• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Proparco and Microinvest are working together for the first time. The project will support Moldova’s private sector which is facing major challenges due to the economic repercussions of the conflict in Ukraine.
Client presentation

The leader in the microfinance market in Moldova and the sixth largest institution in the financial sector in terms of outstanding loans, Microinvest started its operations in 2003 at the initiative of the Soros Foundation. It targets Moldovan MSMEs, in particular in the agriculture sector, a target sector which accounts for 32% of its portfolio. Microinvest serves 38,270 borrowers and has a portfolio of EUR 108m. It deploys its products through a network of 15 branches and 66 loan officers. Microinvest is the only Moldovan financial institution to have obtained Smart Campaign certification in 2015, which was renewed in 2018.

Project description

The project involves a EUR 8m senior loan allocated to the Moldovan microfinance institution Microinvest to support the development of its loan portfolio. It is the first financing operation by Proparco, and generally AFD Group, for this counterparty.

Project impact

This project should provide some 1,870 beneficiaries with access to microcredit and support 3,600 jobs and 130 SMEs.  
The project will contribute to SDGs 1 (“No poverty”) and 8 (“Decent work and economic growth”).

04/26/2022
Date of signature of the project
Sectors
Moldova
Location
Financing tool
8 000 000 Euros
Amount of funding
EUR 8m loan
Financing details
OCN MICROINVEST SRL
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Proparco et Microinvest collaborent pour la première fois. Le projet permettra de soutenir le secteur privé moldave, qui fait face à des défis majeurs en raison des répercussions économiques du conflit en Ukraine.
Présentation du client

Leader du marché de la microfinance en Moldavie et sixième institution du secteur financier en termes d’encours de crédits, Microinvest a démarré ses opérations en 2003 à l’initiative de la Fondation Soros. Elle vise les TPME moldaves et en particulier le secteur agricole, secteur-cible qui constitue 32% de son portefeuille. Microinvest sert 38 270 emprunteurs pour un portefeuille de 108 M EUR, et déploie son offre à travers un réseau de 15 agences et 66 agents de crédit. Microinvest est l’unique institution financière moldave à avoir obtenu la certification Smart Campaign en 2015, qui a été renouvelée en 2018.

Description du projet

Le projet consiste en l’octroi d’une dette senior de 8 M EUR à destination de l’institution de microfinance moldave Microinvest afin de soutenir le développement de son portefeuille de crédits. Il s’agit de la première opération de financement de Proparco, et globalement du groupe AFD, octroyée à cette contrepartie.

Impact du projet

Ce projet devrait permettre l'accès à un micro-crédit pour près de 1 870 bénéficiaires ainsi que le soutien à 3 600 emplois et 130 PME.  
Le projet contribuera aux ODD 1 ("Pas de pauvreté") et 8 ("Travail décent et croissance économique").

26/04/2022
Date de signature du projet
Secteurs
Moldavie
Localisation
Outils de financement
8 000 000 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt de 8 MEUR
Details du financement
OCN MICROINVEST SRL
Client
CES