• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Au Kenya, soutenir la qualité de l’offre hôtelière et affiner la mesure des impacts
The refurbishment of these Kenyan hotels is allowing TPS, the main hotel group in East Africa, to improve the quality of its services. PROPARCO’s financial support will also help it measure the impact of its activities.
Client presentation
TPS is the main player in the tourism sector in East Africa. It operates in Kenya via its subsidiary TPS Kenya. The group is majority-owned by AKFED. Since the 1970s, the group has been operating over twenty establishments in 5 East African countries under the Serena brand. The group has traditionally contributed to creating high-quality hotel infrastructure, while basing its development on a high level of social and environmental responsibility.
Project description
Proparco’s loan will allow the group to finance the refurbishment of part of its assets and mainly its establishments in Kenya. This will include the refurbishment of the Nairobi Serena Hotel, where the planned works comprise the construction of a conference center, new catering areas, as well as the refurbishment of bedrooms. Proparco’s financial support will assist TPS in the development of system to measure impacts and the contribution to local development of Serena hotels throughout Africa.
Project impact
This operation will contribute to supporting the quality of hotel services in East Africa. It will also help create jobs and boost the local economy via the local sourcing of the supplies or food products of TPS hotels. It will also contribute to creating an attractive business environment for regional and international investments. The financial support will allow the Serena Hotel to more effectively manage its developmental performance and may serve as a model for hotels wishing to replicate the process.
24/08/2015
Date of signature of the project
Kenya
Location
Financing tool
18 947 379 Euros
Amount of funding
USD 20m loan and technical assistance for EUR 42,000
Financing details
Tourism Promotion Services Kenya
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Au Kenya, soutenir la qualité de l’offre hôtelière et affiner la mesure des impacts
La rénovation de ses établissements kenyans permet à TPS, principal groupe hôtelier d’Afrique de l’Est, de renforcer la qualité de son offre. Le financement d’appui de Proparco l’aidera en outre à mesurer les impacts de ses activités.
Présentation du client

TPS est le principal acteur dans le secteur du tourisme en Afrique de l’Est. Il intervient au Kenya via sa filiale TPS Kenya. Le groupe est majoritairement détenu par AKFED. Le groupe opère depuis les années 70 plus d’une vingtaine d’établissements dans 5 pays d’Afrique de l’Est sous la marque Serena. Le groupe a historiquement participé à l’émergence d’une offre d’infrastructure hôtelière de qualité tout en axant son développement sur une responsabilité environnementale et sociale forte.

Description du projet

Le prêt de Proparco permettra au groupe de financer la rénovation d’une partie de ses actifs et principalement de ses établissements au Kenya. Il permettra entre autre la rénovation du Nairobi Serena Hotel dont les travaux prévus comprennent la construction d’un centre de conférence, de nouveaux espaces de restauration ainsi que la rénovation des chambres. Le financement d’appui de Proparco permettra d’accompagner TPS dans le développement d’un système de mesure des impacts et de contribution au développement local des hôtels Serena sur l’ensemble de l’Afrique.

Impact du projet

Cette opération contribuera à soutenir la qualité de l’offre hôtelière en Afrique de l’Est. Elle participera également à la création d’emplois et à la dynamisation de l’économie locale, via les approvisionnements locaux en fournitures ou en produits alimentaires des hôtels de TPS. Elle contribuera également à créer un environnement des affaires attractif pour les investissements régionaux et internationaux. Le financement d’appui permettra à Serena Hotel de mieux piloter sa performance développementale et pourra servir de modèle pour les hôtels désireux de répliquer la démarche.

24/08/2015
Date de signature du projet
Kenya
Localisation
Outils de financement
18 947 379 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt de 20 MUSD et Accompagnement technique de 42 000 EUR
Details du financement
Tourism Promotion Services Kenya
Client
CES