• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Projet Lake Turkana 2013
Lake Turkana Wind Power is building a wind farm in northern Kenya with Proparco’s support. It will supply 20% of the country’s electricity, an energy 60% cheaper than the energy produced by thermal power plants.
Client presentation

Lake Turkana Wind Power Limited (LTWP ) is a project company owned by KP&P Africa B.V. and Aldwych International, the co-developers of the project, Vestas, the world leader in wind energy, three development finance institutions (Norfund, Finnfund and IFU), as well as other private partners.

Project description

Proparco’s loan will contribute to financing the construction and operation of the Lake Turkana wind farm. This wind farm is located in northern Kenya in the Rift Valley and will have a capacity of 310 MW. The project comprises 365 wind turbines, each with a capacity of 850 kilowatts, and plans road connections and the connection to the power grid. It should supply about 20% of the country’s electricity as soon as it is commissioned. Proparco has been actively involved in the structuring of the financing.

Project impact

This project should produce electricity 60% cheaper than the existing thermal power plants in the country. It should create 2,500 jobs for the construction and 200 permanent jobs for the operation, and generate additional tax revenues for the Government of Kenya (an average of EUR 25m a year during the life span of the project). In addition, the project should reduce greenhouse gas emissions by 380,000 tons of CO2 a year.

24/03/2014
Date of signature of the project
Financing tool
50 000 000 Euros
Amount of funding
Loan of 50 MEUR
Financing details
Lake Turkana Wind Power
Client

• logo linkedin
  • logo google plus
  • logo email
Projet Lake Turkana 2013
Appuyée par Proparco, Lake Turkana Wind Power construit un parc éolien au nord du Kenya, dans la vallée du Rift. Il fournira 20 % de l’électricité du pays, une énergie 60 % moins chère que celle produite par les centrales thermiques.
Présentation du client

Lake Turkana Wind Power Limited (LTWP ) est une société de projet détenue par KP&P Africa B.V. et Aldwych International, les co-développeurs du projet, la société Vestas, leader mondial de l’énergie éolienne, trois institutions financières de développement (Norfund, Finnfund et IFU), ainsi que d'autres partenaires privés.

Description du projet

Le prêt de Proparco participera au financement de la construction et de l'exploitation du parc éolien Lake Turkana. Située au nord du Kenya, dans la vallée du Rift, ce parc éolien disposera d’une puissance de 310 MW. Le projet compte 365 turbines éoliennes d’une puissance de 850 kilowatts chacune, et prévoit des liaisons routières et le raccordement au réseau électrique. Il devrait fournir dès sa mise en service environ 20 % de l’électricité du pays. Proparco est intervenue activement dans la structuration du financement.

Impact du projet

Ce projet devrait permettre de produire une électricité 60% moins chère que celle des centrales thermiques en activité dans le pays. Il  devrait voir la création de 2 500 emplois créés pour la construction et 200 emplois permanents pour l’exploitation, et générer des recettes fiscales supplémentaires pour l’État kenyan (25 M€ par an en moyenne sur la durée du projet).  De plus, le projet devrait permettre de réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre de 380 000 tonnes CO2 par an.

24/03/2014
Date de signature du projet
Kenya
Localisation
Outils de financement
50 000 000 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt de 50 MEUR
Details du financement
Lake Turkana Wind Power
Client