• logo linkedin
  • logo email
usine;ouvrier;travailleur;Intérieur
The USD 100m loan will support MCB, a longstanding partner of PROPARCO, for the development of its activities in Africa. By allowing the bank to develop its loans to companies and infrastructure projects in Mauritius and Sub-Saharan Africa, this project will support economic growth and job creation on the continent.
Client presentation

MCB is Mauritius’ oldest bank. With a balance sheet of EUR 8.5bn, 39 branches and 2,800 employees, MCB serves a diversified clientele of a million clients. MCB Group is listed on the Mauritius Stock Exchange. MCB operates in the Indian Ocean directly (Madagascar, Seychelles, Maldives, Réunion, Mayotte) or via minority shareholdings (BFCOI, SG Moçambique). The bank has offices in Kenya, South Africa and France.

Project description

This financing will support MCB’s strategy to strengthen its activity in Africa. It is earmarked to cover corporate and infrastructure needs in continental Africa and the Indian Ocean, and is in the form of two USD 75m senior loans. A first 7-year tranche is dedicated to medium-term corporate projects, while the second 12-year tranche is dedicated to more long-term infrastructure projects, mainly in Sub-Saharan Africa.

Project impact

By assisting the expansion of this financial institution, the project will support the country’s economic fabric and will therefore have a significant impact on economic growth and job creation. In addition to supporting MCB’s development abroad, it will also help the Mauritian bank to strengthen its commitment and its impact in terms of sustainable development.

27/09/2018
Date of signature of the project
Mauritius
Location
Financing tool
86 117 809 Euros
Amount of funding
USD 100m loan (including USD 50m of AFD subparticipation)
Financing details
MAURITIUS COMMERCIAL BANK LIMITED
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
usine;ouvrier;travailleur;Intérieur
Le prêt de 100 millions de dollars accompagnera la MCB, partenaire de longue date de Proparco, dans le développement de ses activités en Afrique. En permettant à la banque de développer ses prêts aux entreprises et aux projets d'infrastructure à Maurice et en Afrique subsaharienne, ce projet soutiendra la croissance économique et la création d'emplois sur le continent.
Présentation du client

La MCB est la plus ancienne banque mauricienne. Avec 8,5 milliards d’euros de bilan, 39 agences et 2 800 employés, la MCB sert une clientèle diversifiée d’un million de clients. Le groupe MCB est côté à la bourse mauricienne. MCB est présente dans l’Océan Indien en direct (Madagascar, Seychelles, Maldives, Réunion, Mayotte) ou via des participations minoritaires (BFCOI, SG Moçambique). La banque compte des bureaux au Kenya, en Afrique du Sud et en France.

Description du projet

Ce financement permettra d'accompagner la MCB dans sa stratégie de renforcement de son activité en Afrique. Il est destiné à couvrir des besoins corporate et infra en Afrique continentale et dans l’Océan Indien, et prend la forme de 2 concours seniors de 75 millions de dollars. Une première tranche de 7 ans est dédiée aux projets corporate de moyen terme, alors que la seconde tranche de 12 ans est dédiée à des projets infra de plus long terme, essentiellement en Afrique sub-saharienne.

Impact du projet

En accompagnant l'expansion de cette institution financière, le projet permettra de soutenir le tissu économique du pays et aura donc un impact significatif sur la croissance économique et la création d'emplois. En plus de soutenir le développement de la MCB à l'étranger, il aidera également la banque mauricienne à renforcer son engagement et son impact en matière de développement durable.

27/09/2018
Date de signature du projet
Maurice
Localisation
Outils de financement
86 117 809 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt de 100 MUSD (dont 50 M USD en sous part AFD)
Details du financement
MAURITIUS COMMERCIAL BANK LIMITED
Client
CES