• logo linkedin
  • logo google plus
  • logo email
Projet Tereos
The Brazilian company Guarani is located in the State of São Paulo. It aims to improve its sugar, ethanol and electricity production. It is making major investments for this purpose in the agricultural and industrial fields.
Client presentation
Guarani is a Brazilian company controlled by the French group Tereos Internacional and is the third largest sugar company in Brazil. Its main activities involve sugar cane processing to produce sugar, ethanol and electricity. All the units are located together in the State of São Paulo.
Project description
Proparco’s loan will contribute to financing Guarani’s agricultural and industrial investment program. It aims to improve the performance of the company’s production units.
Project impact
With some 20 million tons of sugar cane processed, including almost half for ethanol production, Guarani contributes to reducing greenhouse gas emissions. The ethanol projects conducted from the sugar cane subsidiary in Brazil have the highest performance, with a reduction of between 80 and 90% in vehicle emissions.
13/09/2010
Date of signature of the project
Financing tool
39 059 448 Euros
Amount of funding
Loan of USD 50 M
Financing details
Açúcar Guarani S.A
Client
The Assets of Tereos for Sustainability in the Agro-industry

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Projet Tereos
Située dans l’État de São Paulo, la société brésilienne Guarani souhaite améliorer sa production de sucre, d’éthanol et d’électricité. Pour cela, elle réalise d’importants investissements, dans les domaines agricole et industriel.
Présentation du client

Guarani, société brésilienne contrôlée par le groupe français Tereos Internacional, est la troisième compagnie sucrière du Brésil. Ses principales activités consistent à transformer la canne pour produire du sucre, de l’éthanol et de l’électricité. L’ensemble des unités sont regroupées dans l’Etat de São Paulo.

Description du projet

Le prêt de Proparco contribuera au financement du programme d’investissements agricoles et industriels de Guarani. Il doit permettre à la société d'améliorer les performances de ses unités de production.

Impact du projet

Avec près de 20 millions de tonnes de canne à sucre traitées, dont près de la moitié dédiée à la production d’éthanol, Guarani contribue à réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre. Les projets éthanol réalisés à partir de la filière de la canne à sucre au Brésil sont ceux présentant le meilleur rendement avec une diminution de 80 à 90 % des émissions des véhicules.

13/09/2010
Date de signature du projet
Brésil
Localisation
Outils de financement
39 059 448 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt de 50 MUSD
Details du financement
Açúcar Guarani S.A
Client