• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Prise de participation dans Voltalia, une entreprise française spécialisée dans les énergies renouvelables
Voltalia is a French company that produces different types of renewable energies. Proparco is taking part in a fundraising to allow the company to finance the construction of 500 MW, mainly in Brazil.
In 2019, Proparco reinvested in Voltalia’s capital to allow it to reach an installed capacity of 2.6 GW by 2023.
Client presentation

Voltalia is a French company which was set up in 2005 and operates in renewable energy generation. The company started its activity in French Guiana then in mainland France, prior to successfully setting up in Brazil, which is currently its main area of operation. Voltalia is mainly active in wind and solar energies, but also operates in the hydropower and biomass sectors. The group consequently has a particularly attractive profile due to its multi-technology approach, but also its expertise in the entire value chain. Indeed, Voltalia is a renewable energy producer (IPP) that develops its projects in-house, by integrating the supervision of the construction (EPC) and operation (O&M) of its power plants, and also projects on behalf of third parties. 

Project description

Proparco’s investment in 2016 was part of a broader EUR 170m fundraising to finance the construction of an additional capacity of some 500 MW. With an objective of an installed capacity of 1 GW by 2019, Voltalia already has 215 MW of projects at an advanced stage of development (25% solar and 63% wind backlog, with a 47% exposure in Brazil and 40% in France). In 2019, Proparco made an additional EUR 15,416,000 investment to support its growth and geographical diversification. 

Project impact

The monitoring reports on Proparco’s initial investment have confirmed the positive impacts of the group’s activity, both in terms of employment (+34% with 547 employees at the end of 2018 and +59% of jobs held by women) and the fight against climate change due to the increase in the installed capacity, the clean energy produced and the access for populations to non-polluting energy.  

Proparco’s additional investment in 2019 should strengthen these various impacts. 

21/06/2019
Date of signature of the project
Multi-country Global Brazil Egypt Kenya Morocco
Location
Financing tool
30 415 518 Euros
Amount of funding
Equity investment of EUR 30,415,518m
Financing details
Voltalia
Client
CES

Prise de participation dans Voltalia, une entreprise française spécialisée dans les énergies renouvelables

Multi-Pays Etranger Brésil Egypte Kenya Maroc
  • logo linkedin
  • logo email
Prise de participation dans Voltalia, une entreprise française spécialisée dans les énergies renouvelables
Voltalia est une société française qui produit différents types d’énergies renouvelables. Proparco participe à une levée de fonds devant permettre à l’entreprise de financer la construction de 500 mégawatts, principalement au Brésil.
En 2019, Proparco a réinvesti au capital de Voltalia pour atteindre 2,6 GW de capacités installées d'ici 2023.
Présentation du client

Voltalia est une société française créée en 2005, opérant dans la production d’énergies renouvelables. La société a démarré son activité en Guyane française puis en métropole avant de s’implanter avec succès au Brésil qui constitue à ce jour sa principale zone d’exploitation. Présente majoritairement dans l’éolien et le solaire, Voltalia intervient également dans l’hydroélectricité et la biomasse. Le groupe présente ainsi un profil particulièrement attractif du fait de son approche multi-technologies, mais également par sa maîtrise de l’intégralité de la chaîne de valeur. En effet, Voltalia est un producteur d’énergies renouvelables (IPP) qui développe ses projets en interne en intégrant le suivi de la construction (EPC) et l’exploitation (O&M) de ses centrales et pour compte de tiers.

Description du projet

L'investissement de Proparco s'est intégré dans une levée de fonds plus large de 170 MEUR qui vise à financer la construction d’environ 500 MW supplémentaires. Avec un objectif de 1 GW installé à horizon 2019, Voltalia dispose déjà de 215 MW de projets à un stade avancé de développement (backlog composé de 25% de solaire et 63% d’éolien, avec une exposition à 47% sur le Brésil et 40% sur la France).

Impact du projet

Les rapports de suivi de l'investissement initial de Proparco ont confirmé les impacts positifs de l’activité du groupe, tant du point de vue de l’emploi (+ 34% avec 547 salariés à fin 2018 et +59% d’emplois féminins) que de la lutte contre le changement climatique du fait de la hausse des capacités installées, de l’énergie propre produite et de l’accès aux populations à une énergie non polluante.

L'investissement supplémentaire réalisé par Proparco en 2019 devrait permettre de renforcer ces différents impacts. 

21/06/2019
Date de signature du projet
Multi-Pays Etranger Brésil Egypte Kenya Maroc
Localisation
Outils de financement
30 415 518 Euros
Montant du financement
Prise de participation 30 415 518 EUROS
Details du financement
Voltalia
Client
CES