• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Projet Kingo Energy
Kingo has designed an innovative and well-suited prepaid solar energy service to provide rural communities in Guatemala with reliable and cheap access to electricity. Proparco is supporting the development of the start-up.
Client presentation

Kingo is a Guatemalan start-up created by local entrepreneurs in 2013. It provides rural communities who are not connected to the national grid with a prepaid service (pay-as-you-go) for solar energy which is reliable, affordable and flexible. Kingo benefits from the unique position as the first mover for a client base neglected by the market.

Project description

The financing provided aims to continue the growth in Guatemala by operating in new regions of the country. It is dedicated to investments for the procurement of equipment, a prerequisite for the acquisition of new clients, and to cover part of the costs for installation and maintenance operations. By supporting the company at this early stage of development, PROPARCO is also seeking to create a catalyst effect on a future capital increase, which will aim to finance the expansion into neighboring countries. 

Two TA projects have been developed with Kingo:

  • The first project has helped Kingo train its employees and secure its client data. 
  • The 2nd project has allowed Kingo to develop its Kingo R&D activity, and in particular the search for new technologies and solutions to meet the specific challenges of the sector and its clients’ needs. Finally, this project is helping Kingo to develop its network and influence in a highly competitive sector. 
Project impact

This operation is fully in line with Proparco's mandate for green and inclusive growth, as the project offers an innovative approach to access to electricity, which is a major component for development in remote areas. Through its accessibility and substitution effect, it makes a significant contribution to improving living conditions for households, with a positive impact on the health environment, productivity and education. Finally, Proparco’s technical assistance financing will directly contribute to professionalizing Kingo and its employees.

Finally, the financing of technical assistance by PROPARCO will directly contribute to the professionalization of Kingo and its employees. The participation in the X Prize program should promote the adoption of new technical solutions and thereby contribute to increasing its position on the market after their deployment. 

04/08/2016
Date of signature of the project
Guatemala
Location
1 684 950 Euros
Amount of funding
USD 1,675,950 equity investment and 2 Technical Assistance projects for USD 53,000 and USD 50,000
Financing details
IGNITE HOLDING
Client
CES
Guatemala: Low-cost solar lighting for rural communities

• logo linkedin
  • logo google plus
  • logo email
Projet Kingo Energy
Pour fournir aux populations rurales guatémaltèques un accès fiable et peu coûteux à l’électricité, Kingo a conçu un service prépayé d’énergie solaire innovant et bien adapté. Proparco soutient le développement de la start-up.
Présentation du client

Kingo est une start-up guatémaltèque créée par des entrepreneurs locaux en 2013 qui fournit à des communautés rurales non raccordées au réseau national un service prépayé (pay-as-you-go) d’énergie solaire sûre, économiquement accessible et flexible. Kingo bénéficie d’une position unique de premier entrant sur une clientèle délaissée du marché.

Description du projet

Le financement proposé vise à poursuivre la croissance au Guatemala en se déployant sur de nouvelles régions du pays ; il est dédié aux investissements liés à l’acquisition des matériels, condition sine qua none de l’acquisition de nouveaux clients et une partie des charges liées aux opérations d’installation et de maintenance. En accompagnant l'entreprise à ce stade amont de développement, Proparco cherche également à créer un effet catalyseur sur une future augmentation de capital dont l’objet sera de financer l’expansion dans les pays voisins. Le financement d'appui de Proparco permettra d'accompagner Kingo dans la formation de ses employés et la sécurisation de ses données clients.

Proparco soutiendra également Kingo dans la recherche de nouvelles technologies et de solutions permettant de répondre aux enjeux spécifiques de son activité et aux besoins de ses clients. Proparco l'accompagnera enfin dans l’accroissement de sa renommée et de son réseau d’influence via un appui à la participation au programme X Prize.

Impact du projet

Cette intervention s’inscrit pleinement dans le mandat de Proparco de croissance verte et solidaire dans la mesure où ce projet constitue une approche innovante d’accès à l’électricité, composante majeure du développement dans les zones isolées. De par son accessibilité et son effet de substitution, il contribue significativement à l’amélioration des conditions de vie des foyers avec un effet positif sur l’environnement sanitaire, la productivité et l’éducation. Enfin, le financement d'accompagnement technique de Proparco contribuera directement à la professionalisation de Kingo et de ses employés. La participation au programme X Prize devrait favoriser l’adoption de nouvelles solutions techniques et ainsi  contribuer à l'augmentation de sa position sur le marché après leur déploiement. 

04/08/2016
Date de signature du projet
Localisation
1 591 273 Euros
Montant du financement
Prise de participation de 1 675 950 USD et Accompagnement technique de 53 000 USD
Details du financement
IGNITE HOLDING
Client
CES