• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Projet au Pakistan, GUL AHMED
Gul Ahmed Wind Power Limited is building a wind farm in Sindh Province in the northeast of Karachi. This facility will reduce power cuts, which occur frequently in Pakistan, and the country’s dependence on fossil fuels.
Client presentation
Gul Ahmed Wind Power Limited (GAWPL) is a project company set up in 2008 and owned by Gul Ahmed Energy Limited, a Pakistani conglomerate mainly active in industry, and InfraCo Asia, an infrastructure development fund.
Project description
Proparco’s loan will contribute to financing the construction and operation of a wind farm with a capacity of 50 MW, in the Pakistani province of Sindh, north-east of Karachi. This new facility will strengthen the domestic grid with an additional 130 GWh a year.
Project impact
This operation will contribute to increasing the power generation capacity in Pakistan, where the frequent power cuts hold back economic and social development. This clean and renewable energy source will reduce the country’s dependence on fossil fuels. It will have a positive impact on the climate by reducing greenhouse gas emissions by 60,000 teq CO2 a year. The new facility will also create jobs during the construction phase and over the long term.
23/02/2015
Date of signature of the project
Pakistan
Location
Financing tool
16 579 860 Euros
Amount of funding
Loan of USD 18 M
Financing details
GUL AHMED WIND POWER LTD
Client

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Projet au Pakistan, GUL AHMED
Gul Ahmed Wind Power Limited construit une ferme éolienne dans la province de Sindh, au nord-est de Karachi. Cette installation réduira les coupures de courant – fréquentes au Pakistan – et la dépendance du pays aux énergies fossiles.
Présentation du client

Fondée en 2008, Gul Ahmed Wind Power Limited (GAWPL) est une société de projet détenue par Gul Ahmed Energy Limited, un conglomérat pakistanais principalement actif dans l'industrie, et InfraCo Asia, un fonds de développement d’infrastructures.

Description du projet

Le prêt de Proparco contribuera au financement de la construction et de l'exploitation d’une ferme éolienne d’une capacité de 50 MW, dans la province pakistanaise de Sindh, au nord-est de Karachi. Cette nouvelle installation viendra renforcer le réseau national de 130 GWh supplémentaires par an.

Impact du projet

Cette opération contribuera à augmenter les capacités de production énergétiques du Pakistan, où les coupures de courant fréquentes constituent un frein au développement économique et social.  Cette source d’énergie propre et renouvelable permettra de limiter la dépendance du pays aux énergies fossiles.  Elle aura un impact positif sur le climat en permettant d'éviter les émissions de gaz à effet de serre à hauteur de 60 000 teq C02 par an.  La nouvelle installation créera par ailleurs des emplois durant la phase de construction et sur le long terme.

23/02/2015
Date de signature du projet
Pakistan
Localisation
Outils de financement
16 579 860 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt de 18 MUSD
Details du financement
GUL AHMED WIND POWER LTD
Client