• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Famille
Afrimarket offers members of the diaspora the possibility of buying vouchers or daily consumer goods and having them delivered to their families in West Africa. Proparco is participating in the development of the start-up.
Client presentation

The creation of Afrimarket in March 2013 marked the beginning of cash-to-goods in Africa and the company became a real substitute for remittances. It all started when Rania Belkahia and Jérémie Stoss, the co-founders, realized that members of the African diaspora did not have a vehicle to trace the funds sent to their relatives and that their relatives often did not use the funds for the intended purposes. The Afrimarket services were initially launched in Côte d’Ivoire with a voucher system and rapidly developed to give the diaspora the possibility of choosing the type and brand of the good sent from a catalogue of digital products. An extended panel of local traders was rapidly very enthusiastic about the idea of being given a new client base. They included leaders in food distribution, such as CDCI (Compagnie de Distribution de Côte d’Ivoire) and Prosuma in Côte d’Ivoire, Auchan in Senegal and Erevan in Benin: just over three years after starting its activity, Afrimarket opened 4 local branches with a partner base of 80 local traders (250 outlets), recruited 50 people, and served 15,000 clients, with over 30,000 orders placed on the platform.

Project description

Proparco's financing is part of the start-up's third fundraising (for a total of 9m) with existing shareholders and two new entrants (Financière Fonds Privés, an asset management company specialized in investments in French digital start-ups, and Global Innovation Fund, an impact fund). This equity injection will be earmarked for the development of a digital marketing force and the professionalization of the logistics network, which are necessary for the scaling up of the model, as well as for its geographical expansion into the French-speaking West Africa zone. Proparco's financing will support activities to bring procedures into line with AFD Group standards. In 2018, Proparco made an additional investment of 700 000 EUR to support the development of the company’s activities in West Africa. 

 

Project impact
The financing of this project will contribute to creating or maintaining a number of jobs, particularly local jobs and/or jobs held by women. Afrimarket's activities will support some 2,300 jobs over the next 5 years. The project will improve access to basic goods and services for people living in remote areas, by offering tariffs consistent with the standard of living of these people. Finally, the project will support the development of local value chains.
28/07/2016
Date of signature of the project
1 730 000 Euros
Amount of funding
EUR 1m Equity investment and EUR 30,000 technical assistance and EUR 700,000 bonds
Financing details
AFRIMARKET
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Famille
Afrimarket propose aux membres de la diaspora d’acheter et de faire livrer à leurs proches vivant en Afrique de l’Ouest des bons d’achat ou des biens de consommation courante. Proparco participe au développement de la start-up.
Présentation du client

La création d’Afrimarket en mars 2013 marque le début du cash to goods sur le continent Africain et la société s’est imposée en véritable substitut au transfert d’argent. Rania Belkahia et Jérémie Stoss, co-fondateurs, sont partis du constat simple que les membres de la diaspora africaine ne disposaient pas de vecteur de traçabilité des fonds envoyés à leurs proches et que, souvent, ceux-ci étaient utilisés à des fins détournées de l’objectif initial. D’abord lancée en Côte d’Ivoire sur un système de bons d’achats, l’offre Afrimarket a rapidement évolué vers la possibilité pour la diaspora de choisir, sur un catalogue de produits numérisés, la nature et la marque du bien envoyé. L’apport d’une base-clients diaspora a vite séduit un panel élargi de commerçants locaux, parmi lesquels les leaders de la distribution alimentaire tels que CDCI (Compagnie de Distribution de Côte d’Ivoire) ou Prosuma en Côte d’Ivoire, Auchan au Sénégal et Erevan au Bénin : en un peu plus de trois ans d’activité, Afrimarket a ouvert 4 antennes locales, constitué une base-partenaires de 80 commerçants locaux (250 points de vente), recruté 50 personnes et servi 15 000 clients pour plus de 30 000 commandes effectuées sur la plateforme.

Description du projet

Le financement de Proparco s’est intégré à la troisième levée de fonds de la start-up (d’un montant total de 9 MEUR) auprès d’actionnaires existants souhaitant renouveler leur soutien et deux nouveaux entrants (Financière Fonds Privés, société de gestion de patrimoine spécialisée sur l’investissement dans des start-ups numériques françaises, et Global Innovation Fund, fonds d’impacts).  Cette injection de fonds propres sera dédiée au développement d’une force de marketing digital et à la professionnalisation  du réseau logistique, conditions nécessaires à la mise en échelle du modèle, ainsi qu'à son expansion géographique dans la zone Afrique de l'Ouest francophone. Le financement d’appui de Proparco permettra de soutenir la mise en conformité des procédures aux standards du Groupe AFD. En 2018, Proparco a réalisé un investissement supplémentaire de 700 000 EUR afin d’accompagner la société dans son plan de développement en Afrique de l’Ouest.

 

Impact du projet

Le financement de ce projet contribuera à créer ou maintenir de nombreux emplois, notamment locaux et/ou occupés par des femmes. L'activité d'Afrimarket soutiendra près de 2300 emplois d'ici 5 ans. Le projet améliorera l'accès à des biens et services de base à des populations vivant dans des zones isolées, en proposant des tarifs cohérents avec le niveau de vie de ces populations. Enfin, le projet soutiendra le développement de chaines de valeur locales.

28/07/2016
Date de signature du projet
Multi-Pays Afrique
Localisation
1 730 000 Euros
Montant du financement
Prise de participation de 1 MEUR et Accompagnement technique de 30 000 EUR et obligations de 700 000 EUR
Details du financement
AFRIMARKET
Client
CES