• logo linkedin
  • logo email
JUMO, téléphonie, hommes, afrique
In addition to distributing basic solar equipment, EWGL aims to launch mobile banking services in Zimbabwe and the subregion. This will promote financial inclusion for unbanked populations.
Client presentation
Econet Wireless Global Limited (EWGL) is a holding company which owns 41% of EWZL, the leading mobile telecom operator in Zimbabwe, as well as 63% of Liquid Telecommunications Holding Limited, a fiber optic network operator in nine African countries. EWGL also owns shares in other smaller companies, including Econet Telecom Lesotho Ltd and Econet Wireless Burundi S.A.
Project description
This financing aims to support EWGL’s investments to deploy its mobile banking services (“EcoCash”) in the subregion. It will also finance the development of its distribution activity for basic solar equipment (lanterns, phone chargers, etc.). It follows on from an existing partnership between Proparco and the telecoms group Econet Wireless established in 2011.
Project impact
The development of mobile banking will improve the financial inclusion of unbanked populations in the subregion. The project will maintain or create over 800 direct jobs in Zimbabwe, as well as indirect jobs via the sales activities. It will generate some EUR 82m of public revenue for the Government of Zimbabwe, to which Econet is the largest contributor.
06/06/2014
Date of signature of the project
Sectors
Multi-country Africa
Location
Financing tool
14 598 540 Euros
Amount of funding
Loan of USD 20m
Financing details
Econet Wireless Global Ltd
Client

• logo linkedin
  • logo google plus
  • logo email
Projet ECONET 2
En plus de la distribution d’équipements solaires de première nécessité, EWGL souhaite lancer une offre de banque mobile – au Zimbabwe et dans la sous-région. Cela favorisera l’inclusion financière de populations non bancarisées.
Présentation du client

Econet Wireless Global Limited (EWGL) est une société holding qui détient 41% d’EWZL, opérateur leader de la télecommunication mobile au Zimbabwe, ainsi que 63% de Liquid Telecommunications Holding Limited, un opérateur de réseau fibre optique présent dans neuf pays africains. EWGL possède également des parts dans d’autres entreprises plus petites, notamment Econet Telecom Lesotho Ltd et Econet Wireless Burundi S.A.

Description du projet

Ce financement vise à soutenir les investissements d’EWGL pour déployer son offre de banque mobile (« EcoCash ») dans la sous-région. Il permettra, par ailleurs, de financer le développement de son activité de distribution d’équipements solaires de première nécessité (lanternes, chargeurs de téléphone, etc). Il s’inscrit dans la continuité d’un partenariat existant entre Proparco et le groupe de télécoms Econet Wireless depuis 2011.

Impact du projet

Le développement du mobile banking permettra d'améliorer l'inclusion financière des populations non bancarisées de la sous-région. Le projet permettra de maintenir ou créer plus de 800 emplois directs au Zimbabwe, mais aussi des emplois indirects via les activités de vente. Il génèrera des recettes publiques, à hauteur de 82 M€, pour l'Etat du Zimbabwe dont Econet est le premier contributeur.

06/06/2014
Date de signature du projet
Secteurs
Localisation
Outils de financement
14 598 540 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt de 20 MUSD
Details du financement
Econet Wireless Global Ltd
Client