• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Equateur
The loan allocated by PROPARCO to the local bank Guayaquil will allow it to develop its financing activity for Ecuadorian SMEs. These SMEs will be able to rely on the network of the bank, which has branches in rural areas and remote areas in the country
Client presentation

Banco Guayaquil is Ecuador’s fourth largest private bank. The bank was set up in 1923 and started its operations as Banco Italiano. It took its current name in 1941, after its changeover to Ecuadorian capital during the Second World War. 
Banco Guayaquil operates nationwide and offers a wide range of products, with a specialization in the business segment, which accounts for some 57% of the bank’s loan portfolio.

Project description

This operation aims to support Banco Guayaquil’s development of its SME financing activity. It involves USD 75m of syndicated financing arranged by CAF in the form of an A/B loan. CAF, Proparco and Bio Invest are all three lenders in the A Loan, each for USD 15m, while Finance in Motion, Multibank and Banco de Occidente are lenders in the B Loan. The funds made available by Finance in Motion will be used to finance agricultural projects.

Project impact

Ecuadorian SMEs will be able to rely on the network of the bank, which has branches in rural areas, but also over 5,000 “bancos del barrio”, which are “mini-branches” set up in grocery stores or other shops, often in remote areas (e.g. in Amazonia).
Based on the average loan allocated to Ecuadorian SMEs by Banco Guayaquil, PROPARCO’s financing should support over 270 additional SMEs and should increase the bank’s SME financing to some USD 257m.
The project will also support employment for local communities. It should be noted that 56% of jobs in the bank are held by women. Based on an eco-responsible approach, the bank is also seeking to reduce its carbon footprint. It is also interested in developing a green activity.

07/05/2019
Date of signature of the project
Ecuador
Location
Financing tool
13 373 752 Euros
Amount of funding
USD 15m loan
Financing details
Banco Guayaquil S.A.
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Equateur
Le prêt accordé par Proparco à la banque locale Guayaquil permettra de développer son activité de financement des PME équatoriennes. Celles-ci pourront s'appuyer sur le réseau de la banque, présente en zone rurale et dans des zones reculées du pays.
Présentation du client

Banco Guayaquil est la quatrième banque privée d'Equateur. La banque a été fondée en 1923 et a commencé ses opérations sous le nom de Banco Italiano. Elle prend son nom actuel en 1941, suite à son passage sous capitaux équatoriens durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. 
Banco Guayaquil est présente sur l'ensemble du territoire et propose une offre de produits diversifiée, avec une spécialisation sur le segment des entreprises, qui représente près de 57% du portefeuille de prêts de la banque.

Description du projet

Cette opération vise à soutenir Banco Guayaquil dans le développement de son activité de financement aux PME. Elle consiste en un financement syndiqué  à hauteur de 75M USD arrangé par la CAF sous forme de A/B Loan. CAF, Proparco et Bio Invest sont tous trois prêteurs dans le A Loan à hauteur de 15M USD chacun, tandis que Finance in Motion, Multibank et Banco de Occidente sont prêteurs dans le B Loan. les fonds mis à disposition par Finance in Motion serviront à financer des projets agricoles.

Impact du projet

Les PME équatoriennes pourront s'appuyer sur le réseau de la banque, qui compte des agences en zone rurale mais également plus de 5 000 "bancos del barrio" qui sont des "mini-agences" placées dans des épiceries ou autres boutiques, souvent dans des zones reculées (e.g. en Amazonie). 
Sur la base du prêt moyen accordé aux PME équatoriennes par Banco Guayaquil, le financement de Proparco devrait soutenir plus de 270 PME supplémentaires et devrait porter le volume de
financement PME de la banque à environ 257 M USD. 
Le projet soutiendra également l'emploi des populations locales. A noter que 56% des emplois au sein de la banque sont occupés par des femmes. Dans une approche éco-responsable, la banque cherche également à réduire son bilan carbone, s'intéressant également au développement d'une activité verte.

07/05/2019
Date de signature du projet
Equateur
Localisation
Outils de financement
13 373 752 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt de 15 MUSD
Details du financement
Banco Guayaquil S.A.
Client
CES