• logo linkedin
  • logo email
hommes, téléphone, msurvey
mSurvey allows African companies, universities, hospitals and media to directly question African citizens and consumers about their habits or needs via their mobile phone. By investing in mSurvey, PROPARCO is supporting the development of an innovative digital start-up offering a range of services tailored to the African context which did not exist before.
Client presentation

mSurvey, a Kenyan start-up created in 2012, is specialized in the real-time monitoring of consumer opinions. mSurvey currently offers two services:

  • Voice of the Customer (VOC): a management tool which allows companies to measure and monitor customer satisfaction in real time in the various interaction channels and
  • Audience on Demand (AOD): a text messaging survey service which allows companies to obtain information in real time based on exchanges with a panel of African consumers.

These services meet strong demand from companies to know their customers better and fill a gap in the African market, as up until now, no company had created a range of services tailored to the context of the continent.

Project description

Proparco has invested alongside the TIDE Africa fund in the context of a Series A fundraising. This investment aims to support mSurvey’s growth and its transformation into a pan-African player. Indeed, mSurvey is seeking to develop its services further afield than West Africa (launch in Nigeria and Ghana, for example) and to forge new partnerships. The Series A investors also intend to strengthen the company’s governance and sound management.

Project impact

The investment in mSurvey is part of PROPARCO’s innovation strategy. This innovative digital start-up offers companies a service with added value. It also benefits African people by offering a wider range of services and improving the quality of goods/services after collecting and analyzing consumer data.
Broad population segments are targeted and comprise vulnerable populations (potentially all consumers with a mobile phone). In Kenya, mSurvey invests in capacity building. In terms of training, mSurvey’s employees are expected to benefit from the experience of skilled management trained in the best practices of Silicon Valley.

15/01/2019
Date of signature of the project
Financing tool
415 385 Euros
Amount of funding
USD 486,250 Equity investment
Financing details
MSURVEY
Client
CES
IT development, start-up

Tide Africa is a fund set up to support the development of innovative African start-ups.

TIDE supports a dozen or so companies which are less than 5 years old and have got through the stages of the idea (prototyping) and creation (market test) in order to finance their growth and scaling up, with several financing rounds and for total financing needs ranging between EUR 500 K and EUR 10m.

• logo linkedin
  • logo google plus
  • logo email
hommes, téléphone, msurvey
mSurvey permet aux entreprises, universités, hôpitaux ou médias africains d'interroger directement les citoyens et consommateurs africains sur leurs habitudes ou leurs besoins via leur téléphone portable. En investissant dans mSurvey, Proparco soutient le développement d'une start-up innovante dans le domaine du numérique qui propose une offre adaptée au contexte du continent africain et jusqu'alors inexistante.
Présentation du client

Créée en 2012, mSurvey est une start-up kenyane spécialisée dans le suvi en temps réel des avis consommateurs. mSurvey propose à ce jour deux services: 

  • Voice of the Customer (VOC) : un outil de gestion qui permet aux entreprises de mesurer et suivre en temps réel la satisfaction des consommateurs au sein des différents canaux d’interaction et 
  • Audience on Demand (AOD) : un service de sondages via SMS qui permet aux entreprises d’obtenir des informations en temps réel à partir d’échanges avec un panel de consommateurs africains. 

Ces services répondent à une demande forte de la part des entreprises de mieux connaitre leurs clients et viennent combler un manque sur le marché africain car aucune société n’a créée à ce jour une offre adaptée au contexte du continent.

Description du projet

Proparco a investi aux côtés du fonds TIDE Africa dans le cadre d'une levée de fonds Series A. Cet investissement a pour but d’accompagner la croissance de mSurvey et sa transformation pour devenir un acteur panafricain. mSurvey cherche en effet à développer son offre au-delà de l'Afrique de l'Ouest (lancement au Nigéria et Ghana notamment) et à nouer de nouveaux partenariats. Les investisseurs en Series A ont également vocation à renforcer la gouvernance et la saine gestion de la société.

Impact du projet

L'investissement dans mSurvey s’inscrit dans le cadre de la stratégie innovation de Proparco. Cette start-up innovante dans le domaine du numérique propose un service à valeur ajoutée aux entreprises et bénéficie aux populations africaines via l’élargissement de l’offre et l’amélioration de la qualité des biens/services suite au recueil et à l’analyse des données consommateurs. 
Les segments de populations visés sont larges et comprennent les populations vulnérables (potentiellement tous les consommateurs ayant un téléphone portable). Au Kenya, mSurvey investit dans le renforcement de capacités. En termes de formation, les employés de mSurvey devraient bénéficier de l’expérience d’un management expérimenté et formé aux meilleures pratiques de la Silicon Valley.

15/01/2019
Date de signature du projet
Kenya
Localisation
Outils de financement
415 385 Euros
Montant du financement
Prise de participation de 486 250 USD
Details du financement
MSURVEY
Client
CES
IT development, start-up

Tide Africa est un fonds créé pour accompagner le développement de jeunes entreprises africaines innovantes.

TIDE accompagne une dizaine d'entreprises de moins de 5 ans ayant franchi les stades idéation (prototypage) et création (test marché) afin d'en financer la croissance et la mise à l'échelle, sur plusieurs tours de table et pour des besoins de financement aggrégés compris entre 500 KEUR et 10 MEUR.