• logo linkedin
  • logo email
JUMO, téléphonie, hommes, afrique
JUMO is a start-up which offers people who are often excluded from the banking system the opportunity to take out loans or subscribe to savings products using their mobile phones. PROPARCO is supporting the development of this innovative company working for financial inclusion.
Client presentation

JUMO is a South African fintech which offers financial products (mainly nano-loans) in real time to unbanked people via mobile phones. Indeed, JUMO has developed a credit scoring algorithm which allows the client’s ability to repay a loan to be estimated based on data on their use of their mobile phone and electronic wallet.

Project description

PROPARCO’s investment in the capital of JUMO is supporting the development of this company. Through its investment in the capital of JUMO, PROPARCO is supporting an innovative project which aims to develop financial inclusion on a large scale.

Project impact

PROPARCO’s financing will support the growth of JUMO and will have significant impacts on:

  • The development of a digital platform service for mobile microcredits in Africa and Asia,
  • The improvement in the living conditions of clients,
  • The support to the informal private sector and entrepreneurs.

Through its digital services, which are relevant in view of the major penetration of mobile phones in the most disadvantaged segments, JUMO is contributing to the financial inclusion of people excluded from the formal banking system. JUMO aims to serve 79 million clients by 2021.

Finally, the project is helping create and maintain jobs (SDG 8), both at JUMO (which currently employs 323 people, including 129 femmes and intends to recruit more than 50 people over the next 5 years) and indirectly, in the informal private sector, by supporting the employment of entrepreneurs and their employees. It is estimated that PROPARCO’s financing will contribute to supporting 1.3 million indirect jobs with the beneficiaries.

09/03/2018
Date of signature of the project
Multi-country Global | Pakistan | Ghana | Kenya | Uganda | Tanzania | Zambia
Location
Financing tool
2 420 916 Euros
Amount of funding
Equity investment of USD 3m
Financing details
JUMO WORLD
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo google plus
  • logo email
JUMO, téléphonie, hommes, afrique
Jumo est une start-up qui propose aux personnes souvent exclues du système bancaire de souscrire à des prêts et des produits d’épargne depuis leur téléphone portable. Propacro accompagne le développement de cette société innovante au service de l'inclusion financière.
Présentation du client

JUMO est une Fintech sud-africaine qui propose des produits financiers (principalement nano-prêts) en temps réel à des personnes non bancarisées, via téléphone portable. JUMO a en effet développé un algorithme de credit scoring qui permet d’estimer, à partir des données d’utilisation par un client de son téléphone portable et de son portefeuille électronique, la capacité de ce client à rembourser un crédit.

Description du projet

L'investissement de Proparco au capital de JUMO permet d'accompagner le développement de cette société. Via son investissement au capital de JUMO, Proparco soutient  un projet innovant visant à développer l’inclusion financière à grande échelle.

Impact du projet

Le financement de Proparco permettra de soutenir la croissance de JUMO et aura des effets notables sur :
- le développement de l'offre d'une plateforme digitale de micro-crédits mobiles en Afrique et en Asie,
- l'amélioration des conditions de vie des clients,
- le soutien au secteur privé informel et aux entrepreneurs.

Grâce à son offre digitale pertinente au vu de la pénétration importante des téléphones mobiles dans les segments les plus défavorisés, Jumo contribue à l'inclusion financière des personnes exclues du système bancaire formel. D'ici 2021, JUMO compte servir 79 millions de clients.

Enfin, le projet appuie la création et le maintien d'emplois (ODD 8) aussi bien au sein de JUMO (qui emploie actuellement 323 employés dont 129 femmes et compte embaucher plus de 50 personnes d'ici 5 ans) qu’indirectement, au sein du secteur privé informel, en soutenant l'emploi des entrepreneurs et de leurs employés.On estime que le financement de Proparco contribuerait au soutien de 1,3 millions d'emplois indirects des bénéficiaires.

09/03/2018
Date de signature du projet
Multi-Pays Etranger Pakistan Ghana Kenya Ouganda Tanzanie Zambie
Localisation
Outils de financement
2 420 916 Euros
Montant du financement
Prise de participation de 3 MUSD
Details du financement
JUMO WORLD
Client
CES