Amethis Fund II: An investment fund to develop family-owned SMEs in Africa.

Multi-country Global Côte d'Ivoire Kenya Morocco
  • logo linkedin
  • logo email
electrician, africa
The second fund of the Amethis Capital management team will invest in SMEs and midcaps which are often family-owned. This capital contribution will support the development and institutionalization of these companies, which are pillars for economic growth and employment in Africa.
Client presentation

Amethis is a generalist venture capital manager dedicated to Africa. It was set up by Luc Rigouzzo and Laurent Demey in 2011 and today manages over EUR 650m via three funds. The team is based in Paris, Luxembourg, Abidjan, Casablanca and Nairobi.

Project description

Amethis Fund II (“AF II”) is the Amethis management team’s second investment fund dedicated to the entire African continent. The fund has a target size of EUR 300-350m and is aiming at 12 to 14 investments, with tickets ranging between EUR 10m and EUR 30m. It will seek to acquire “minority controlling” positions in mature family-owned SMEs. These investments will mainly be made in the context of capital increases, aiming at financing the development of companies via productive investments or external growth. AF II is a generalist fund and will seek to diversify its portfolio in sectors exposed to domestic consumption, which will be a pillar for the continent’s growth in the coming years (consumer goods, distribution, agro-industry, financial services, health, ICTs…). 

Project impact

Through its investment strategy, which aims to take stakes in often family-owned SMEs and midcaps in order to provide them with resources for their development, Amethis II will contribute to reducing the long-term financing gap and supporting private sector development, economic growth and employment in Africa, especially in French-speaking Africa. 
In addition to this capital contribution, Amethis has demonstrated its ability to support the institutionalization of these SMEs, by strengthening governance, improving financial structuring, and supporting the implementation of action plans, particularly environmental and social plans. 

Amethis is supporting the companies in its portfolio by: 

  • Holding seats on boards to support strategic and commercial reflection, and improve governance;
  • Supporting capital structuring (internal growth) and external growth operations;
  • Supporting CAPEX investments;
  • Improving reporting practices (particularly financial reporting); and
  • Raising awareness of the environmental and social aspects. 

The project will also contribute to employment and training for local communities. Based on the first fund, the project will contribute to the creation of 6,000 indirect jobs in the 15 companies invested in (estimate), including 2,400 held by women (40%, based on fund I). Training will be planned for 20% of employees thanks to the fund’s support and for an additional 20% by the company itself. 

Finally, the project will support the development of the private capital market in Sub-Saharan African countries where this resource is scarce.
Amethis helps companies mobilize the debt and/or equity financing required for their development.   

13/12/2018
Date of signature of the project
Sectors
Multi-country Global Côte d'Ivoire Kenya Morocco
Location
Financing tool
15 000 000 Euros
Amount of funding
Equity investment of EUR 15m
Financing details
AMETHIS FUND II S.C.A., SICAR
Client
CES

Amethis Fund II : un fonds d’investissement pour développer les PME familiales du continent africain.

Multi-Pays Etranger Côte d'Ivoire Kenya Maroc
  • logo linkedin
  • logo google plus
  • logo email
electrician, africa
Le second fonds de l’équipe de gestion Amethis investira dans des PME et ETI souvent familiales. Cet apport en capital permettra d'accompagner le développement et l'institutionnalisation de ces entreprises, piliers de la croissance économique et de l’emploi en Afrique.
Présentation du client

Amethis est un gestionnaire de capital-investissement généraliste dédié au continent africain. Créé en 2011 par Luc Rigouzzo et Laurent Demey, Amethis gère aujourd'hui plus de 650 millions d'euros via trois fonds. L'équipe est basée à Paris, Luxembourg, Abidjan, Casablanca et Nairobi.

Description du projet

Amethis Fund II ("AF II") est le second fonds d’investissement dédié à l'ensemble du continent africain de l’équipe de gestion Amethis. D'une taille cible de 300-350 millions d'euros, le fonds vise 12 à 14 investissements pour des tickets compris entre 10 et 30 millions d'euros. Il cherchera à acquérir des positions de « minoritaire contrôlant » dans des PME matures familiales. Ces investissements se feront principalement dans le cadre d’augmentations de capital, visant à financer le développement des sociétés via des investissements productifs ou de la croissance externe. Fonds généraliste, AF II cherchera à diversifier son portefeuille dans des secteurs exposés à la consommation domestique, pilier de la croissance du continent dans les prochaines années (biens de consommation, distribution, agro-industrie, services financiers, santé, TIC…).

Impact du projet

Par sa stratégie d’investissement visant à entrer au capital de PME et ETI souvent familiales afin de leur donner les moyens de leur développement, Amethis II contribuera à réduire le déficit de financement long-terme et à soutenir le développement du secteur privé, la croissance économique et l’emploi en Afrique, notamment francophone. 
Au-delà de cet apport en capital, Amethis a démontré sa capacité à accompagner l’institutionnalisation de ces PME, via un renforcement de la gouvernance, une meilleure structuration financière, et un appui à la mise en place de plans d’actions, notamment environnementales et sociales. 

Amethis accompagne les sociétés de son portefeuille, à travers 

  • une implication au niveau du board pour appuyer la réflexion stratégique et commerciale, et améliorer la gouvernance; 
  • un appui à la structuration du capital (croissance interne) et aux opérations de croissance externe; 
  • le soutien d'investissements en CAPEX; 
  • l'amélioration des pratiques de reporting (notamment financier); et 
  • la sensibilisation aux aspects environnementaux et sociaux. 

Le projet contribuera également à l'emploi et à la formation des populations locales. Sur la base du premier fonds,  le projet contribuera à la création de 6 000 emplois indirects au sein des 15 sociétés investies (estimation), dont 2 400 occupés par des femmes (40%, sur la base du fonds I). Des formations pour 20% des employés seront prévues grâce à l'appui du fonds et 20% supplémentaires par l'entreprise elle-même. 

Enfin, le projet appuiera le développement du marché privé des capitaux dans les pays d'Afrique sub-saharienne où cette ressource est rare. 
AMETHIS soutient les entreprises dans la mobilisation de financements sous forme de dette et/ou equity nécessaires à leur développement. 

13/12/2018
Date de signature du projet
Secteurs
Multi-Pays Etranger Côte d'Ivoire Kenya Maroc
Localisation
Outils de financement
15 000 000 Euros
Montant du financement
Prise de participation de 15 MEUR
Details du financement
AMETHIS FUND II S.C.A., SICAR
Client
CES