• logo linkedin
  • logo email
CIEL, un groupe mauricien fortement implanté en Afrique et en Asie
CIEL Group operates in ten countries and comprises companies in the textile, agribusiness, hotel, financial services and health sectors. The group has an extensive network in Africa and Asia and is continuing its development.
Client presentation
CIEL is a Mauritian-based international investment holding company, listed on the Mauritian stock exchange, with 100 years of heritage. CIEL has, through its subsidiaries and investments, more than 27 000 employees across 10 countries and 5 strategic sectors, namely Textile, Agro and Property, Hotels and Resorts, Financial Services and Healthcare.
Project description
Proparco’s equity investment further boosts CIEL's development, which largely focuses on Africa and Asia. It contributes to ensuring o ensuring the sustainability of CIEL, by strengthening its family shareholding structure, and fueling its regional ambitions.
Project impact
This operation will have major impacts due to the diversity and scope of the Group’s activities. It will contribute to increasing government revenues and creating jobs in the areas where it is established in Africa and Asia. It will also allow Proparco to establish a long-term partnership with CIEL that provides opportunities for co-investments in sectors with strong developmental impacts. In the context of this financing, CIEL has also pledged to structure its environmental and social approach.
25/04/2014
Date of signature of the project
Sectors
Mauritius
Location
Financing tool
8 560 083 Euros
Amount of funding
Equity investment of MUR 330m
Financing details
CIEL Limited
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
CIEL, un groupe mauricien fortement implanté en Afrique et en Asie
Le groupe CIEL, présent dans dix pays, comprend des entreprises du secteur du textile, de l’agro-industrie, de l’hôtellerie, des services financiers et de la santé. Fortement implanté en Afrique et en Asie, le groupe poursuit son développement.
Présentation du client

Le groupe CIEL est une société internationale d’investissements basée à l’île Maurice avec une histoire plus que centenaire. À travers ses différentes filiales et participations, CIEL emploie plus de 27 000 personnes, réparties dans 10 pays et 5 pôles sectoriels stratégiques : textile, agro-industrie, hôtellerie, services financiers, et santé.

Description du projet

La prise de participation de Proparco permettra au groupe CIEL d’accélérer encore son développement, très largement tourné vers le continent africain et l’Asie.

Impact du projet

Du fait de la diversité et de l’envergure des activités du groupe, cette opération sera porteuse d'impacts importants. Elle contribuera à renforcer les recettes publiques et à créer de l'emploi dans ses zones d'implantation en Afrique et en Asie. Elle permettra par ailleurs à Proparco d’établir un partenariat de long terme avec un groupe présentant des opportunités de co-investissements dans des secteurs à forts impacts développementaux. Dans le cadre de ce financement, CIEL s'est par ailleurs engagé à structurer son approche environnementale et sociale.

25/04/2014
Date de signature du projet
Secteurs
Maurice
Localisation
Outils de financement
8 560 083 Euros
Montant du financement
Prise de participation de 330 MUR
Details du financement
CIEL Limited
Client
CES