• logo linkedin
  • logo google plus
  • logo email
Projet ARF
The USD 50m African Rivers Fund (ARF) is supporting microenterprises and SMEs, mainly in the Democratic Republic of Congo. It provides access to capital for entrepreneurs who are often from disadvantaged backgrounds.
Client presentation
ARF is the only initiative in DRC that supports this size of company and it plays an extremely important role in the development of the local economy. The fund has invested in key sectors, such as health and education. FISEA is thereby fully playing its role of supporting SMEs in Central and French-speaking Africa and is strengthening its presence in this geographical area.
Project description
ARF aims to invest in SMEs, mainly in DRC, but also in Uganda, Congo and Burundi. This USD 50m fund will seek to make twenty or so investments, with tickets ranging between USD 0.25m and USD 5m. It will mainly invest via mezzanine debt (80%) and equity (20%), as these instruments give the manager the capacity to exert influence.
Project impact
An equity investment in the ARF fund is fully in line with FISEA's strategy, which aims to support initiatives with strong potential in terms of development impacts, while respecting economic and financial viability criteria. The support to ARF for this new initiative will more specifically: (i) support the microenterprise/SME segment in geographical areas where access to capital for fledgling companies still poses a considerable constraint in "frontier" countries, but whose individual risk is controlled by the geographical and sectoral diversification strategy; (ii) job creation, with the fund anticipating the creation of 1,500 jobs over the next 5 years, (iii) major social impacts through ARF's strategy to support entrepreneurial initiatives whose direct and indirect beneficiaries are among disadvantaged populations (education, agriculture, health).
Date of signature of the project
Financing tool
4 550 000 Euros
Amount of funding
Equity investment of 5 MUSD
Financing details

• logo linkedin
  • logo google plus
  • logo email
Projet ARF
Avec 50 millions de dollars, l’African Rivers Fund (ARF) soutient les TPE et PME, essentiellement en République démocratique du Congo. Il permet à des entrepreneurs – souvent issus de milieux défavorisés – d’ accéder au capital.
Présentation du client

ARF constitue la seule initiative en RDC pour accompagner les sociétés de cette taille là et joue un rôle extrêmement important dans le développement de l’économie locale. Le fonds a investi dans des secteurs clés comme la santé et l’éducation. FISEA joue ainsi pleinement son rôle d’accompagnement des PME en Afrique Centrale et francophone et permet de renforcer sa présence dans cette géographie.

Description du projet

ARF a pour objectif d’investir dans des PME principalement en RDC, mais aussi en Ouganda, au Congo et au Burundi, D’une taille de 50 MUSD, le fonds cherchera à réaliser pour une vingtaine d’investissement avec des tickets d’intervention compris entre 0,25 MUSD et 5 MUSD, le fonds interviendra principalement en dette mezzanine (80%) et en fonds propres (20%), ces instruments permettant au gestionnaire d’exercer une capacité d’influence.

Impact du projet

Un investissement au capital du fonds ARF s’inscrit en droite ligne de la stratégie de FISEA, visant à soutenir des initiatives fortement porteuses d’impacts sur le développement tout en respectant des critères de viabilité économique et financière. L’accompagnement d’ARF sur cette nouvelle initiative permet plus particulièrement de :(i)  Soutenir le segment des TPE/PME dans des géographies où l’accès au capital pour les jeunes pousses demeure une contrainte forte dans des pays dits « frontières » mais dont le risque individuel est maîtrisé par la stratégie de diversification tant géographique que sectorielle ; (ii) la création d’emplois, le fonds anticipant 1500 emplois créés à horizon 5 ans,  (iii) des effets sociaux importants de par la stratégie d’ARF de soutenir des initiatives entrepreneuriales dont les bénéficiaires directs ou indirects font parties des populations défavorisées (éducation, agriculture, santé).

02/02/2016
Date de signature du projet
Secteurs
Localisation
Outils de financement
4 550 000 Euros
Montant du financement
Prise de participation de 5 MUSD
Details du financement
AFRICAN RIVERS FUND
Client
CES