• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Simpa, kit solaire individuel, Inde
Simpa is providing people in Uttar Pradesh (India) with access to electricity, by selling a prepaid service based on solar energy. Proparco's financing is allowing it to develop its activity in other regions.
Client presentation
Simpa is an Indian start-up which provides access to electricity in rural and peri-urban areas thanks to a reliable, affordable and flexible prepaid (pay-as-you-go) solar energy service. Simpa currently operates in Uttar Pradesh, one of the poorest and most populous States. It is targeting a rapid expansion in northern India, where it benefits from a unique position as the first mover. India is the country the most affected by the lack of access to modern energy services, with 360 million people not connected. Simpa provides access to energy by marketing credit for solar power facilities in rural regions in India. Simpa's clients are typically: a) rural households which do not have a connection to national power grids, b) rural households which are only provided with a limited quantity of electricity from the grid, and c) microenterprises, such as tea vendors, village stalls or small. Clients pay an initial small amount for the installation of their photovoltaic solar energy system and the service subsequently operates without a subscription for the electricity consumption. Simpa is thereby replicating the highly efficient tariff model applied to prepaid mobile phones (pay-as-you-go). The small amounts paid by the client for the service are added together and reduced from the total sale price. Once it has been fully paid, the client becomes the owner of their equipment, which supplies them with clean, reliable and free electricity.
Project description
The financing provided (USD 1.1m in two tranches) aims to allow operations to be implemented in new regions of the country. At the end of May 2016, Simpa was providing 97,000 people with access to clean and reliable energy. The aim is to have over a million solar kits installed over the next 5 years.
Project impact
The financing for Simpa will provide access to electricity for disadvantaged populations living in rural areas, by proposing affordable solar kits. At the end of May 2016, Simpa Network had already allowed 97,000 people (19,463 households) who previously did not have electricity to access a clean and green energy, including 3,000 entrepreneurs and 48% being women. The company plans to set up an activity in 4 other States in the North of the country (representing a market potential of 51 million households). Its target for the next 5 years is also to install over 1 million kits for 5 million final users. By financing a project for prepaid services giving disadvantaged populations access to solar electricity, Proparco is supporting an energy inclusion project with strong potential for replication in the geographical areas of operation. In this respect, this project will contribute to SDGs n° 7 (Affordable and clean energy) and n° 9 (Industry, innovation, infrastructure).
22/08/2016
Date of signature of the project
Financing tool
989 831 Euros
Amount of funding
Equity investment of USD 1,100,000
Financing details
SIMPA NETWORKS INC.
Client
CES
Mitali Sahni explains how Simpa Networks is helping rural villages get access to electricity.
Simpa, kit solaire individuel, Inde

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Simpa, kit solaire individuel, Inde
En vendant un service prépayé basé sur l’énergie solaire, Simpa permet aux populations de l’Uttar Pradesh (Inde) d’accéder à l’électricité. Le financement de Proparco lui permet de développer son activité dans d’autres régions.
Présentation du client

Simpa est une start-up indienne qui donne accès à l’électricité en milieu rural et péri-urbain grâce à un service prépayé (« pay-as-you-go ») d’énergie solaire fiable, économiquement accessible et flexible. Intervenant pour l’instant dans l’Uttar Pradesh, l’un des Etats les plus pauvres et plus peuplés, Simpa ambitionne une expansion rapide dans le nord de l’Inde où il bénéficie d’une position unique de premier entrant. L’Inde est le pays au monde le plus touché par le manque d’accès à des services énergétiques modernes avec 360 millions de personnes non raccordées. Simpa fournit un accès à l’énergie via la commercialisation à crédit d’installations électriques solaires dans les régions rurales de l’Inde. Les clients de Simpa sont typiquement a) des ménages ruraux ne disposant pas d’un raccordement aux réseaux électriques nationaux, b) des ménages ruraux auxquels le réseau fournit une quantité d’électricité limitée, et c) des micro-entreprises telles que les vendeurs de thé, les échoppes de villages ou les petits restaurants. Les clients versent un faible montant initial pour l’installation de leur système à l’énergie solaire photovoltaïque, et ensuite, le service fonctionne sans abonnement pour la consommation électrique. Simpa reproduit en cela le modèle tarifaire très efficace qui s’applique aux téléphones mobiles prépayés (« pay-as-you-go »). Ajoutées les unes aux autres, les petites sommes versées par le client pour le service viennent s’imputer sur le prix d’achat total. Une fois que celui-ci est entièrement réglé, le client devient propriétaire de son installation, qui lui fournit une électricité propre, fiable et gratuite.

Description du projet

Le financement proposé (1,1 MUSD en deux tranches) vise à permettre un déploiement des opérations sur de nouvelles régions du pays. A fin mai 2016, Simpa permettait à 97 000 personnes d’accéder à une énergie propre et fiable. L’objectif d’ici 5 ans est d’avoir plus d’un million de kits solaires installés.

Impact du projet

Le financement de Simpa permettra de donner accès à l'électricité à des populations défavorisées, vivant dans des zones rurales en proposant des kits solaires à un prix accessible. A fin mai 2016, Simpa Network permettait déjà à 97 000 personnes (19 463 foyers) jusqu’ici privées d’électricité d’accéder à une énergie propre et verte, dont 3 000 entrepreneurs et 48 % de femmes. L’entreprise prévoit de s’implanter dans 5 autres Etats du Nord du pays (représentant un marché potentiel de 51 millions de foyers) et cible d’ici 5 ans plus d’1 million de kits installés, soit 5 millions d'utilisateurs finaux. En finançant un projet de service prépayé d'accès à l'électricité d'origine solaire visant les populations défavorisées, Proparco soutient un projet d'inclusion énergétique, présentant un fort potentiel de réplicabilité dans les géographies d'intervention. À ce titre, ce projet contribuera aux ODD n°7 (Energie propre et d'un coût abordable) et n°9 (industrie, innovation et infrastructures).

22/08/2016
Date de signature du projet
Inde
Localisation
Outils de financement
989 831 Euros
Montant du financement
Prise de participation de 1,1 MUSD
Details du financement
SIMPA NETWORKS INC.
Client
CES
Mitali Sahni de Simpa Networks présente les enjeux du développement de l'énergie solaire hors réseau pour les populations rurales en Inde.