• logo linkedin
  • logo email
In Paraguay, Proparco is supporting SMEs and green finance via a USD 120m loan to Sudameris Bank under the Friendship Facility led with DEG.
Client presentation

Sudameris S.A.E.C.A. is a medium-sized universal bank (5th largest Paraguayan bank in terms of loans). It plays a major role in financial intermediation in Paraguay and offers financial products and services to large companies, SMEs and individuals in the country.    

Project description

The project involves setting up a USD 120m operation in the form of a loan (Friendship Facility, DEG lead, Proparco and FMO followers) for green financing and Paraguayan SMEs).

The TA will conduct the following activities: a market study based on the targeted sectors, development of a marketing strategy for “green” loans; development of these products adapted to demand on the Paraguayan market; training of the sales staff of Sudameris; advice for the implementation of atypical climate projects.

Project impact

Positive impacts are expected on the climate and in social terms: 

  • About 90% of the loan, i.e. EUR 34m, should finance projects that contribute to climate change mitigation and adaptation. More generally, Banco Sudameris, as a member of the United Nations Environment Programme Finance Initiative (UNEP FI), has pledged to promote and implement good practices for the management of environmental and social risks. The bank is already a pioneer in this field in the country and the MERCOSUR region.  
  • In social terms, the project will support employment for local people. Banco Sudameris currently has just over 400 employees and the project should create about thirty additional direct jobs by 2023 and support over 22,000 indirect jobs in the client companies of Banco Sudameris.  
12/19/2019
Date of signature of the project
Paraguay
Location
Financing tool
36 327 934 Euros
Amount of funding
USD 40m loan and EUR 27,000 of Technical assistance
Financing details
Sudameris Bank S.A.E.C.A.
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Au Paraguay, Proparco soutient les PME et les financements verts grâce un prêt de 120 millions de dollars octroyé à Sudameris Bank, dans le cadre de la Friendship Facility menée avec la DEG.
Présentation du client

Sudameris S.A.E.C.A. est une banque universelle de taille moyenne (5ème banque paraguayenne en matière de prêts) qui joue un rôle majeur dans l’intermédiation financière au Paraguay et qui propose des produits et services financiers aux grandes entreprises, aux PME et aux particuliers dans le pays.

Description du projet

Le projet consiste à mettre en place une opération à hauteur de 120 MUSD sous la forme d’un prêt  (Friendship Facility, DEG lead, Proparco et FMO follower), destiné aux financements verts et aux PME paraguayennes.

Impact du projet

Des effets positifs sont attendus sur le plan du climat et sur le plan social : 

  • Environ 90 % du prêt, soit 34M€, devrait financer des projets contribuant à l'atténuation et l’adaptation au changement climatique. Plus largement, Banco Sudameris, en tant que membre du United Nations Environment Programme Finance Initiative (UNEP FI), s’engage à promouvoir et mettre en oeuvre de bonnes pratiques en matière de gestion des risques environnementaux et sociaux ; la banque est déjà pionnière en la matière dans le pays et la région MERCOSUR.
  • Sur le plan social, le projet soutiendra l'emploi des populations locales. Banco Sudameris compte aujourd'hui un peu plus de 400 employés, le projet devrait permettre de créer une trentaine d'emplois directs supplémentaires d’ici 2023 et de soutenir plus de 22 000 emplois indirects au sein des entreprises clientes de Banco Sudameris.
19/12/2019
Date de signature du projet
Paraguay
Localisation
Outils de financement
36 300 934 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt de 40 MUSD
Details du financement
Sudameris Bank S.A.E.C.A.
Client
CES