• logo linkedin
  • logo email
projet_azure
Proparco is continuing to support Azure Power, a photovoltaic operator based in India. This equity investment in the company's capital increase will allow it to develop and implement new projects.
Client presentation
Azure Power is a leading developer and operator of photovoltaic solar projects in India. The company was set up in 2008 by an entrepreneur, Inderpreet Wadhwa, in the context of the new solar energy development plan promoted by the Indian Government. When the company was set up, it initially used capital from venture capital funds, before attracting IFC, DEG and PROPARCO as shareholders.
Project description
After becoming a shareholder of Azure Power in 2013, PROPARCO is subscribing to the company’s capital increase for the second time. This financing will allow Azure Power to finalize the development and construction of additional photovoltaic projects until 2017.
Project impact
This project, by supporting renewable energy development, will have a positive impact on the climate. It will reduce annual greenhouse gas emissions in India by some 462,000 teq CO2 and reduce the country’s dependence on fossil fuels. It is also in line with national solar energy development objectives. In addition, it will contribute to meeting growing electricity needs in India.
22/07/2015
Date of signature of the project
Financing tool
7 579 064 Euros
Amount of funding
Equity investment of USD 8,5m
Financing details
AZURE POWER GLOBAL LIMITED
Client
Inderpreet Wadhwa, Founder and CEO of Azure Power, describes his company's commitment to develop new solar power plants in India.

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
projet_azure
Proparco poursuit son engagement aux côtés de Azure Power, un opérateur photovoltaïque basé en Inde. Cette participation à l’augmentation de capital de la société lui permet de développer et de mettre en place de nouveaux projets.
Présentation du client

Azure Power est un leader parmi les développeurs et opérateurs de projets solaires photovoltaïques en Inde. La société a été fondée en 2008 par un entrepreneur, Inderpreet Wadhwa, dans le contexte du nouveau plan de développement de l’énergie solaire promu par le gouvernement indien. A sa création, la société a d’abord fait appel à des capitaux provenant de fonds de capital-risque avant d’attirer dans son actionnariat la SFI, la DEG et Proparco.

Description du projet

Après être entrée au capital d'Azure Power en 2013, Proparco souscrit pour la seconde fois à l'augmentation de capital de la société. Ce financement permettra à Azure Power de finaliser le développement et la construction de projets photovoltaïques additionnels jusqu'à 2017.

Impact du projet

En soutenant le développement des énergies renouvelables, ce projet aura un impact positif sur le climat. Il permettra d'éviter les émissions de gaz à effet de serre de l'Inde à hauteur de 462 000 teq CO2 par an et de réduire la dépendance du pays aux énergies fossiles. Il s'inscrit en outre dans les objectifs nationaux de développement de l’énergie solaire. Il contribuera par ailleurs aux besoins croissants en électricité de l'Inde.

22/07/2015
Date de signature du projet
Inde
Localisation
Outils de financement
7 579 064 Euros
Montant du financement
Prise de participation de 8,5 MUSD
Details du financement
AZURE POWER GLOBAL LIMITED
Client
Inderpreet Wadhwa, Fondateur et Directeur d'Azure Power, présente l'engagement de son entreprise pour le développement de l'énergie solaire en Inde.