afin de soutenir l'activité de la banque auprès des PME et des entreprises commerciales.
Présentation du client

BancABC Botswana fait partie du groupe éponyme opérant en Afrique australe. Elle est une filiale d'Atlas Mara, partenaire de long terme de Proparco. Depuis 1986, elle a progressivement transformé son activité en une banque commerciale à part entière. ABC est la 4 ou 5 ème banque du pays. Parmi ces 5 premières, ABC est la seule n’étant pas filiale d'un grand groupe bancaire international. Avec sa récente cotation à la Bourse du Botswana, elle est considérée comme une banque locale populaire.

Description du projet

Pour ce 1er financement au Botswana, Proparco a souhaité accompagner BancABC dans sa stratégie de diversification auprès d’une clientèle corporate et PME. Ce financement,  vient renforcer les fonds propres règlementaires de la banque et lui donne les moyens de son développement. Celui-ci rentre dans le cadre d’un soutien multiple auprès de cette banque. Il est en effet prévu dans un second temps de l’accompagner par une assistance technique et par des garanties Ariz.

Impact du projet

Les effets attendus de ce financement sont les suivants :

  • le soutien de plus de 650 emplois directs d'ici cinq ans (dont plus de 400 emplois occupés par des femmes), ainsi que près de 4 100 emplois indirects au sein des 32 PME et des  11 grandes entreprises potentiellement accompagnées par BancABC grâce au financement de Proparco. 
  • une croissance de 66% de la clientèle de PME de BancABC qui devrait compter près de 330 PME dans son portefeuille de clients d'ici cinq ans. 
16/04/2020
Date de signature du projet
Botswana
Localisation
Outils de financement
9 114 108 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt de 10 000 000 USD
Details du financement
African Banking Corporation of Botswana Limited
Client
CES