• logo linkedin
  • logo email
enfants, école, Brésil, éducation
The investment fund Bozano Investimentos Growth Capital is seeking to support medium-sized family-owned companies active in social sectors, including health and education. PROPARCO has invested USD 12m in the fund to support the development of SMEs in Brazil and social sectors.
Client presentation

Bozano Investimentos is a fund manager which came about through the merger of 3 investment companies in 2013: BR Investimentos (BRI), Mercatto and Trapezus. Bozano Investimentos manages some BRL 4bn of assets and operates in two segments: private equity and asset management (hedge funds, public equity and fixed income).  

The private equity activity is itself subdivided into two activities with two separate teams: funds for education and funds for services, social sectors and consumer goods. The manager is a Brazilian pure play in its private equity activity. 

Project description

PROPARCO has invested USD 12m in Bozano Investimentos Growth Capital Fund (BGCF), whose investment strategy focuses on financing the growth of medium-sized family-owned companies. 

The fund will target the sectors of consumer goods, distribution, health and services, with a focus on logistics. The investments will target companies with a local footprint and will be made exclusively in BRL. 

The fund mainly targets minority positions (20-49%), but may also take majority positions when there is no actual controlling shareholder and alongside a sound and committed management team.

Project impact

The project has a number of economic and social benefits: 

  • Promoting SME development, by offering long-term subsidiary financing to complement an inadequate range of bank products, as they are only available to the major players; 
  • Supporting the emergence of leading groups in Brazil in focus sectors for AFD Group, such as health (hospital platform) and education, in geographical areas neglected by equity investors. The extension of three hospitals has already been financed and other projects related to the health sector are currently being analyzed (medical laboratories, blood bank), in order to meet growing demand for high-quality health services in Brazil. These projects are expected to create 174 additional beds and provide healthcare to some 3 million patients a year, mainly from the middle classes. 

Another investment made concerns a chain of supermarkets offering fresh products and targeting lower-middle or low-income populations. 

  • Contributing to employment and training for local communities. The project is expected to help create or maintain over 15,700 direct and indirect jobs, 54% of which will be held by women. 
21/09/2018
Date of signature of the project
Sectors
Brazil
Location
Financing tool
10 560 000 Euros
Amount of funding
Equity investment of USD 12m
Financing details
Bozano Investimentos Growth Capital Fund
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
enfants, école, Brésil, éducation
Le fonds d'investissement Bozano Investimentos Growth Capital cherche à soutenir la croissance des entreprises familiales de taille moyenne et actives dans les secteurs sociaux dont la santé et l'éducation. Pour accompagner le développement des PME au Brésil et des secteurs sociaux, Proparco a investi 12 millions de dollars dans le fonds.
Présentation du client

Bozano Investimentos est un gestionnaire de fonds résultant de la fusion en 2013 de 3 sociétés d’investissement : BR Investimentos (BRI), Mercatto et Trapezus. Bozano Investimentos gère près de 4 mds d'actifs en BRL et intervient sur deux segments : le private equity et la gestion d’actifs (hedge funds, public equity et fixed income). 

L’activité de private equity est elle-même subdivisée en deux activités qui disposent d’équipes distinctes : les fonds dédiés à l’éducation et les fonds dédiés aux services, aux secteurs sociaux et aux biens de consommation. Le gestionnaire est un pure player brésilien sur son activité de private equity.

Description du projet

Proparco a investi 12 millions de dollars dans le fonds Bozano Investimentos Growth Capital Fund (BGCF) dont la stratégie d'investissement porte sur le financement de la croissance d’entreprises familiales de taille moyenne. 

Le fonds ciblera les secteurs des biens de consommation, de la distribution, de la santé et des services, notamment dans la logistique. Les investissements viseront des sociétés à empreinte locale et se feront uniquement en BRL. 

Le fonds vise essentiellement des positions minoritaires (20-49%) mais pourra également prendre des positions majoritaires en l’absence de réel actionnaire contrôlant et aux côtés d’une équipe de management solide et impliquée.

Impact du projet

Le projet présente de nombreux effets bénéfiques économiques et sociaux : 

  • favoriser le développement des PME en proposant des financements subsidiaires de long-terme pour compléter une offre bancaire insuffisante car réservée aux plus grands acteurs ; 
  • soutenir l’émergence de groupes leaders au Brésil dans des secteurs privilégiés par le Groupe AFD, comme la santé (plateforme hospitalière) et l’éducation, dans des zones géographiques délaissées par les investisseurs en fonds propres. Le financement de l'extension de trois hôpitaux a déjà été réalisé et d'autres projets relatifs au secteur de la santé sont en cours d'analyse (laboratoires médicaux, banque de sang), afin de répondre à la demande croissante pour des services de santé de qualité au Brésil. Ces projets permettraient de créer 174 lits supplémentaires et de proposer une offre de soin à près de 3 millions de patients issus majoritairement de la classe moyenne par an . 

Un autre investissement réalisé porte sur une chaîne de supermarchés proposant des produits frais et ciblant les populations à revenus moyens inférieurs, voire à bas revenus. 

  • contribuer à l'emploi et à la formation des populations locales. Le projet devrait soutenir la création ou le maintien de plus de 15 700 emplois directs et indirects dont 54% occupés par des femmes. 
21/09/2018
Date de signature du projet
Secteurs
Brésil
Localisation
Outils de financement
10 560 000 Euros
Montant du financement
Prise de participation de 12 MUSD
Details du financement
Bozano Investimentos Growth Capital Fund
Client
CES