• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Proparco is supporting the growth of SMEs and promoting the financing of energy efficiency and renewable energy projects in Nigeria via a USD 85m loan to United Bank for Africa (UBA).
Client presentation

UBA is a Nigerian bank and is today the country’s 3rd largest bank. It is a major pan-African bank operating in 20 African countries and has over 18 million clients. UBA is a universal bank highly renowned in the segment of large corporates and wishes to open up to the SME market. 

Project description

Our financing will support the development of its SME activity and promote the financing of energy efficiency and renewable energy projects in Nigeria. It will thereby contribute to the construction of green infrastructure, which is required to address the huge energy challenge facing the country, as well as other African countries, by financing several subsidiaries that do not have direct access to dollar financing.

Project impact

The operation should create over 7,000 jobs in the bank, which will increase the payroll by about 60%. Almost half of these jobs should be held by women and all employees will benefit from in-house training.
Furthermore, the funded projects, which are geared towards energy efficiency and renewable energies, should have a positive impact on access to electricity and contribute to reducing CO2 emissions.

28/11/2019
Date of signature of the project
Nigeria
Location
Financing tool
77 139 486 Euros
Amount of funding
USD 85m loan
Financing details
United bank for Africa
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Via un prêt de 85 millions de dollars à la banque United bank for Africa (UBA), Proparco soutient la croissance des PME et encourage le financement de projets d’efficacité énergétique et d’énergie renouvelable au Nigéria.
Présentation du client

Originaire du Nigéria où elle est aujourd’hui la 3ème banque du pays, UBA est une banque panafricaine incontournable, présente dans 20 pays africains et qui compte plus 18 millions de clients. Banque universelle très réputée sur le segment des grands corporates, UBA souhaite s’ouvrir sur le marché des PME. 

Description du projet

Notre financement permettra  de soutenir le développement son activité envers les PME et d’encourager le financement de projets d’efficacité énergétique et d’énergie renouvelable au Nigéria et ainsi contribuer à la nécessaire construction d’infrastructures vertes permettant de répondre à l’immense défi énergétique que rencontre le pays, et dans d’autres géographies africaines via le financement de plusieurs filiales n’ayant pas d’accès direct à du financement en dollar.

Impact du projet

L’opération devrait permettre la création de plus de 7000 emplois au sein de la banque, représentant une croissance d'environ 60% de la masse salariale. Près la moitié de ces emplois seraient occupés par des femmes et l'ensemble des salariés bénéficieront d'une formation continue.
Par ailleurs, les projets financés, orientés vers l’efficacité énergétique et les énergies renouvelables, devraient avoir un effet positif sur l’accès à l’électricité et contribuer à la réduction des émissions de CO2

28/11/2019
Date de signature du projet
Nigéria
Localisation
Outils de financement
77 139 486 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt de 85 MUSD
Details du financement
United bank for Africa
Client
CES