• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Projet TAKORADI II
The extension of the Takoradi 2 gas-fired power plant will increase generation, while reducing the cost of electricity, limiting the impacts on the environment, and meeting Ghana’s growing energy needs.
Client presentation
Takoradi International Company Ltd is a joint venture 90%-owned by the international energy group TAQA and 10% by the Ghanaian public electricity company Volta River Autority (VRA). It is the owner of the 220 MW Takoradi 2 gas-fired power plant commissioned in September 2000, near the city of Aboadze, to the east of Takoradi, in the western region of Ghana.
Project description
Proparco’s loan will finance the extension of the Takoradi 2 power plant. The construction of a 110 MW combined cycle, comprising a condensing boiler and a steam turbine, will raise the power plant’s capacity to 330 MW (60% hydropower and 40% thermal energy). A seawater cooling system will also be built. The project cost will stand at USD 350m.
Project impact
This project will raise the generation capacity of the Takoradi 2 power plant without any additional consumption of hydrocarbons, which will reduce the cost of electricity and limit its impact on the environment. It will contribute to reducing growing electricity demand in Ghana.
12/07/2012
Date of signature of the project
Financing tool
36 352 066 Euros
Amount of funding
Loan of USD 44 M
Financing details
TAKORADI INTERNATIONAL COMPANY
Client

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Projet TAKORADI II
L’extension de la centrale à gaz de Takoradi 2 permettra d’augmenter la production tout en réduisant le coût de l’électricité, de limiter les impacts sur l’environnement et de répondre aux besoins croissants en énergie du Ghana.
Présentation du client

Takoradi International Company Ltd est une joint-venture détenue à 90 % par le groupe énergétique international TAQA et à 10 % par la société publique ghanéenne d'électricité Volta River Autority (VRA). Elle est propriétaire de la centrale à gaz Takoradi 2 de 220 MW mise en service en septembre 2000 près de la ville d’Aboadze, à l’est de Takoradi, dans la région occidentale du Ghana.

Description du projet

Le prêt de Proparco financera l’extension de la centrale Takoradi 2. La construction d’un cycle combiné de 110 MW, comportant une chaudière à condensation et une turbine à vapeur, portera les capacités de la centrale à 330 MW (60 % d’hydroélectricité et 40 % d’énergie thermique). Un système de refroidissement par eau de mer sera également construit. Le coût du projet s’élèvera à 350 MUSD.

Impact du projet

Ce projet permettra d’augmenter la production de la centrale de Takoradi 2 sans consommation supplémentaire d’hydrocarbures, ce qui aura pour effet de réduire le coût de l’électricité et de limiter son impact sur l’environnement. Il contribuera à répondre à la demande croissante d'électricité au Ghana.

12/07/2012
Date de signature du projet
Ghana
Localisation
Outils de financement
36 352 066 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt de 44 MUSD
Details du financement
TAKORADI INTERNATIONAL COMPANY
Client