• logo linkedin
  • logo email
In the context of a Friendship Facility led by our German counterpart DEG, Proparco is supporting SMEs and contributing to reducing gender inequalities in Panama via a credit line. As half of our financing is targeting women’s entrepreneurship, this project is contributing to the achievement of the objectives of the 2X Challenge initiative.
Client presentation

Banesco is a universal bank that plays a major role in financial intermediation for individuals and companies in Panama. Banesco S.A. is part of a financial group that operates in 16 countries in Europe, Latin America and North America. The bank is based in Panama and has two subsidiaries, one in the Dominican Republic and another in Curaçao. Banesco is Panama’s 9th largest bank in terms of assets and capital and the 7th largest in terms of deposits.

Project description

The operation is a Friendship Facility led by DEG and will not only allow us to enter inter relations with a new counterparty in Panama, but also to contribute to reducing gender inequalities, as half of the amount of our financing will target women’s entrepreneurship. This marks our first allocation of a project that contributes to the achievement of the objectives of the 2X Challenge initiative. This credit line will support growth in the SME financing activity via a range of products tailored to their needs and the diversification of long-term loans.

Project impact

On the economic front, positive impacts are expected on the development of Panamanian SMEs, with some 600 SME loan beneficiaries expected over the next 5 years for a credit volume amounting to double the bank’s current outstanding SME loans. 

On the social front, the project should support 1,400 jobs at Banesco with, in addition, some 5,500 indirect jobs (in the SMEs financed by Banesco) over the next 5 years. There are a majority of women in the bank, who hold 64% of senior management positions.

The project will also have a positive impact on the reduction of gender inequalities, as 50% of Proparco’s credit line will be earmarked to finance SMEs managed or owned by women and SMEs with women’s leadership or which offer products and services for women.

04/12/2019
Date of signature of the project
Panama
Location
Financing tool
27 225 701 Euros
Amount of funding
USD 30m loan
Financing details
Banesco S.A. (Panama)
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Dans le cadre d'une Friendship Facility menée par notre homologue allemand, la DEG, Proparco via une ligne de financement, soutient les PME et participe à la réduction des inégalités femmes-hommes au Panama. La moitié de notre financement ciblant l’entreprenariat féminin, ce projet contribue à l’atteinte des objectifs de l’initiative 2X Challenge.
Présentation du client

Banesco est une banque universelle qui joue un rôle majeur dans l’intermédiation financière dédiée aux particuliers et aux entreprises au Panama. Banesco S.A. fait partie d’un groupe financier présent dans 16 pays entre Europe, Amérique latine et Amérique du nord. Basée au Panama, la banque possède deux filiales, une en République Dominicaine et une autre à Curaçao. Banesco est la 9ème banque panaméenne en matière d’actifs et de fonds propres et la 7ème banque en termes de dépôts.

Description du projet

L’opération, une Friendship Facility menée par la DEG, nous permettra non seulement d’entrer en relation avec une nouvelle contrepartie au Panama, mais aussi de contribuer à la réduction des inégalités femmes-hommes, étant donné que la moitié du montant de notre financement ciblera l’entreprenariat féminin, marquant notre premier octroi d’un projet contribuant à l’atteinte des objectifs de l’initiative 2X Challenge. Cette ligne de crédit soutiendra la croissance de l’activité de financement des PME à travers une offre adaptée à leurs besoins et la diversification de l’offre de crédit à long terme.

Impact du projet

Sur le plan économique, des effets positifs sont attendus sur le développement des PME panaméennes, avec environ 600 PME bénéficiaires de crédit attendues d’ici 5 ans pour un volume de crédit représentant le double de l’encours PME actuel de la banque. 

Sur le plan social, le projet devrait soutenir 1 400 emplois au sein de Banesco, auxquels devraient s'ajouter près de 5 500 emplois indirects (au sein des PME financées par Banesco) d’ici 5 ans. Les femmes sont majoritaires dans la banque et occupent 64% des postes de senior management.

Le projet aura également un impact positif sur le plan de la réduction des inégalités femmes-hommes, puisque la ligne de crédit de Proparco sera dédiée à 50% au financement de PME gérées ou détenues par des femmes ou des PME dont le leadership est féminin ou qui proposent des produits et services en faveur des femmes. 

04/12/2019
Date de signature du projet
Panama
Localisation
Outils de financement
27 225 701 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt de 30 MUSD
Details du financement
Banesco S.A. (Panama)
Client
CES