• logo linkedin
  • logo email
santé
ODM Group is a network of clinics and centers specialized in cancer. PROPARCO, with a consortium of investors, has participated in the buyout of ODM Group from its historical shareholders. This project will increase the number of cancer diagnosis and treatment consultations in Morocco.
Client presentation

Oncologie et Diagnostic du Maroc (“ODM”), a group set up in 2014, is a network of diagnosis clinics and centers located in Morocco, specialized in the diagnosis and various treatments of cancer (Chemotherapy, Radiotherapy, Brachytherapy, Surgery, Radiology…). 

This group is composed of referral centers in Morocco, such as the Al-Kindy clinic in Casablanca or the Menara clinic in Marrakesh. They are managed by doctors recognized in their fields and are equipped with some of the most advanced instruments in Africa (Linarc, stereotaxy…). This medical expertise has allowed ODM Group to establish partnerships with international research centers (Léon Bérard Center in Lyon).

ODM group, through its size and the extensive range of treatment provided, today receives patients from all social classes and actively participates in awareness-raising, screening and cancer prevention efforts in Morocco. 

Project description

Under this operation, PROPARCO, with a consortium of investors, including the Alta Semper fund, has participated in the buyout of ODM Group from its historical shareholders. It has given this consortium of investors control of the group and has allowed the management to implement its organic growth strategy (construction of new clinics) and external growth strategy (acquisition and refurbishment of existing clinics).
This buyout operation has therefore also been combined with equity financing for the group’s development strategy.

Project impact

The main impact expected from the project is to make up for the significant lack of specific medical equipment for oncology in Morocco (especially linear accelerators). This context of under-equipment in Morocco leads to a substantial proportion (60%) of cancer cases currently not being treated by facilities and under appropriate conditions. Over the next 5 years, and thanks to the financing and support provided by PROPARCO and its partners, the company will be able to provide some 285,000 cancer diagnosis and treatment consultations a year. 
 
This impact will mostly benefit Morocco’s salaried middle class, ODM Group’s main patient base. The project will also contribute to government revenue and to the creation of skilled local jobs (recruitment of 173 people planned over 5 years, including 75% of positions held by women). 

26/04/2018
Date of signature of the project
Sectors
Morocco
Location
Financing tool
19 000 000 Euros
Amount of funding
USD 22m Equity investment
Financing details
Groupe ODM
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo google plus
  • logo email
santé
Le Groupe ODM est un ensemble de cliniques et centres spécialisés en cancérologie. Proparco a participé, auprès d’un consortium d’investisseurs, au rachat du groupe ODM à ses actionnaires historiques. Ce projet permettra d'accroître le nombre de consultations de diagnostic et de traitement des cancers au Maroc.
Présentation du client

Le groupe Oncologie et Diagnostic du Maroc ("ODM") créé en 2014 regroupe un ensemble de cliniques et centres de diagnostic localisés au Maroc et spécialisés notamment dans le diagnostic et les différents traitements du cancer (Chimiothérapie, Radiothérapie, Curiethérapie, Chirurgie, Radiologie…). 

Ce groupe se compose de centres de référence au Maroc comme la clinique Al-Kindy à Casablanca ou la clinique Menara à Marrakesh, dirigés par des médecins reconnus dans leur domaine et équipés d’instruments parmi les plus perfectionnés du continent Africain (Linarc, stéréotaxie, …). Cette expertise médicale a notamment permis au groupe ODM de nouer des partenariats avec des centres de recherche internationaux (Centre Léon Bérard à Lyon). 

De par sa taille et la multiplicité des soins proposés, le groupe ODM accueille aujourd’hui des patients de toute classe sociale, et participe activement aux efforts de sensibilisation, de dépistage, et de lutte contre le cancer au Maroc.
 

Description du projet

Lors de cette opération Proparco a participé, auprès d’un consortium d’investisseurs dont le fonds Alta Semper, au rachat du groupe ODM à ses actionnaires historiques, permettant ainsi à ce consortium d’investisseurs de prendre le contrôle du groupe, et de permettre au management de déployer sa stratégie de croissance organique (construction de nouvelles cliniques) et de croissance externe (acquisition et rénovation de cliniques existantes). 
Cette opération de rachat s’est donc également accompagnée d’un financement en capital de la stratégie de développement du groupe.

Impact du projet

Le principal impact attendu du projet est de pallier le manque important d'équipements médicaux spécifiques en matière d’oncologie au Maroc (accélérateurs linéaires notamment). 
Ce contexte de sous-équipement au Maroc se traduit par une part importante (60%) des cas de cancer qui ne sont actuellement pas traités par des structures et dans des conditions adaptées. D'ici 5 ans et grâce au financement et au soutien apporté par Proparco et ses partenaires, la société pourrait proposer environ 285 000 consultations de diagnostic et de traitement des cancers par an.  

Cet impact bénéficiera pour l'essentiel à la classe moyenne salariée marocaine, principale patientèle du groupe ODM. Le projet contribuera également aux recettes publiques, et à la création d’emploi local qualifié (recrutement de 173 personnes projeté sur 5 ans) en particulier pour les femmes qui occupent 75% des postes du groupe ODM.  

26/04/2018
Date de signature du projet
Secteurs
Maroc
Localisation
Outils de financement
19 000 000 Euros
Montant du financement
Prise de participation de 22 MUSD
Details du financement
Groupe ODM
Client
CES