• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Eolienne
Following a first loan allocated to the bank in 2012, PROPARCO is renewing its support to the largest bank in Honduras. This will allow Banco Ficohsa to increase its portfolio of loans allocated to local companies which develop green projects in Honduras.
Client presentation

Banco Ficohsa has been the leader in the Honduran banking sector since 2014. The bank initially focused on corporate financing and has successfully developed its retail banking and SME financing activity. The bank’s current strategy is based on three pillars: maintaining its position in the corporate segment, developing the SME portfolio and increasing the consumer credit activity.

Project description

The project involves a USD 35m senior credit line earmarked to support renewable energy financing in Honduras.
It is the second financing allocated to Banco Ficohsa by Proparco. The first USD 20m loan signed in 2012 was already earmarked for renewable energy development and energy efficiency.

Project impact

This project should firstly contribute to reducing the dependence of Honduras on fossil fuels (56% of the mix) and, secondly, the country’s CO2 emissions (29.5 Mt, if emissions related to forests and changes in land use are not included; source WRI, 2017 inventory). 
On the economic level, the project will support the growth of local companies developing green projects. 
On the social level, it will contribute to providing access to electricity to people who do not benefit from it yet. 
Finally, in terms of employment, the project will support over 3,200 jobs in Honduras. 

27/11/2018
Date of signature of the project
Honduras
Location
Financing tool
30 570 355 Euros
Amount of funding
USD 35m loan
Financing details
BANCO FINANCIERA COMERCIAL HONDURENA SA
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Eolienne
Après un premier prêt accordé à la banque en 2012, Proparco renouvelle son soutien à la plus grande banque du Honduras. Banco Ficohsa pourra ainsi accroître son portefeuille de prêts accordés à des entreprises locales qui développent des projets verts au Honduras.
Présentation du client

Banco Ficohsa est leader du secteur bancaire hondurien depuis 2014. Initialement tournée vers le financement des grandes entreprises, la banque a su développer son activité de banque de détail et de financement des PME. La stratégie actuelle de la banque est construite autour de trois piliers : la préservation de son positionnement sur le segment corporate, le développement du portefeuille PME et la croissance de l'activité des crédits à la consommation. 

Description du projet

Le projet consiste en une ligne de crédit senior de 35 MUSD destinée à soutenir le financement des énergies renouvelables au Honduras.
Il s'agit du second financement accordé par Proparco à Banco Ficohsa. Le premier prêt de 20 millions de dollars signé en 2012 était déjà consacré au développement des énergies renouvelables et à l'efficacité énergétique. 

Impact du projet

Ce projet devrait contribuer à réduire d’une part la dépendance du Honduras aux énergies fossiles (56% du mix) et d’autre part les émissions de CO² du pays (29,5 Mt si on exclut les émissions liées à la forêt et aux changements d'usage des terres; source WRI, inventaire 2017). 
Sur le plan économique, le projet soutiendra la croissance d'entreprises locales développant des projets verts. 
Sur le plan social, il contribuera à donner accès à l'électricité à des populations n'en bénéficiant pas encore. 
Enfin, en termes d'emplois, le projet soutiendra plus de 3 200 emplois au Honduras. 

27/11/2018
Date de signature du projet
Honduras
Localisation
Outils de financement
30 570 355 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt de 35 MUSD
Details du financement
BANCO FINANCIERA COMERCIAL HONDURENA SA
Client
CES