• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Projet PENONOME
Pénonomé II wind farm, which is located in Coclé Province in Panama, has just completed an already operational facility. Wind energy is fully complementary to hydropower and balances the country’s energy mix.
Client presentation
UEP Penonomé II is a project company based in Panama, , controlled by Inter-Energy Holdings (IEH). IEH is a a regional power owner and operator, active in the energy sector in Central America and the Caribbean, with more than 25 years of experience in the power sector and over 1.5 GW installed capacity so far.
Project description
Proparco’s loan will contribute to financing the construction of a 215 MW wind farm, i.e. 86 turbines with a nominal capacity of 2.5 MW. This farm is located in Penonomé, in the Coclé Province,, and constitutes the second and third phases of a large-scale wind project. A first 55 MW wind farm built on the same site began commercial operation in late 2013.
Project impact
This project will strengthen Panama’s power generation capacity and meet the country’s increasing needs. It will contribute to diversifying the energy mix in a country that is heavily dependent on fossil fuels. It will have a positive impact on the climate by avoiding 40,000 teq C02 of greenhouse gas emissions every year.
09/12/2014
Date of signature of the project
Financing tool
16 473 108 Euros
Amount of funding
Loan of USD 20 M
Financing details
Penonome
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Projet PENONOME
La ferme éolienne de Pénonomé II, située dans la province de Coclé au Panama, vient compléter une installation déjà opérationnelle. L’éolien, parfaitement complémentaire de l’hydraulique, équilibre le mix énergétique du pays.
Présentation du client

UEP Penonomé II est une société de projet basée au Panama, contrôlée par Inter-Energy Holdings (IEH).  IEH est un opérateur régional d'énergie présent en Amérique Centrale et dans les Caraïbes. Il dispose de plus de 25 ans d'expérience dans le secteur et d'une capacité installée de 1,5 GW.

Description du projet

Le prêt de Proparco contribuera au financement de la construction d’une ferme éolienne de 215 MW, soit 86 turbines d’une capacité nominale de 2,5 MW. Située à Penonomé, dans la province de Coclé, cette ferme constitue les deuxième et troisième phases d’un projet éolien de grande envergure. Une première ferme éolienne de 55 MW construite sur le même site est entrée en opération commerciale fin 2013.

Impact du projet

Ce projet permettra de renforcer les capacités de production électrique du Panama et de répondre aux besoins croissants du pays. Il contribuera à la diversification du mix énergétique, l'éolien étant un excellent complément à l'hydroélectricité durant la saison sèche. Il aura un impact positif sur le climat en permettant d’éviter les émissions de gaz à effet de serre à hauteur de 400,000 teq C02 par an.

09/12/2014
Date de signature du projet
Panama
Localisation
Outils de financement
16 473 108 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt de 20 MUSD
Details du financement
Penonome
Client
CES