• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Fintech
By investing in the new Accion Venture Lab fund, Proparco, with the NGO Accion, is helping to support the development of the activity of Accion Venture Lab, which is considered to be one of the top fintech specialists in Africa, Asia and Latin America. The Accion Venture Lab fund will support the emergence of start-ups that play a structural role in developing the financial inclusion of populations.
Client presentation

Accion Venture Lab (AVL) is a seed fund dedicated to financing fintechs that target underbanked populations in developing countries. AVL is an initiative launched by the NGO Accion in 2012. Accion International was founded in 1961 and is a global non-profit organization committed to financial inclusion. Its headquarters are in the USA. The organization aims to support the start-up of fintech companies whose activity improves the quality and accessibility of financial services and/or reduces their cost for the most disadvantage populations. In almost 60 years, the NGO has supported over 110 financial institutions and 50 fintechs operating in over 40 countries in South and Central America, Asia and Africa.  

Project description

The fund aims to invest in 10 to 15 start-up fintechs which have passed the stage of the pilot phase of their product and have demonstrated their business model on the basis of a prototype, in order to assist them with their launch on the market then finance their growth and scaling up. The fund targets the entire range of fintechs, from payment solutions and remittances to financing SMEs and microenterprises and alternative scoring. 
The Accion Venture Lab team is today recognized as one of the top fintech specialists on the markets where it operates (Asia, Africa and Latin America). Furthermore, by capitalizing on Accion’s expertise in financial inclusion and as a signatory of the Investor Guidelines for Responsible Digital Finance, AVL is positioned as a responsible player able to identify and support players developing sustainable business models which have a strong impact for populations. 

Project impact

The project is being implemented in markets characterized by a lack of access to basic financial services and where the emergence of fintechs is structural for the development of financial inclusion. 

AVL’s creation of value covers three categories: technical assistance, governance and support for raising financing. AVL is more than a capital provider and supports fledgling companies which are in the process of demonstrating their concept and are generally generating little or no income for the time being, by making its expertise and network available to them. 

The project should thereby contribute to:

  • creating and maintaining jobs in the fund and indirectly in the companies invested in,
  • increasing access to microfinance services,
  • assisting start-ups in improving governance, accounting practices and reporting, 
  • mobilizing the private sector: AVL helps its underlying companies raise debt and/or equity.
     
05/07/2019
Date of signature of the project
Multi-country Global India Mexico South Africa Kenya
Location
Financing tool
1 800 000 Euros
Amount of funding
USD 2m equity investment
Financing details
Accion Venture Lab, LP
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
Fintech
En investissant dans le nouveau fonds d'Accion Venture Lab, Proparco contribue, avec l'ONG Accion, à accompagner le développement de l'activité d'Accion Venture Lab, considéré comme l’un des meilleurs spécialistes fintech en Afrique, en Asie et en Amérique latine. Le fonds Accion Venture Lab permettra d'appuyer l'émergence des start-up structurantes pour le développement de l'inclusion financière des populations.
Présentation du client

Accion Venture Lab (AVL) est un fonds seed (capital amorçage) dédié au financement des fintechs ciblant les populations sous-bancarisées dans les pays en voie de développement. 
AVL est une initiative lancée en 2012 par l'ONG Accion. Fondée en 1961, Accion International est une organisation à but non lucratif globale engagée en faveur de l’inclusion financière et dont le siège est aux Etats-Unis. L'organisation est destinée à favoriser le démarrage de sociétés fintech dont l’activité améliore la qualité et l’accessibilité des services financiers et/ou en réduit le coût pour les populations les plus défavorisées. Depuis près de 60 ans, l’ONG a accompagné plus de 110 institutions financières et 50 fintech présentes dans plus de 40 pays en Amérique du Sud et Centrale, en Asie et en Afrique.

Description du projet

Le fonds pour objectif d’investir dans 10 à 15 jeunes fintech qui ont passé l’étape de la phase pilote de leur produit et ont prouvé leur business model sur la base d’un prototype afin de les accompagner sur la mise sur le marché puis de financer la croissance et la mise à l’échelle. Le fonds cible l’ensemble du spectre des fintech allant des solutions de paiement et transfert d’argent au financement des PME et TPE et à l’alternative scoring. 
L’équipe d’Accion Venture Lab est aujourd’hui reconnue sur ses marchés d’intervention (Asie, Afrique et Amérique Latine) comme l’un des meilleurs spécialistes fintech. De plus, en capitalisant sur l’expertise d’Accion en inclusion financière et en tant que signataire des Investor Guidelines for Responsible Digital Finance, AVL se positionne comme un acteur responsable capable d’identifier et d’accompagner les acteurs développant des business models soutenables et à fort impact pour les populations.

Impact du projet

Le projet s’inscrit dans des marchés caractérisés par un déficit d’accès aux services financiers de base et où l’émergence des fintech est structurante pour le développement de l’inclusion financière. 

La création de valeur d’AVL englobe trois catégories: l’accompagnement technique, la gouvernance et l’aide à la levée de financements. Plus qu’un apporteur de capital, AVL accompagne des sociétés très jeunes dont la preuve de concept est en cours et qui généralement ne génèrent pas encore de revenus ou peu en mettant à leurs disposition son expertise et son réseau. 

Le projet devrait ainsi contribuer à

  • la création et le maintien de l'emploi au sein du fonds et indirectement dans des sociétés investies ,
  • le renforcement de l’accès à des services de microfinance, 
  • l'accompagnement de start-ups sur l’amélioration de la gouvernance, des pratiques comptables et du reporting, 
  • la mobilisation du secteur privé : AVL aide ses sous-jacents dans leur levée de dette et/ou de capitaux.
05/07/2019
Date de signature du projet
Multi-Pays Etranger | Inde | Mexique | Afrique du Sud | Kenya
Localisation
Outils de financement
1 800 000 Euros
Montant du financement
Prise de participation de 2 MUSD
Details du financement
Accion Venture Lab, LP
Client
CES