• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Au Costa Rica, renforcer les énergies renouvelables en développant la filière éolienne
By financing four wind farms, PROPARCO is contributing to the development of the industry in Costa Rica. The country’s production is largely based on hydropower, which has a complementary seasonality to wind energy.
Client presentation
The Alisios project, which was initially owned by Globeleq Mesamerica Energy (GME), was taken over in late 2016 by the Guatemalan group Corporacion Multi Inversiones (CMI). This group, which has already acquired other GME assets, is a family-owned holding company which is firmly established in Central America in several sectors, including energy (mainly hydropower), agri-food, real estate, finance and telecoms.
Project description
It involves a wind project in Costa-Rica (4 x 20 MW), developed by GME, the leader in the sector in Central America. The borrower has signed, via its 4 subsidiaries, 4 PPAs with the public electricity company, ICE. The turbines installed will be supplied by Gamesa, one of the leaders in the sector. The sites have excellent wind conditions, validated by long-term measurements and the close proximity of other wind farms.
Project impact
Proparco’s involvement in this project will support Costa Rica’s very strong ambition for renewable energy development. While the country already has a high hydropower, geothermal and wind energy capacity, the project is being implemented in a context of strong growth in demand. This requires continuing investments in this sector in order to reduce the use of local thermal production units, which are costly and have high GHG emissions. In addition, wind energy production has a complementary seasonality to hydropower, the predominant source of production in the country, which ensures there is a significant share of renewables in the electricity mix throughout the year.
30/10/2015
Date of signature of the project
Costa Rica
Location
Financing tool
48 420 000 Euros
Amount of funding
Senior and subordinated loan of USD 53 M
Financing details
ALISIOS HOLDINGS SA
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Au Costa Rica, renforcer les énergies renouvelables en développant la filière éolienne
En finançant quatre fermes éoliennes, Proparco contribue au développement de la filière au Costa Rica. La production du pays repose en grande partie sur l’hydroélectricité, qui propose une saisonnalité complémentaire à l’éolien.
Présentation du client

Le projet Alisios, initialement détenu par Globeleq Mesamerica Energy (GME), a été racheté fin 2016 par le groupe guatémaltèque Corporacion Multi Inversiones (CMI). Ce dernier, qui a également acquis d’autres actifs de GME, est une holding familiale fortement implantée en Amérique Centrale dans plusieurs secteurs, notamment l’énergie (hydroélectricité principalement), l’agro-alimentaire, l’immobilier, la finance et les télécom.

Description du projet

Il s’agit d’un projet éolien au Costa-Rica (4 x 20 MW), développé par la société GME, leader du secteur en Amérique Centrale). L’Emprunteur a signé, à travers ses 4 filiales, 4 PPAs avec la société publique d’électricité, ICE. Les turbines installées seront fournies par Gamesa, l’un des leaders du secteur. Les sites présentent d’excellentes conditions de vent, validées par de longues séries de mesure et la proximité immédiate d’autres parcs éoliens.

Impact du projet

L’intervention de Proparco dans ce projet contribue à appuyer le Costa Rica dans sa très forte ambition en matière de développement des énergies renouvelables. Si le pays est déjà bien pourvu en capacité de production hydroélectrique, géothermique et éolienne, le projet s’inscrit dans un contexte de forte croissance de la demande qui nécessite de poursuivre les investissements dans ce secteur pour diminuer le recours aux unités de production thermiques locales, coûteuses et fortement émettrices de GES. La production éolienne connaît par ailleurs une saisonnalité complémentaire à celle de l’hydroélectricité, la source de production dominante dans le pays, ce qui permet d’assurer une forte part renouvelable dans le mix électrique tout au long de l’année.

30/10/2015
Date de signature du projet
Costa Rica
Localisation
Outils de financement
48 420 000 Euros
Montant du financement
Prêt senior et subordonné de 53 MUSD
Details du financement
ALISIOS HOLDINGS SA
Client
CES