• logo linkedin
  • logo email
En Indonésie, un fonds multisectoriel pour soutenir des entreprises au fort potentiel de croissance
FHP II supports non-institutionalized Indonesian companies with high growth potential. One of PROPARCO’s aims in participating in this fund is to strengthen the development of capital markets in the country.
Client presentation
Falcon House Partners (FHP) is an independent asset manager based in Jakarta and Singapore. It operates in venture capital, mainly in Indonesia, via significant minority holdings or majority holdings in SMEs and midcaps. After having raised and fully deployed a first USD 212m fund in 2012 (Falcon House Partners I - FHP I), in November 2016 FHP conducted the final closing of a new vehicle (Falcon House Partners II - FHP II) totaling USD 400m. The investment strategy of the FHP I & II funds is to operate in various sectors that benefit from the growth in Indonesia’s economy, by supporting companies that are family-owned or still not very institutionalized, and which have strong growth potential to become groups that meet the most demanding governance and management criteria.
Project description
Falcon House Partners Fund II (FHP II) is the second fund deployed by the Falcon House Partners management team. FHP II aims to build an equity or quasi-equity investment portfolio in 10 to 12 companies, with unit tickets ranging between USD 25m and USD 50m. This will allow it to have significant minority holdings or majority holdings in SMEs and midcaps. For Proparco, it involves a USD 15m equity investment alongside several institutional investors, including several Development Finance Institutions, such as IFC, DEG and FMO. FHP II is a multisectoral fund which aims to invest in companies operating in the food, agribusiness, health, logistics, education, retail trade, hotel, tourism and financial sectors. The final beneficiaries targeted by the fund are rapidly growing Indonesian middle classes which do not have access to a range of services to meet their needs, especially outside the island of Java.
Project impact
The project’s main expected outcomes are as follows: i) the creation or safeguarding of several thousand jobs; ii) an impact on the development of capital markets in a context where the private equity market is underdeveloped and where there is extremely limited access to equity financing, with FHP also being one of the only funds operating in the midcap segment; iii) support for sectors which generate impacts thanks to the fund’s operations in several subsectors, such as health (hospitals, clinics), education (universities, schools) and agribusiness. This operation is giving Proparco the opportunity to support the private sector in a geographical area where venture capital is still underdeveloped and, in this respect, promotes access to long-term capital for companies. Finally, this investment is allowing Proparco to enter a high-potential market which benefits from little investment by venture capital players. This entry would be difficult to achieve directly without a partnership with an investment fund.
18/11/2016
Date of signature of the project
Sectors
Indonesia
Location
Financing tool
13 947 001 Euros
Amount of funding
Equity Investment of USD 15m
Financing details
FALCON HOUSE PARTNERS FUND II, L.P
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
En Indonésie, un fonds multisectoriel pour soutenir des entreprises au fort potentiel de croissance
FHP II accompagne des sociétés indonésiennes peu institutionnalisées, ayant un fort potentiel de croissance. En participant à ce fonds, Proparco souhaite entre autres renforcer le développement des marchés de capitaux dans le pays.
Présentation du client

Falcon House Partners (FHP) est un gérant d’actifs indépendant basé à Jakarta et Singapour qui intervient en capital développement essentiellement en Indonésie via des participations minoritaires significatives ou majoritaires au sein de PME et entreprises de taille intermédiaires. FHP, après avoir levé en 2012 puis entièrement déployé un premier fonds de 212 MUSD (Falcon House Partners I - FHP I) a réalisé en novembre 2016 le closing final d'un nouveau véhicule (Falcon House Partners II - FHP II) pour une montant de 400 MUSD. La thèse d’investissement des fonds FHP I & II est d'intervenir sur différents secteurs bénéficiant de la croissance de l’économie indonésienne en accompagnant des sociétés familiales ou encore peu institutionnalisées, qui présentent un fort potentiel de croissance pour devenir des groupes répondant aux meilleurs critères de gouvernance et de gestion.

Description du projet

Falcon House Partners Fund II (FHP II) est le deuxième fonds déployé par l’équipe de gestion Falcon House Partners. FHP II souhaite construire un portefeuille d’investissements en fonds propres ou quasi fonds propres au sein de 10 à 12 sociétés pour des tickets unitaires compris entre 25 et 50 MUSD permettant de détenir des participations minoritaires significatives ou majoritaires au sein de PME et entreprises de taille intermédiaires. Il s'agit pour Proparco d'une participation en capital de 15 MUSD réalisée aux côtés de plusieurs investisseurs institutionnels dont plusieurs Institutions de financement du Développement telles IFC, DEG et FMO. FHP II est un fonds multi-sectoriel qui souhaite investir dans des sociétés intervenant dans les secteurs de l’alimentation, l’agribusiness, la santé, la logistique, l’éducation, le commerce de détail, l’hôtellerie, le tourisme ou encore le secteur financier. Les destinataires finaux ciblés par le fonds sont les classes moyennes indonésiennes, en pleine expansion, qui n’accèdent pas, notamment en dehors de l’île de Java, à une offre de services répondant à leurs besoins.

Impact du projet

Les principaux effets attendus du projet sont les suivants : i) la création ou le maintien de plusieurs milliers d'emplois ; ii) un impact sur le développement des marchés de capitaux dans un contexte où le marché du private equity est peu développé et où l’accès au financement en fonds propres est rare, FHP étant par ailleurs l'un des seuls fonds intervenant sur le segment mid-cap ; iii) le soutien à des secteurs générateurs d’impacts grâce à une intervention du fonds sur plusieurs sous-secteurs tels la santé (hôpitaux, cliniques) ; l’éducation (universités, écoles) ou encore l’agribusiness. Cette intervention donne à Proparco l’opportunité de  soutenir le secteur privé dans une géographie où le capital investissement est encore peu développé et à ce titre favorise l’accès des entreprises à des capitaux de long terme. Cet investissement permet enfin à Proparco d’entrer sur un marché à grand potentiel et peu investi par les acteurs du capital investissement. Une telle entrée serait difficilement possible en direct sans un partenariat avec un fonds d’investissement.

18/11/2016
Date de signature du projet
Secteurs
Indonésie
Localisation
Outils de financement
13 947 001 Euros
Montant du financement
Prise de participation de 15 MUSD
Details du financement
FALCON HOUSE PARTNERS FUND II, L.P
Client
CES