• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Proparco is supporting SMEs in East Africa via an equity investment in CATALYST FUND II. This fund will target companies generating stable cash flows, but with limited growth due to their difficulty in accessing capital. This investment should promote job creation, as this fund supports dynamic SMEs that aim to achieve a significant social impact by targeting social sectors, such as health and education.
Client presentation

Catalyst Fund II is a regional development capital fund dedicated to East Africa and raised by the manager Catalyst Principal Partners (“Catalyst”) based in Nairobi. Catalyst has been set up by three African partners, each with over 15 years of experience in finance and management in East Africa (Paul Kavuma, Biniam Yohannes and Rajal Upadhyaya). In 2011, Catalyst raised its first USD 123m fund (Catalyst Fund I – “CF I”) dedicated to East Africa, with a financing round mainly made up of DFIs. 

Project description

With a size of USD 153m, Catalyst Fund II is planning 8 to 12 equity investments for tickets ranging between USD 7.5m and USD 25m. This will ensure it has significant minority or majority positions in SMEs in East Africa. The fund will target companies generating stable cash flows, with a growth typically limited by a lack of capital and sub-optimal management. The fund will support the development of these companies through internal growth (development of the domestic and regional market) and external growth (acquisitions). CF II will mainly target local companies in the domestic consumption market (agribusiness, health, manufacturing industry, financial services), with strong fundamentals and high potential for regional development. The fund will focus its activity on Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania and Ethiopia, with the possibility of also investing in Zambia, Rwanda and DRC.

Project impact

Proparco’s investment in the CF II fund is supporting the creation of a local private equity team targeting SMEs in East Africa in sectors that (i) provide goods and services at the Bottom and Middle of the Pyramid, (ii) often have difficulty in accessing venture capital in the region, (iii) promote job creation by investing in dynamic SMEs, (iv) have a significant social impact by targeting social sectors (health and education) and companies oriented towards domestic demand.
In 5 years, Catalyst has become one of the most credible local managers in the region. In addition, all the investments will include a development plan to facilitate the growth of the targets and ESG action plans to increase the impact of these investments.  

22/12/2016
Date of signature of the project
Ethiopia Uganda Tanzania Multi-country Africa
Location
Financing tool
15 000 000 Euros
Amount of funding
EUR 15m Equity investment
Financing details
CATALYST FUND II
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Via une prise de participation dans le Fonds CATALYST FUND II, Proparco soutient les PMEs en l’Afrique de l’Est. Ce fonds visera des sociétés générant des flux de trésorerie stables mais limitées dans leur croissance par un accès difficile au capital. Cet investissement devrait favoriser la création d'emplois car ce fonds soutient des PMEs dynamiques qui visent un impact social significatif en ciblant notamment des secteurs sociaux comme la santé et l'éducation.
Présentation du client

Catalyst Fund II est un fonds de capital développement régional dédié à l’Afrique de l’Est et levé par le gestionnaire Catalyst Principal Partners (« Catalyst ») basé à Nairobi. Catalyst a été fondé par trois associés africains disposant de plus de 15 ans d’expérience chacun dans la finance et la gestion en Afrique de l’Est (Paul Kavuma, Biniam Yohannes et Rajal Upadhyaya). En 2011, Catalyst lève son premier fonds (Catalyst Fund I – « CF I ») de 123 MUSD dédié à l’Afrique de l’Est avec un tour de table composé principalement de DFI. 

Description du projet

D’une taille de 153MUSD, Catalyst Fund II prévoit 8 à 12 prises de participations pour des tickets de 7,5 à 25MUSD, lui assurant des positions minoritaires significatives ou majoritaires dans des PMEs en l’Afrique de l’Est. Le fonds visera des sociétés générant des flux de trésorerie stables, étant typiquement limitées dans leur croissance par un manque de capital et une gestion sous-optimale. Le fonds accompagnera le développement de ces entreprises via croissance interne (développement du marché domestique et régional) et externe (acquisitions). CF II ciblera principalement des entreprises locales exposées à la consommation domestique (agro-industrie, santé, industrie manufacturière, services financiers) et affichant des
fondamentaux solides et un fort potentiel de développement régional. Le fonds concentrera son activité sur le Kenya,  l’Ouganda, la Tanzanie et l’Ethiopie avec la possibilité d’investir également en Zambie, au Rwanda et en RDC.

Impact du projet

La participation de Proparco au fonds CF II s’inscrit dans le soutien à l’émergence d’une équipe locale de capital-investissement ciblant des PME en Afrique de l’Est dans des secteurs qui (i) fournissent des biens et services aux Bottom and Middle Of Pyramid, (ii) ont souvent difficilement accès au capital de risque dans la région, (iii) favorisent la création d'emplois en investissant dans des PME dynamiques, (iv) un impact social significatif en ciblant notamment des secteurs sociaux (santé et éducation) et en ciblant des sociétés tournées vers la demande domestique. 
En 5 ans, Catalyst s’est imposé comme l’un des gestionnaires locaux les plus crédibles de la région. Par ailleurs, l’ensemble des investissements comprendront un plan de développement visant à faciliter la croissance des cibles et des plans d'actions en matière ESG visant à augmenter l'impact de ces investissements. 

22/12/2016
Date de signature du projet
Ethiopie Ouganda Tanzanie Multi-Pays Afrique
Localisation
Outils de financement
15 000 000 Euros
Montant du financement
Prise de particpation de 15 MEUR
Details du financement
CATALYST FUND II
Client
CES