A fund to support SMEs in the Indian Ocean and West Africa

Côte d'Ivoire | Ghana | Madagascar | Mauritius | Multi-country Africa
  • logo linkedin
  • logo email
Projet ADENIA IV
The Adenia IV fund mainly targets SMEs in the Indian Ocean and West Africa. It helps them go regional, diversify their products, and strengthen their organizational and managerial potential.
Client presentation
The Adenia team ventured into investment in 2002 with an initial EUR 10m fundraising for the Indian Ocean region. Adenia has since launched two successor funds: in the Indian Ocean region for the second fund (EUR 37m) and Indian Ocean/West Africa regions for the third (EUR 97m). The first EUR 182m closing of Fund IV demonstrates the attractiveness of Adenia's offering and the relevance of its strategy.
Project description
The Adenia team, set up by the entrepreneur Antoine Delaporte and already well known to Proparco, aims to continue its investment thesis for the development of mid-caps which are often family-run and face the issue of shareholder and managerial succession. The fund's support for invested companies will generally be via majority stakes and will be based on a multi-country implementation (Côte d’Ivoire, Ghana, Madagascar, Mauritius), through a close partnership approach with the promoters-founders, with three pillars: (i) opening up to regional markets (development of a multi-country footprint), (ii) the diversification and revaluation of the range of products/services, (iii) institutionalization (strengthening of middle management and preparation for succession, financial and organizational professionalization, standardization with best ESG practices). The fund's investments will focus on a wide range of sectors: agro-industry, financial services, health, telecoms, hotel industry...
Project impact
The project will contribute to providing employment and training to local communities. The project will help create and maintain some 2,000 jobs, 30% of which will be held by women. It will also contribute to private sector development: ADENIA will mainly target SMEs operating in services, agrobusiness, tourism, energy and telecoms. Finally, the project will support projects that contribute to developing access to goods and services for all.
01/11/2016
Date of signature of the project
Sectors
Côte d'Ivoire | Ghana | Madagascar | Mauritius | Multi-country Africa
Location
Financing tool
15 000 000 Euros
Amount of funding
Equity investment of EUR 15m
Financing details
ADENIA CAPITAL IV
Client
CES

Un fonds pour appuyer les PME de l’Océan indien et d’Afrique de l’Ouest

Côte d'Ivoire Ghana Madagascar Maurice Multi-Pays Afrique
  • logo linkedin
  • logo email
Projet ADENIA IV
Le fonds Adenia IV s’adresse essentiellement à des PME de l’Océan indien et d’Afrique de l’Ouest. Il les aide à passer à l’échelle régionale, à diversifier leurs produits et à renforcer leur potentiel organisationnel et managérial.
Présentation du client

L'équipe Adenia s'est lancée dans l'aventure de l'investissement en 2002 avec la levée d'un premier fonds de 10 MEUR dédié à la zone Océan Indien . Adenia a depuis lancé deux fonds successeurs sur les zones Océan Indien pour le deuxième fonds (37 MEUR) et Océan Indien/Afrique l'Ouest pour le troisième (97 MEUR). La premier closing du fonds IV, d'un montant de 182 MEUR, marque l'attrait de la proposition d'Adenia et la pertinence de sa stratégie.

Description du projet

L’équipe Adenia, fédérée par l’entrepreneur Antoine Delaporte et déjà bien connue de Proparco, souhaite poursuivre sa thèse d’investissement en faveur du développement d’entreprises de taille intermédiaire et souvent familiales confrontées à une problématique de succession actionnariale et managériale. L’accompagnement du fonds en faveur des sociétés investies reposera, via des participations le plus souvent majoritaires, une implantation pluri-pays (Côte d’Ivoire, Ghana, Madagascar, Maurice) et une logique de partenariat rapproché avec les promoteurs-fondateurs, sur trois piliers : (i) l’ouverture aux marchés régionaux (développement d’une empreinte multi-pays), (ii) la diversification et la revalorisation de l’offre produits/services, (iii) l’institutionnalisation (renforcement du management intermédiaire et préparation à la succession, professionnalisation financière et organisationnelle, standardisation aux meilleures pratiques en matière d’ESG). Les investissements du fonds porteront sur un éventail diversifié de secteurs allant de l’agro-industrie aux services financiers, à la santé, aux télécoms ou encore à l’hôtellerie.

Impact du projet

Le projet contribuera à l'emploi et la formation des populations locales. Le projet soutiendra la création ou le maintien d'environ 2000 emplois, dont 30% seront occupés par des femmes.Il contribuera également au développement du secteur privé: ADENIA ciblera principalement des PME opérant dans les services, l'agrobusiness, le tourisme, l'énergie et les télécom. Enfin, le projet soutient des projets qui contribuent au développement de l'accessibilité des biens et services à tous.

01/11/2016
Date de signature du projet
Secteurs
Côte d'Ivoire Ghana Madagascar Maurice Multi-Pays Afrique
Localisation
Outils de financement
15 000 000 Euros
Montant du financement
Prise de participation de 15MEUR
Details du financement
ADENIA CAPITAL IV
Client
CES