• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Projet Bank One
Proparco's aim in renewing its support to Bank One is to strengthen private sector development in Mauritius. The credit line which has been allocated is combined with support for environmental and social risk management.
Client presentation
Bank One is a generalist commercial bank registered in Mauritius. Its former name was First City Bank, before it was taken over in 2008 by the consortium made up 50% by CIEL Finance Ltd., and 50% by I&M Holdings. Bank One provides all the services of a universal bank (retail, corporate, SME banking, etc.). It has a local presence with 13 branches and a regional presence with a representation office in South Africa. It is currently the country's tenth largest bank in terms of loans and deposits.
Project description
Proparco has allocated Bank One a EUR 10m subordinated credit line with a 10-year maturity. This credit line will strengthen the banks equity, after the authorization of the Central Bank of Mauritius. This credit line is Proparco's second operation with Bank One, following an initial USD 6m operation in 2009, also earmarked to strengthen the bank's capital structure.
Project impact
The project will support private sector development in Mauritius. The bank's portfolio is highly diversified, both in terms of clients and the sectors financed. The bank is anticipating a growth in its activity of 35%, with a target focusing on SMEs, by developing a specific range of products and with a dedicated team. The bank will benefit from support from Proparco to improve environmental and social risk management.
16/12/2016
Date of signature of the project
Mauritius
Location
Financing tool
10 000 000 Euros
Amount of funding
Loan of EUR 10 M
Financing details
Bank One Limited
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Projet Bank One
En renouvelant son soutien à Bank One, Proparco cherche à renforcer le développement du secteur privé sur l’Île Maurice. La ligne de crédit accordée est accompagnée d’un appui à la gestion des risques environnementaux et sociaux.
Présentation du client

Bank One est une banque commerciale généraliste enregistrée à Maurice. Anciennement appelée First City Bank, elle a été rachetée en 2008 par le consortium formé à 50% par CIEL Finance Ltd, et à 50% par I&M Holdings. Bank One offre tous les services d'une banque universelle (banque de détails, corporate, PME, etc.). Elle dispose d'une présence locale de 13 agences et régionale à travers un bureau de représentation en Afrique du sud. Elle est actuellement la dixième banque du pays en termes de crédits et de dépots.

Description du projet

Proparco a accordé à Bank One une ligne de crédit subordonnée de 10 MEUR à 10 ans. Cette ligne de crédit pourra venir renforcer les fonds propres de la banque sur autorisation de la Banque Centrale de Maurice. Cette ligne de crédit est la seconde opération de Proparco avec Bank One, après une première opération de 6 MUSD consacrée également au renforcement de la structure capitalistique de la banque en 2009.

Impact du projet

Le projet soutiendra le développement du secteur privé à Maurice. Le portefeuille de la banque est très diversifié, que ce soit en termes de clients qu'en termes de secteurs financés. La banque anticipe une croissance de son activité de 35%, avec un ciblage plus particulier des PME via le développement d'une offre spécifique et d'une équipe dédiée. La banque bénéficiera d'un appui de Proparco sur l'amélioration de la gestion des risques environnementaux et sociaux.

16/12/2016
Date de signature du projet
Maurice
Localisation
Outils de financement
10 000 000 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt de 10 MEUR
Details du financement
Bank One Limited
Client
CES