• logo linkedin
  • logo email
ETG, an African trader, connects small local producers with international markets. It thereby contributes to increasing their incomes and developing processing activities in Africa, especially in fragile countries.
Client presentation

ETG was set up in Kenya in 1967. It has today become one of the largest agricultural companies in Africa and is the only African trader to rival international traders. Every year, ETG ships some 7 million tons of agricultural commodities (legumes, cereals, fertilizers) to over 40 countries, including 26 African countries, with a strong base in East and Southern Africa. The Group employs some 6,800 people and sources from hundreds of thousands of smallholder farmers. The Group also develops products with higher added value, such as mass-market consumer goods, via its entity Vamara, and inputs for the African market, where agricultural yields are low. 

Project description

The project aims to finance and refinance ETG’s investment program for 2018-2020. It covers over 50 subprojects, ranging from processing plants to warehouses and including vehicles, with the aim of strengthening the Group’s integration. Over 80% target LDCs and crisis or post-crisis countries (Malawi, Côte d'Ivoire, Zambia, etc.). 
This financing improves access to long-term resources, which remains difficult. These resources also strengthen the stability of the Group’s balance sheet.

Project impact

The project has 2 main objectives:

  • Link up smallholders with the formal economy by offering them market opportunities. Indeed, one of the main barriers to the development of intra-African trade and incomes for smallholders in Sub-Saharan Africa is the difficulty for commercial buyers to reach them, due to the costs incurred by the lack of logistics. Thanks to its dense network of warehouses and its operation via depots, ETG allows farmers both to sell their goods near their land and purchase inputs. Furthermore, the advice given to smallholders by ETG’s agronomists, in the context of the business relationship, contributes to the dissemination of good practices on inputs in order to increase yields, which is a key issue for the development of African agriculture. 
  • Increase the added value produced in Africa by expanding the processing capacity. Vamara, a subsidiary of ETG, produces mass-market consumer goods that are accessible to the lower middle class, as well as goods for the World Food Programme (WFP). 
18/07/2019
Date of signature of the project
Multi-country Global South Africa Benin Kenya Malawi Mozambique Tanzania Zambia Zimbabwe
Location
Financing tool
37 104 128 Euros
Amount of funding
USD 41,289,473.68 USD loan
Financing details
ETG
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Négociant africain, ETG permet de connecter les petits producteurs locaux aux marchés internationaux. Il contribue ainsi à améliorer leurs revenus et à développer des activités de transformation en Afrique, notamment dans les pays fragiles.
Présentation du client

Créé en 1967 au Kenya, ETG est aujourd’hui devenu une des plus grandes entreprises agricoles du continent et l’unique négociant africain qui rivalise avec les négociants internationaux. ETG transporte chaque année environ 7 millions de tonnes de matières premières agricoles (légumineuses, céréales, engrais) dans plus de 40 pays dont 26 africains, avec un fort ancrage en Afrique de l’est et australe. Le Groupe emploie environ 6 800 personnes et achète auprès de centaines de milliers de petits agriculteurs. Le Groupe développe également des produits à plus forte valeur-ajoutée tels que les biens de grande consommation via son entité Vamara, et les intrants destinés au marché africain où les rendements agricoles sont faibles.

Description du projet

Le projet a vocation à financer et refinancer le programme d'investissement 2018-2020 d'ETG. Il couvre plus de 50 sous-projets, allant d'usines de transformation à des entrepôts en passant par du véhicules, ce afin de renforcer l'intégration du Groupe. Plus de 80% font sont destinés à des PMA et des pays en crise ou sortie de crise (Malawi, Côte d'Ivoire, Zambie, etc). 
Ce financement permet d'améliorer l’accès aux ressources longues, qui demeure difficile, et qui permettent de renforcer la stabilité du bilan du Groupe.

Impact du projet

Ce projet vise 2 objectifs principaux : 

  • Relier les petits agriculteurs à l’économie formelle en leur offrant des débouchés de marché. En effet, l'un des obstacles majeurs au développement du commerce intra-africain et des revenus des petits agriculteurs en Afrique subsaharienne est la difficulté pour les acheteurs commerciaux de les atteindre, de par les coûts induits par le manque de logistique. Grâce à son dense réseau d’entrepôts et son fonctionnement via des dépôts, ETG permet à la fois à l’agriculteur de vendre sa marchandise à proximité de ses terres et de se fournir en intrants. Par ailleurs, les conseils fournis par les agronomes d’ETG aux petits agriculteurs, dans le cadre de la relation commerciale, contribue à la diffusion de bonnes pratiques sur les intrants pour l’augmentation des rendements, enjeu clé du développement de l’agriculture africaine. 
  • D'accroître la valeur ajoutée produite sur le continent via l’augmentation des capacités de transformation. Vamara, filiale d’ETG, produit des biens de grande consommation accessibles à la classe moyenne inférieure ainsi que pour le Programme Alimentaire Mondial (PAM).
18/07/2019
Date de signature du projet
Multi-Pays Etranger Afrique du Sud Bénin Kenya Malawi Mozambique Tanzanie Zambie Zimbabwe
Localisation
Outils de financement
37 104 128 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt de 41 289 473,68 USD
Details du financement
ETG
Client
CES