• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Projet TIBA
By contributing to the development of Tiba Group, PROPARCO is strengthening private education provision in Egypt, where it is lacking. This support is also contributing to institutionalizing a leading company in its sector.
Client presentation
Tiba Group was founded in 1990 by Dr. Seddick Afifi and is one main private education players in Egypt. It has some 20,000 students, from primary to high school, and is made up schools (Thebes International Schools, TIS), two higher technical education centers (Integrated Thebes Academy, ITA) and a university. Abraaj Group acquired 75% of the capital in 2015, via its fund dedicated to North Africa.
Project description
Proparco’s equity investment was conducted as a co-investment with Abraaj Group’s ANAF II fund. This operation will support its development and organizational transformation plan for Tiba Group. The plan includes the overhaul of managerial chains, the implementation of information systems, the structuring of governance in line with the highest standards and the creation of partnerships with the Abraaj corporate network.
Project impact
This operation will contribute to the development of accessible private education facilities in Egypt, where high-quality education provision is structurally in deficit and private alternatives are scarce and expensive. It will also help create jobs and additional tax revenues in Egypt. In addition, it will support the institutionalization of a leading family-owned education group, while improving education provision and graduate employability.
05/10/2015
Date of signature of the project
Sectors
Egypt
Location
Financing tool
13 848 190 Euros
Amount of funding
Equity investment of USD 14,65m
Financing details
TIBA GROUP
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Projet TIBA
En participant au développement du groupe Tiba, Proparco renforce l’offre d’enseignement privé en Égypte, où elle est déficitaire. Cet appui participe aussi à l’institutionnalisation d’une entreprise leader dans son secteur.
Présentation du client

Fondé en 1990 par le docteur Seddick Afifi, le groupe Tiba est l’un des principaux acteurs de l’enseignement privé en Égypte. Il regroupe près de 20 000 étudiants, du primaire au supérieur, et se compose d’établissements scolaires (Thebes International Schools, TIS), de deux centres d’enseignement technique supérieur (Integrated Thebes Academy, ITA) et d’une université. Le groupe Abraaj, via son fonds dédié à l’Afrique du Nord (ANAF II), a acquis 75 % du capital en 2015.

Description du projet

La prise de participation de Proparco a été réalisée en co-investissement avec le fonds ANAF II du groupe Abraaj. Cette opération permettra de soutenir son plan de développement et de transformation organisationnelle du groupe Tiba.  Le plan comprend notamment la refondation des chaines managériales, l’implémentation de systèmes d’information et la structuration d’une gouvernance aux meilleurs standards.

Impact du projet

Cette opération contribuera à développer les infrastructures d’enseignement privé accessibles en Egypte, où l’offre éducative de qualité est structurellement déficitaire et les alternatives privées rares et onéreuses. Elle participera également à la création d’emplois et de recettes fiscales supplémentaires en Egypte. Elle permettra en outre d’accompagner l’institutionnalisation d’un groupe éducatif familial leader, tout en améliorant la proposition éducative et l’employabilité des diplômés.

05/10/2015
Date de signature du projet
Secteurs
Egypte
Localisation
Outils de financement
13 848 190 Euros
Montant du financement
Prise de participation de 14,65 MUSD
Details du financement
TIBA GROUP
Client
CES