• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Projet Energy Access Fund
The EAVF fund, a French investment vehicle, invests in SMEs which provide rural and peri-urban populations in Sub-Saharan Africa with access to cheap low-carbon electricity.
Client presentation
Energy Access Ventures Fund (EAVF) is a French investment vehicle sponsored by Schneider Electric and managed by Aster Capital. It was launched in partnership with CDC Group, the European Investment Bank (EIB), OPEC Fund for International Development (OFID) and French Facility for Global Environment (FFEM).
Project description
EAVF invests in equity, quasi-equity and loans in SMEs which provide solutions for access to cheap low-carbon electricity for rural and peri-urban populations in Sub-Saharan Africa. It has EUR 54.5m of assets which will be invested in about twenty SMEs for a 5-year period. The financing will initially be implemented in Burundi, Ethiopia, Kenya, Malawi, Mozambique, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe. Proparco’s financial support will be earmarked for EAVF’s technical assistance facility. This facility will provide the companies invested in with training and consultant missions in key sectors, such as environmental and social governance or management.
Project impact
This operation will provide long-term support for access to energy for the most disadvantaged populations living in rural and peri-urban areas. It will thereby contribute to boosting economic activity in these regions. It will also have a positive impact on the climate by allowing many final beneficiaries to replace the use of fossil fuels by renewable energies. In addition, it will contribute to building the capacities of SMEs thanks to the training and missions financed by the fund’s technical assistance facility.
12/02/2015
Date of signature of the project
Ghana Kenya Tanzania Multi-country Africa
Location
5 300 000 Euros
Amount of funding
Equity investment of EUR 5m and techinical assistance EUR 300,000
Financing details
ENERGY ACCESS VENTURES FUND
Client
PRO-AFRIQUE-EAV-OFFGRID-2015

620 million Africans with no lighting

AFRICA – Universal access to reliable, affordable, clean energy is one of the major challenges on today’s development agenda. In 2011, the United Nations launched the Sustainable Energy for All initiative with the aim of bringing together stakeholders from governments, business and civil society to eliminate energy poverty. This is a field in which Proparco has been active for years.

Energy Access Ventures Fund : investir dans les PME qui favorisent l’accès à l’électricité en Afrique

Ghana Kenya Tanzanie Multi-Pays Afrique
  • logo linkedin
  • logo email
Projet Energy Access Fund
Le fonds EAVF, véhicule d’investissement français, a pour vocation d’investir dans des PME qui proposent aux populations rurales et périurbaines d’Afrique subsaharienne un accès à une électricité à bas coût et sobre en carbone.
Présentation du client

Le fonds Energy Access Ventures Fund (EAVF) est un véhicule d’investissement français sponsorisé par Schneider Electric et géré par Aster Capital. Il a été lancé en partenariat avec CDC Group, la Banque européenne d’investissement (BEI), le fonds pour le développement international de l’OPEC (OFID) et le Fonds français pour l’environnement mondial (FFEM).

Description du projet

Le fonds EAVF a vocation à investir en fonds propres, quasi fonds propres et prêts dans des PME porteuses de solutions d’accès à une électricité sobre en carbone et à bas coût pour les populations rurales et périurbaines d’Afrique subsaharienne. Il est doté de 54,5 M€ qui seront investis auprès d'une vingtaine de PME sur une durée de 5 ans. Les financements seront déployés dans un premier temps au Burundi, en Ethiopie, au Kenya, au Malawi, au Mozambique, en Ouganda, au Rwanda, en Tanzanie, en Zambie et au Zimbabwe. Le financement d’appui de Proparco sera destiné à la facilité d’accompagnement technique du fonds EAVF. Celle-ci permettra d’apporter aux entreprises investies des formations et des missions d’expertise dans des domaines clés tels que la gouvernance ou la gestion environnementale et sociale.

Impact du projet

Cette opération permettra de soutenir durablement l'accès à l'énergie des populations les plus défavorisées vivant en zones rurale et périurbaine. Elle contribuera ainsi à stimuler l'activité économique dans ces régions. Elle aura par ailleurs un effet positif sur le climat en permettant à de nombreux bénéficiaires finaux de remplacer l’utilisation d’énergies fossiles par des énergies renouvelables. Elle participera également au renforcement des capacités des PME grâce aux formations et missions financées par la facilité d'accompagnement technique du fonds.

12/02/2015
Date de signature du projet
Ghana Kenya Tanzanie Multi-Pays Afrique
Localisation
5 300 000 Euros
Montant du financement
Prise de participation de 5 MEUR et Accompagnement technique de 300 000 EUR
Details du financement
ENERGY ACCESS VENTURES FUND
Client
off-grid

620 millions d'africains sans lumière

AFRIQUE — L’accès universel à des sources d’énergie fiables, abordables et propres constitue l’un des grands enjeux du développement. Lancée en 2011 par les Nations unies, l’initiative « Énergie durable pour tous » veut fédérer acteurs publics et privés – gouvernements, entreprises et sociétés civiles – pour éradiquer la précarité énergétique. Un champ d’action sur lequel Proparco est engagée de longue date.