• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Ouganda
Proparco is supporting the private sector in Benin and Togo by making a senior credit line available to Société Générale Bénin. This contribution specifically aims to help the bank scale up its lending activity.
Client presentation
Société Générale Benin (SGB) started its activities in February 2003, making it the 1st banking subsidiary of an international group to operate in Benin. SGB is a universal bank and one of the country's main banks in terms of deposits and credit. It has a network of over 10 branches in the country's four main cities (Cotonou, Porto-Novo, Bohicon and Parakou). SGB has also been serving the Togolese market via its branch there since May 2015.
Project description
The project involves a EUR 15m senior credit line to finance SGB's medium and long-term activities, with the aim of supporting economic activity in Benin and Togo. The bank has defined a new strategy for the Beninese market, combined with the opening of a branch in Togo, and is once again seeking long-term financing to continue its growth. This credit line consequently aims to support SGB's credit activity.
Project impact
The provision of long-term resources will allow the bank to support the development of client companies working in the trade, industry and service sectors, particularly SMEs. The project's main expected outcomes are the diversification and development of the financial sector, the diversification of corporate financing in Benin and Togo, and support for the expansion of the private sector.
08/04/2016
Date of signature of the project
Benin
Location
Financing tool
15 000 000 Euros
Amount of funding
Loan of EUR 15 M
Financing details
SOCIETE GENERALE BENIN
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Ouganda
Pour soutenir le secteur privé au Bénin et au Togo, Proparco met à la disposition de la Société générale du Bénin une ligne de crédit senior. Cet apport doit en particulier aider la banque à renforcer son activité de crédit.
Présentation du client

Ayant commencé ses activités en février 2003, la Société Générale Benin (SGB) est la 1ère banque filiale d’un groupe international à opérer au Bénin. Banque universelle, la SGB est l’une des principales banques du pays en termes de dépôts et de crédits et dispose d’un réseau de plus de 10 agences réparties dans les quatre plus importantes villes du pays (notamment Cotonou, Porto-Novo, Bohicon et Parakou). A travers sa succursale, la SGB sert également le marché togolais depuis Mai 2015.

Description du projet

Le projet consiste en une ligne de crédit senior d’un montant de 15 M EUR destinée à financer les activités de moyen à long terme de la SGB afin de soutenir l’activité économique au Bénin et au Togo. Suite à et la définition d’une nouvelle stratégie sur le marché béninois, s’accompagnant de  l’ouverture d’une succursale au Togo, la banque est à nouveau à la recherche de financements à long terme pour poursuivre sa croissance. Cette ligne vise donc à soutenir l’activité de crédit de la SGB.

Impact du projet

La mise à disposition de ressources longues permettra à la banque d’accompagner le développement des entreprises clientes oeuvrant dans les secteurs du commerce, de l'industrie et des services, notamment les PME. Les principaux effets attendus du projet sont la diversification et le développement du secteur financier, la diversification des financements d’entreprises au Bénin et au Togo ainsi que le soutien de l’expansion du secteur privé.

08/04/2016
Date de signature du projet
Bénin
Localisation
Outils de financement
15 000 000 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt de 15 MEUR
Details du financement
SOCIETE GENERALE BENIN
Client
CES