• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Proparco will help bridge the long-term financing gap for Egyptian mid-cap companies via a USD 11m investment in LCP Fund II.
Client presentation

Incorporated in 2015, Lorax Capital Partners (“LCP”) is an Egypt-focused private equity firm. Over the last 5 years, LCP has supported the Egyptian American Enterprise Fund (“EAEF”) by deploying some USD 175m in 5 companies. One of their most notable investments has supported Fawry, the largest electronic payment network in Egypt, which made its debut listing on the Cairo Stock Exchange in August 2019. Fawry was also the first unicorn (a start-up valued at over USD 1bn) in Egypt and one of the first in Africa. As a capital investor specialized in growth companies, LCP’s specificity is its strong focus on technology, which the team integrates as a core component in its investment case.

Project description

With a target size of USD 250m, the new fund plans to support profitable and growing mid-cap companies in promising sectors of the Egyptian economy, promoting local consumption and production as well as financial inclusion. The fund will also target companies seeking to develop regionally. The manager will aim to implement environmental and social and governance best practices in the companies it supports, while helping them to increase their value creation.

Project impact

Proparco’s investment will support economic development and job creation in Egypt, thereby contributing to Sustainable Development Goal N° 8 “Decent Work and Economic Growth”. The main expected economic and social impacts of the project concern the support for the technological upgrading of eight companies in Egypt. By participating in the 1st closing of the fund, Proparco is also supporting the development of private equity investment in Egypt and the region. This operation will thereby contribute to reducing the long-term financing gap for SMEs and mid-cap companies in Egypt (4,700 direct local jobs supported, including some 530 held by women, jobs in the investee companies), a role made even more crucial in this period of economic downturn caused by the Covid crisis.

09/30/2020
Date of signature of the project
Egypt
Location
Financing tool
10 000 000 Euros
Amount of funding
USD 11m equity investment
Financing details
LCP FUND II COOPERATIEF U.A.
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Via un investissement de 11 millions de dollars dans le LCP Fund II, Proparco contribuera à combler le déficit de financement à long terme des entreprises égyptiennes de taille moyenne.
Présentation du client

Créée en 2015, Lorax Capital Partners ("LCP") est une société de capital-investissement axée sur l'Égypte. Au cours des cinq dernières années, LCP a soutenu le Egyptian American Enterprise Fund ("EAEF") en déployant près de 175 millions de dollars dans cinq entreprises. L'un de leurs investissements les plus notables a été réalisé en soutien de Fawry, le plus grand réseau de paiement électronique d'Égypte, qui a fait ses débuts à la Bourse du Caire en août 2019. Fawry fut la première licorne (start-up valorisée à plus de 1 milliard de dollars) en Égypte et l'une des premières en Afrique. En tant qu'investisseur en capital spécialisé sur les sociétés en croissance, LCP a pour particularité sa forte concentration sur la technologie, que l'équipe intègre comme un élément essentiel dans son dossier d'investissement.

Description du projet

Avec une taille cible de 250 millions de dollars, le nouveau fonds prévoit de soutenir des entreprises de taille intermédiaire rentables et en croissance dans des secteurs prometteurs de l'économie égyptienne, en favorisant la consommation et la production locales ainsi que l'inclusion financière. Le fonds ciblera également les entreprises désireuses de se développer au niveau régional. Le gestionnaire visera à mettre en œuvre les meilleures pratiques environnementales et sociales et de gouvernance dans les entreprises qu'elle soutient, tout en les aidant à accroître leur création de valeur.

Impact du projet

L'investissement de Proparco soutiendra le développement économique et la création d'emplois en Egypte, contribuant ainsi à l'Objectif de Développement Durable N°8: "Travail décent et croissance économique".  Les principaux impacts attendus du projet au plan économique et social seraient le soutien à la modernisation technologique de 8 entreprises en Egypte. En participant au 1er closing du fonds, Proparco soutient également le développement du capital investissement en Egypte et dans la région. Cette opération contribuera ainsi à réduire le déficit de financement à long terme des PME et des entreprises de taille intermédiaire en Egypte (soutien à 4 700 emplois directs locaux dont près de 530 occupés par des femmes, emplois au sein des sociétés investies), un rôle rendu plus important encore dans cette période de ralentissement économique provoqué par la crise de COVID.

30/09/2020
Date de signature du projet
Egypte
Localisation
Outils de financement
10 000 000 Euros
Montant du financement
Prise de participation de 11 MUSD
Details du financement
LCP FUND II COOPERATIEF U.A.
Client
CES