• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Projet UBCL
By assisting United Commercial Bank in financing a garment factory in Bangladesh, Proparco is allowing a new site to be designed, built and managed in compliance with social and environmental standards.
Client presentation
UCBL is one of the largest private banks in Bangladesh in terms of assets. It was set up in 1983 and by the end of 2015 had a network of 158 branches, with a headcount of over 3,800 employees. At the end of 2015, this universal bank had a consolidated balance sheet of USD 3.8bn. Its growth strategy is based on services for SMEs, as well as for textile companies, and for green financing projects.
Project description
The project involves the allocation of a senior credit line to finance the construction of a garment factory, in line with international environmental and social standards, with one of the country's leading textile players: DIRD Group. This financing is fully in line with Proparco's mandate in Bangladesh, with a green building credit line which will also improve working conditions in the textile industry.
Project impact
This project will support employment in a key sector in Bangladesh by creating or maintaining 1,600 direct and indirect jobs. It will also contribute to SME development, as well as to providing access to the banking system for people living in remote areas in the country. Finally, this project will finance a garment factory in line with international social and environmental standards. This will improve the energy efficiency of facilities, environmental compliance, and safety and working conditions for employees.
29/06/2016
Date of signature of the project
Bangladesh
Location
Financing tool
14 344 630 Euros
Amount of funding
Loan of USD 16 M
Financing details
United Commercial Bank Limited
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Projet UBCL
En accompagnant la United Commercial Bank dans le financement d’une usine de confection textile au Bangladesh, Proparco permet au nouveau site d’être conçu, réalisé et géré dans le respect des standards sociaux et environnementaux.
Présentation du client

UCBL est l’une des plus grandes banques privées au Bangladesh en termes d’actifs. Créée en 1983, elle disposait, fin 2015, d’un réseau de 158 agences et d’un effectif de plus de 3 800 employés. A fin 2015, cette banque universelle présentait un bilan consolidé de 3,8 milliards de dollars. Sa stratégie de croissance repose sur le service aux PME, ainsi qu’aux entreprises du textile et aux projets de green financing.

Description du projet

Le projet consiste en l’octroi d’une ligne de crédit senior pour financer la construction d’une usine de confection aux standards internationaux en matière environnementale et sociale chez l’un des principaux acteurs textile du pays : le groupe DIRD. Ce financement correspond pleinement au mandat de Proparco au Bangladesh avec une ligne dédiée green building qui permet  également d’améliorer les conditions de travail dans le secteur textile.

Impact du projet

Ce projet  soutiendra l'emploi dans un secteur-clé du Bangladesh  avec la création ou le maintien de 1600 postes directs et indirects. Il contribuera également au développement des PME ainsi qu'à la bancarisation des populations habitant dans des zones reculées du pays. Enfin, ce projet financera une usine textile respectant les standards sociaux et environnementaux internationaux, améliorant ainsi l'efficacité énergétique des installations, le respect de l'environnement et les conditions de sécurité et de travail des salariés.

29/06/2016
Date de signature du projet
Bangladesh
Localisation
Outils de financement
14 344 630 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt de 16 MUSD
Details du financement
United Commercial Bank Limited
Client
CES