• logo linkedin
  • logo email
The operation involves an equity investment in the ARAF fund of the NGO Acumen to finance innovative solutions aiming at improving the conditions and climate resilience of smallholders in East and West Africa. This financing is organized by FISEA+, a facility deployed under the Choose Africa initiative implemented by AFD Group.
Client presentation

ARAF is a USD 58m investment fund managed by Acumen, an American NGO specialized in supporting social enterprises offering goods and services to disadvantaged people. Acumen was set up 20 years ago and, at the end of June 2021, had invested over USD 137m in 139 social enterprises which have served some 263 million beneficiaries. With the ARAF fund, Acumen is targeting the themes of food security and climate change, which are essential for Africa’s development.

Project description

ARAF aims to invest tickets ranging from USD 1m to USD 5m in about 10 start-ups offering innovative solutions to improve the conditions and climate resilience of smallholders in East and West Africa. The initiative aims to prove the commercial viability of investments in innovative solutions for smallholders and attract more private financing in this field. The Green Climate Fund (GCF) is the lead investor and is providing USD 23m of first-loss guarantee capital. The manager Acumen is providing USD 2m, also as a first-loss guarantee.

Project impact

The fund is expected to maintain some 1,200 jobs and indirectly support a total of 2 million smallholders over the next 5 years. The fund will benefit from a technical assistance budget of USD 6m to maximize the impact of its investment strategy. The project meets AFD’s climate eligibility criteria (adaptation) through the climate component of the solutions proposed by the companies selected by the fund. 

06/30/2021
Date of signature of the project
Ghana Kenya Nigeria Uganda Multi-country Africa
Location
Financing tool
4 200 000 Euros
Amount of funding
USD 5m Equity Investment
Financing details
Acumen Resilient Agriculture Fund, LP
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
L’opération consiste en une prise de participation dans le fonds ARAF de l'ONG Acumen pour financer des solutions innovantes visant à améliorer les conditions et la résilience climatique des petits exploitants agricoles en Afrique de l'Est et de l'Ouest. Ce financement est organisé par FISEA+, une facilité déployée dans le cadre de l’initiative Choose Africa mise en œuvre par le Groupe AFD.
Présentation du client

ARAF est un fonds d'investissement d'une taille de 58MUSD géré par Acumen, une ONG américaine qui s’est spécialisée dans le soutien aux entreprises sociales proposant des biens et services aux populations défavorisées. Acumen existe depuis 20 ans et a investi, à fin juin 2021, plus de 137 MUSD dans 139 entreprises sociales qui ont servi près de 263 millions de bénéficiaires. Avec le fonds ARAF, Acumen cible les thèmes de la sécurité alimentaire et du changement climatique, qui sont essentiels pour le développement du continent africain.

Description du projet

ARAF vise à investir des tickets entre 1 et 5 MUSD dans une dizaine de startups proposant des solutions innovantes pour améliorer les conditions et la résilience climatique des petits exploitants agricoles en Afrique de l'Est et de l'Ouest. L'initiative vise à prouver la viabilité commerciale de l'investissement dans des solutions innovantes pour les petits producteurs et à attirer davantage de financements privés dans ce domaine. Le Green Climate Fund (GCF) est l’investisseur de référence et apporte 23 MUSD de capital en garantie des premières pertes. Le gestionnaire Acumen apporte de son côté 2 MUSD, également en garantie des premières pertes.

Impact du projet

Le fonds devrait maintenir près de 1 200 emplois et soutenir indirectement un total de 2 millions de petits exploitants agricoles d'ici 5 ans. Le fonds bénéficiera d’une poche d’assistance technique de 6 MUSD afin de maximiser l'impact de sa stratégie d'investissement. Du fait de la composante climat des solutions proposées par les sociétés sélectionnées par le fonds, le projet satisfait les critères d'éligibilité climat de l'AFD (adaptation).

30/06/2021
Date de signature du projet
Ghana Kenya Nigéria Ouganda Multi-Pays Afrique
Localisation
Outils de financement
4 200 000 Euros
Montant du financement
Prise de participation de 5 MUSD
Details du financement
Acumen Resilient Agriculture Fund, LP
Client
CES