Proparco confirms its support for the private sector in Latin America

Brazil Colombia Mexico Multi-country Latin America and the Caribbean
  • logo linkedin
  • logo email
With a EUR 27m equity investment in the investment fund ACON ALAOF V, Proparco is pressing ahead with its strategy in Latin America: support growth in consumption related to the emergence of a middle class, support the private sector, which contributes to closing the infrastructure gap, and improve the penetration of financial services, which is still low.
Client presentation

The management company ACON was set up in 1996 to support SME financing in Latin America. PROPARCO has been a partner of ACON since 2010 with the ACON ALAOF fund, then ACON ALAOF IV in 2014. The team is based in the USA, Mexico City, Bogota and Sao Paulo.

Project description

ACON ALAOF V is expected to implement a strategy based on three guidelines. Firstly, support the growth in consumption related to the emergence of a middle class, but also support the private sector, which contributes to closing the infrastructure gap, and, finally, improve the penetration of financial services, which is still low. Sectors related to oil, gas and extractive industries are excluded from the fund’s investment policy.

Project impact
  • Support for the employment of some 7,350 people in the countries concerned (mainly Brazil, Mexico and Colombia), including some 3,700 women.  
  • Training in compliance for the fund’s employees (legal obligation) and training for employees in the underlying companies depending on the needs, with a focus on improving corporate governance practices, assessing environmental and social risks and defining investment strategies.
08/11/2019
Date of signature of the project
Brazil Colombia Mexico Multi-country Latin America and the Caribbean
Location
Financing tool
27 000 000 Euros
Amount of funding
USD 30m Equity investment
Financing details
ACON ALAOF V
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Via une une prise de participation de 27 millions d'euro dans le fonds d'investissement ACON ALAOF V, Proparco poursuit sa stratégie en Amérique Latine:soutenir l’essor de la consommation lié à l’émergence d’une classe moyenne, soutenir le secteur privé qui participe à la réduction du déficit d’infrastructures et améliorer la pénétration encore faible des services financiers.
Présentation du client

La société de gestion ACON a été créée en 1996 pour soutenir le financement de PME en Amérique latine. PROPARCO est un partenaire d'ACON depuis 2010 avec le fonds ACON ALAOF puis ACON ALAOF IV en 2014. L'équipe est basée aux Etats-Unis, à Mexico, Bogota et Sao Paulo.

Description du projet

ACON ALAOF V devrait poursuivre une stratégie reposant sur trois lignes directrices. Tout d'adord soutenir l’essor de la consommation lié à l’émergence d’une classe moyenne, mais aussi soutenir le secteur privé qui participe à la réduction du déficit d’infrastructures et enfin améliorer la pénétration encore faible des services financiers. Les secteurs liés au pétrole, au gaz  et les industries extractives sont exclus de la politique d'investissement du fonds. 

Impact du projet
  • Soutien à l’emploi d'environ 7 350 personnes dans les pays considérés (principalement Brésil, Mexique et Colombie), dont environ 3 700 femmes.
  • Formation des employés du fonds sur la conformité (obligation légale) et formation des employés des sous-jacents selon les besoins, notamment pour l'amélioration des pratiques de gouvernance d’entreprise, l'appréciation des risques environnementaux et sociaux et la définition de stratégie d’investissement.
08/11/2019
Date de signature du projet
Brésil Colombie Mexique Multi-Pays Amérique latine et Caraïbes
Localisation
Outils de financement
27 000 000 Euros
Montant du financement
Prise de participation de 30 MUSD
Details du financement
ACON ALAOF V
Client
CES