• logo linkedin
  • logo email
liban ipt
With a EUR 22m loan, Proparco is financing the development of the T-ESCO activities of IPT (management and operation of telecom towers for mobile network operators) in Lebanon and Guinea. The aim is to support the development of the telecoms industry and improve energy efficiency, via the hybridization of activities in remote regions in both countries.
Client presentation

IPT is a Lebanese company specialized in the management and operation of telecom towers for mobile network operators in Africa and the Middle East. As a supplier of energy services to mobile network operators in Africa and the Middle East, IPT is positioned as a pioneering company in the T-ESCO (Telecom - Energy Service Company) segment. 

Project description

The operation aims to finance the development of the T-ESCO activities of IPT in Lebanon and Guinea. It is an arrangement by which the owner of the site of the tower subcontracts the site’s power supply to a specialized third party entrusted with deploying, financing and operating the power assets under a long-term contract. The technical operation of T-ESCO is based on the combined use of a fuel generator, a solar photovoltaic system and batteries offering benefits in terms of fuel costs and savings.

Project impact

It is a large-scale project targeting energy efficiency/the hybridization of activities in the remote regions of two border countries. This project is in line with PROPARCO’s 100% Climate strategy as it reduces emissions by 116,000 tCO2eq a year, while contributing to the deployment of efficient telecom infrastructure. The T-ESCO market is also innovative and experiencing rapid growth. Proparco wishes to support this development in the telecoms industry and also estimates that this specific project should create or maintain some 20,000 direct or indirect jobs. 

30/09/2019
Date of signature of the project
Multi-country Global Lebanon Guinea
Location
Financing tool
22 000 000 Euros
Amount of funding
USD 20m loan
Financing details
IPI Group (Holding) SAL
Client
CES

Soutenir les activités d'IPT pour accompagner l'évolution dans l’industrie des télécoms au Liban et en Guinée

Multi-Pays Etranger Liban Guinée
  • logo linkedin
  • logo email
liban ipt
Avec un prêt de 22 millions d'euros, Proparco finance le développement des activités T-ESCO de la société IPT (gestion et l'exploitation de tours télécom pour des opérateurs de réseaux mobiles) au Liban et en Guinée pour accompagner l'évolution dans l’industrie des télécoms et améliorer l’efficacité énergétique, via l’hybridation d’activités dans les régions isolées des deux pays.
Présentation du client

IPT est une société libanaise spécialisée dans la gestion et l'exploitation de tours télécom pour des opérateurs de réseaux mobiles en Afrique et au Moyen Orient. En tant que fournisseur de services énergétiques aux opérateurs de réseaux mobiles en Afrique et au Moyen-Orient, IPT se positionne comme une société pionnière dans le segment T-ESCO (Telecom - Energy Service Company).

Description du projet

L'intervention vise à financer le développement des activités T-ESCO de la société IPT au Liban et en Guinée, un schéma selon lequel le propriétaire du site de la tour sous-traite l'alimentation électrique du site à un tiers spécialisé chargé de déployer, financer et exploiter l'actif électrique en vertu d'un contrat de longue durée. Le fonctionnement technique de T-ESCO est basé sur l'utilisation conjointe d'un générateur à combustible, d'un système photovoltaïque solaire et de batteries offrant des avantages en termes de coûts et d'économies de combustible.

Impact du projet

Il s’agit d’un projet de taille significative visant l’efficacité énergétique / l’hybridation d’activités dans les régions isolées de deux pays frontières. Ce projet s’inscrit dans la stratégie Proparco 100% Climat, permettant d'éviter l'émission 116 000 tCO2eq par an, tout en participant au déploiement d’infrastructures télécom efficientes. En outre, le marché des T-ESCOs est innovant et en plein essor. Proparco souhaite accompagner cette évolution dans l’industrie des télécoms et estime par ailleurs que ce projet spécifique devrait permettre la création ou le maitien d'environ 20 000 emplois directs ou indirects.

30/09/2019
Date de signature du projet
Multi-Pays Etranger Liban Guinée
Localisation
Outils de financement
22 000 000 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt de 20 MUSD
Details du financement
IPI Group (Holding) SAL
Client
CES