• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Yaoundé, Cameroon.
ENEO Cameroon is a power generation, transmission and distribution company which is investing in the development of its grids and the rehabilitation of its power plants. This is improving the quality of the service nationwide.
Client presentation
ENEO Cameroon SA (formerly AES SONEL SA), the Cameroonian electricity company, was privatized in 2001. It is owned by the US group AES Corporation, a major international electricity player, and the Government of Cameroon. ENEO Cameroon serves 528,000 subscribers and sells 3,300 GWh of electricity a year. The capacity of its generation facilities stands at 933 MW, 75% of which is hydropower. ENEO Cameroon is one of the only power distribution, transmission and generation concessions in Africa.
Project description
Proparco’s loan will contribute to financing ENEO Cameroon’s investment program for 2005-2009. This program has a total cost of EUR 380m and is mainly based on the rehabilitation, renewal and expansion of power transmission and distribution grids, as well as the rehabilitation of existing hydropower plants.
Project impact
This project will have significant impacts on the quality and expansion of the electricity service in Cameroon, by connecting 50,000 additional subscribers every year. Over 4 million people are expected to benefit from a connection or improved service. It will contribute to national efforts to develop an accessible and reliable electricity sector, which is a prerequisite for the economic development of the country.
08/12/2006
Date of signature of the project
Cameroon
Location
Financing tool
30 000 000 Euros
Amount of funding
Loan of EUR 30 M
Financing details
ENEO Cameroon SA (ex AES SONEL S.A.)
Client

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Yaoundé, Cameroon.
Société de production, de transport et de distribution d’électricité, ENEO Cameroon investit dans le développement de ses réseaux et dans la réhabilitation de ses centrales – ce qui renforce la qualité du service dans tout le pays.
Présentation du client

ENEO Cameroun SA (ex AES SONEL SA), la société camerounaise d’électricité, a été privatisée en 2001. Elle est détenue par le groupe américain AES Corporation, acteur majeur de l’électricité au niveau mondial, et le gouvernement camerounais. ENEO Cameroun dessert 528 000 abonnés et vend 3 300 GWh d’électricité par an. La capacité de son parc de production est de 933 MW à 75% hydroélectrique. ENEO Cameroun est une des seules concessions de distribution, de transport et de production d’électricité en Afrique.

Description du projet

Le prêt de Proparco contribuera au financement du programme d’investissement 2005-2009 d’ENEO Cameroun. Ce programme, d’un coût total de 380 M€, est principalement axé sur la réhabilitation, le renouvellement et l’expansion des réseaux de transport et de distribution d’électricité, ainsi que sur la réhabilitation des centrales hydroélectriques existantes.

Impact du projet

Ce projet aura des impacts significatifs sur la qualité et l’expansion du service électrique au Cameroun, en permettant la connexion de 50 000 abonnés supplémentaires tous les ans. Ce sont plus de 4 millions de personnes qui devraient bénéficier d’une connexion ou d’un service amélioré. Il contribuera aux efforts nationaux de développement d’un secteur de l’électricité accessible et fiable, une condition du développement économique du pays.

08/12/2006
Date de signature du projet
Cameroun
Localisation
Outils de financement
30 000 000 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt de 30 MEUR
Details du financement
ENEO Cameroon SA (ex AES SONEL S.A.)
Client