• logo linkedin
  • logo email
agriculture, homme
LAAD is a financial institution specialized in financing agricultural SMEs in Latin America. PROPARCO’s loan will allow LAAD to finance SMEs and microenterprises in the agriculture sector in Mexico.
This is PROPARCO’s 3rd operation with LAAD, demonstrating both a longstanding partnership and the major needs of the local agriculture sector. PROPARCO allocated a first USD 15m loan in 2010, followed by a second USD 20m loan in 2015.
Client presentation

LAAD Group, a client of PROPARCO for nearly 10 years, is composed of several subsidiaries in Latin America and the Caribbean. The Group is specialized in financing SMEs in the agroindustrial sector. All the subsidiaries are ultimately owned by the holding company American Agribusiness Development Corporation S.A. (LAAD Corporation S.A.), located in Panama. This holding company is equally owned by 12 private shareholders, including DFIs (DEG, IFC) and private investors. 

Project description

The aim of the project is to support the Group’s financing of its agricultural microenterprise (self-employed)/SME clients in Mexico, one of the Group’s areas with the strongest growth. LAAD especially focuses on financing small-scale agricultural projects in the sectors of market gardening, fruit-growing, horticulture, floriculture, seed production, livestock raising and fishing.

Project impact

The operation will support agricultural SMEs in Mexico via credit lines, which are not readily available from local commercial banks for clients in the agriculture sector. The projects supported by the bank between 2010 and 2016 have contributed to generating an average of some USD 156m of foreign exchange earnings a year.   

27/11/2018
Date of signature of the project
Mexico Multi-country Latin America and the Caribbean
Location
Financing tool
17 677 214 Euros
Amount of funding
USD 20m loan
Financing details
AGRONEGOCIOS L.A.A.D.
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
agriculture, homme
LAAD est une institution financière spécialisée dans le financement des PME agricoles en Amérique Latine. Le prêt de Proparco permettra à LAAD de financer des PME et TPE du secteur agricole au Mexique.
Il s'agit de la 3ème opération de Proparco avec LAAD, ce qui témoigne à la fois d'un partenariat de longue date et des besoins importants du secteur agricole local. Proparco avait accordé un premier prêt de 15 M$ en 2010, suivi d'un second de 20 M$ en 2015.
Présentation du client

Client de Proparco depuis près de 10 ans, le Groupe LAAD est composé de plusieurs filiales en Amérique Latine et dans les Caraïbes. Le groupe est spécialisé dans le financement des PME du secteur agroindustriel. Toutes les filiales  sont détenues in fine par la holding Latin American Agribusiness Development Corporation S.A. (LAAD Corporation S.A.), localisée au Panama. Cette holding est détenue à parts égales par 12 actionnaires privés, dont des DFIs (DEG, IFC) et des investisseurs privés.

Description du projet

L'objet du  projet est d’aider le Groupe dans son financement de la clientèle des TPE (self-employed) / PME agricoles au Mexique, l'une des zones du Groupe avec la plus forte croissante. LAAD se positionne en particulier sur le financement des petits projets agricoles dans les secteurs du maraîchage, de l’arboriculture, de l’horticulture, de la floriculture, de la production de grains, de l’élevage et de la pêche.

Impact du projet

L’opération permettra de soutenir les PME agricoles au Mexique à travers des lignes de crédit qui sont peu disponibles auprès des banques commerciales locales pour les clients du secteur agricole. Les projets soutenus par la banque entre 2010 et 2016 ont contribué à générer des recettes en devises de l’ordre de 156 millions USD en moyenne par an.  

27/11/2018
Date de signature du projet
Mexique Multi-Pays Amérique latine et Caraïbes
Localisation
Outils de financement
17 677 214 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt de 20 MUSD
Details du financement
AGRONEGOCIOS L.A.A.D.
Client
CES