• logo linkedin
  • logo email
liban, formation, homme, portrait, fils électriques, électricité;Cours pratique
This new USD 18m credit line will allow Fransabank to support Lebanese SMEs and corporates, which are currently conducting their business in a difficult local economic context. It is PROPARCO’s 3rd operation with this leading Lebanese bank.
Client presentation

FRANSABANK, a commercial bank set up in 1921, is today Lebanon’s 4th largest bank by the size of its balance sheet and its result. It operates via the country’s most extensive network of bank branches (124) and is present in 8 other countries in the Middle East and North Africa region, Europe and Africa. It offers a wide range of banking and financial products, including services to individuals and companies, investment products, private banking and insurance. Finally, FRANSABANK is a partner of a number of development banks and international financial institutions, including PROPARCO since 2004.

Project description

This new operation involves a USD 18m loan. It will aim to support viable Lebanese companies (corporates and SMEs), but which are experiencing difficulties related to a complicated local economic context.

It is the third cooperation action between FRANSABANK and PROPARCO, following two initial operations in 2004 and 2010, and is taking place after the establishment of a “quadripartite” partnership between Agence Française de Développement Group, PROPARCO, Bpifrance and FRANSABANK in July 2016.

Project impact

This new project will support Lebanon’s economic fabric by refinancing SMEs and local corporates active in various sectors, in particular health, tourism and the agri-food industry.
PROPARCO’s financing will also allow FRANSABANK to offer a more long-term range of financing and with maturities that are currently difficult to access for Lebanese companies.
Furthermore, this operation will contribute to supporting employment in FRANSABANK, with an expected staff increase of some 20% over the next 5 years.

23/11/2018
Date of signature of the project
Lebanon
Location
Financing tool
16 278 741 Euros
Amount of funding
Loan of USD 18m
Financing details
FRANSABANK SAL
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
liban, formation, homme, portrait, fils électriques, électricité;Cours pratique
Cette nouvelle ligne de crédit de 18 millions de dollars permettra à Fransabank de soutenir les PMEs et les grandes entreprises libanaises qui exercent actuellement leurs activités dans un contexte économique local difficile. Il s'agit de la 3ème opération de Proparco avec cette banque libanaise de premier plan.
Présentation du client

Banque commerciale créée en 1921, FRANSABANK est aujourd'hui la quatrième banque libanaise par la taille de son bilan et de son résultat. Elle opère au travers du plus large réseau d’agences bancaires du pays (124) et est présente dans 8 autres pays de la région Moyen-Orient et Afrique du Nord, d’Europe et d’Afrique. Elle propose une large gamme de produits bancaires et financiers, incluant les services aux particuliers et aux entreprises, les produits d’investissement, de gestion bancaire privée et d’assurance. Enfin, FRANSABANK est partenaire de nombreuses banques de développement et d'institutions financières internationales, dont PROPARCO depuis 2004.

Description du projet

Cette nouvelle opération consiste en un prêt de 18 millions de dollars. Celui-ci aura pour but de soutenir des entreprises (corporate et PME) libanaises viables mais connaissant des difficultés liées à un contexte économique local compliqué.

Il s'agit de la troisième coopération entre FRANSABANK et Proparco, après deux premières opérations en 2004 et 2010, et qui intervient après la mise en place en juillet 2016 d’un partenariat « quadripartite » entre le Groupe Agence Française de Développement, Proparco, Bpifrance et FRANSABANK.

Impact du projet

Ce nouveau projet permettra de soutenir le tissu économique libanais à travers le refinancement de PME et de grandes entreprises locales actives dans divers secteurs, notamment la santé, le tourisme et l’industrie agro-alimentaire.
Le financement de Proparco permettra également à FRANSABANK de proposer une offre de financement de plus long terme et avec des maturités actuellement peu accessibles aux entreprises libanaises.
Cette opération contribuera par ailleurs à soutenir l'emploi au sein de FRANSABANK, avec une augmentation attendue des effectifs d’environ 20% d’ici 5 ans.

23/11/2018
Date de signature du projet
Liban
Localisation
Outils de financement
16 278 741 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt de 18 MUSD
Details du financement
FRANSABANK SAL
Client
CES