• logo linkedin
  • logo email
médecin, santé
Proparco has subscribed to the 1st foreign currency Social Bond issue in the WAMU zone. These bonds will finance and/or refinance social projects, in particular for SMEs active in the health, education and microfinance sectors. PROPARCO’s aim in supporting ABI, and more generally BCP Group, is to rouse the interest of local investors in this innovative product and create a knock-on effect.
Client presentation

With 9.4% of market share, Atlantic Business International (ABI) Group, a holding company based in Abidjan, in which BCP holds a 68.46% stake, is one of the three leading financial groups in the WAEMU area. The Group is continuing its geographical expansion, with a presence in 6 West African countries and 14 subsidiaries active in the banking, merchant banking and insurance sectors. ABI’s development is central to the strategy of BCP Group, which in 2017 in its “Elan 2020” plan underscored its pan-African ambition through a strengthening of its base in several strategic countries. ABI, a key player in West Africa, is based on the universal and multi-business model developed by BCP in Morocco, which it adapts and tailors to the specific characteristics of each market. 

Project description

It is the first Social Bond issue in West Africa by Atlantic Business International (ABI) and amounts to a total of EUR 125m. It is the first private foreign currency issue on the BRVM market and the first operation of this kind for PROPARCO.
PROPARCO’s participation, alongside IFC, aims to promote the development of the product on the market by enabling the required regulatory and technical changes. The objective is to rouse the interest of local investors in this instrument and create a knock-on effect.

Project impact

This operation is in line with PROPARCO’s strategy: it is creating an innovative product (first foreign currency Social Bond issue in the WAMU zone) issued by a player committed to financing social projects, ABI and more generally BCP Group. It could also eventually boost the region’s capital market.
In addition, this operation is fully in line with the principle of subsidiarity, as local investors would not have subscribed the total amount issued given the innovative nature of the issue and its currency (euros). The involvement of PROPARCO and IFC  is strengthening investor confidence and aims to create a knock-on effect.
Finally, this financing is strengthening the partnership established with BCP in 2011, as AFD Group is currently the bank’s only bilateral donor. 

On the economic level, the project will support financial inclusion and the development of small and medium-sized enterprises in the targeted sectors (health, education and microfinance). It will contribute to building the capacities of entrepreneurs, as a training program for ABI’s SME clients is currently being set up and will cover good practices for risk management and corporate governance.
On the social level, the project should improve access to essential services for people. The project will support some 3,000 direct jobs over the next 5 years, i.e. some 700 additional jobs. Women account for some 45% of employees and hold 41 management positions (out of 185 positions). ABI provides its employees with training: at the end of June 2018, 70% of employees had benefited from training.
Finally, the project should have positive impacts on reducing gender inequalities, as in the context of social obligations, 30% of the financing will be allocated to projects which support female entrepreneurship and leadership. 
 

12/12/2018
Date of signature of the project
Benin Burkina Faso Côte d'Ivoire Niger Mali Senegal Togo Multi-country Africa
Location
Financing tool
50 000 000 Euros
Amount of funding
Subscription of a social bond issue amounting to EUR 50,000,000 to finance and/or refinance social projects, in accordance with the principles of the International Capital Market Association (ICMA).
Financing details
Atlantic Business International SA
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
médecin, santé
Proparco a souscrit à la 1ère émission obligataire sociale (Social Bond) émise en devise sur la zone UMOA. Ces obligations permettront de financer et/ou refinancer des projets sociaux, notamment de PME actives dans les secteurs de la santé, l’éducation et la microfinance. En accompagnant ABI, et plus largement le groupe BCP, Proparco souhaite susciter l’intérêt des investisseurs locaux pour ce produit innovant et créer un effet d’entraînement.
Présentation du client

Avec 9,4% de part de marché, le groupe Atlantic Business International (ABI), holding basée à Abidjan dont BCP détient 68,46% du capital, fait partie du trio de tête des groupes financiers de l’espace UEMOA. Le Groupe poursuit son expansion géographique avec une présence dans 9 pays de l’Afrique de l’Ouest et 14 filiales actives dans les domaines de la banque, la banque d’affaires et les assurances. Le développement d’ABI est au coeur de la stratégie du groupe BCP qui a réaffirmé en 2017 dans le plan "Elan 2020" son ambition panafricaine à travers le renforcement de son ancrage au sein de plusieurs pays stratégiques. Acteur clé en l’Afrique de l’Ouest, ABI s’appuie sur le modèle de banque universelle et multi-métiers développé par la BCP au Maroc qu’il décline et adapte aux spécificités de chaque marché.

Description du projet

Il s'agit de la première émission obligataire sociale (Social Bond) en Afrique de l’Ouest émise par Atlantic Business International (ABI) pour un montant total de 125 millions d'euros. Il s’agit de la première émission privée en devises sur le marché de la BRVM et de la première opération de Proparco de cette nature. 
La participation de Proparco, aux côtés de la SFI, a vocation à impulser le développement du produit sur le marché en permettant les évolutions réglementaires et techniques requises, avec l’objectif de susciter l’intérêt des investisseurs locaux pour cet instrument et de créer un effet d’entraînement.

Impact du projet

Cette opération s’inscrit dans la stratégie de Proparco : elle permet l’émergence d’un produit innovant (première émission sociale émise en devise sur la zone UMOA) émis par un acteur engagé dans le financement des projets sociaux, ABI et plus largement le groupe BCP, et qui pourrait permettre de stimuler à terme le marché des capitaux de la région.
Cette intervention est par ailleurs pleinement subsidiaire dans la mesure où les investisseurs locaux n’auraient pas souscrit à l’intégralité du montant émis compte tenu du caractère innovant de l’émission et de sa monnaie (euros). L’implication de Proparco et de la SFI permet de renforcer la confiance des investisseurs et a vocation à créer un effet d’entraînement.
Ce financement vient enfin consolider le partenariat noué avec la BCP en 2011, le Groupe AFD étant à ce jour le seul bailleur de fonds bilatéral de la banque.

Sur le plan économique, le projet soutiendra l’inclusion financière et le développement des petites et moyennes entreprises dans les secteurs ciblés (la santé, l’éducation et la microfinance). Il contribuera au renforcement des capacités des entrepreneurs puisqu’un programme de formation des PME clients d’ABI est en cours de mise en place et couvrira les bonnes pratiques de gestion des risques et de gouvernance d’entreprise. 
 Sur le plan social, le projet devrait permettre d'améliorer l’accès des populations aux services essentiels. Le projet soutiendra près de 3 000 emplois directs d’ici 5 ans, soit environ 700 emplois additionnels. Les femmes représentent près de 45% des employés et occupent 41 postes de direction (sur 185 postes). ABI propose des formations à ses employés : à fin juin 2018, 70% des employés ont bénéficié de formation. 
 Le projet devrait enfin avoir des effets positifs sur la réduction des inégalités femmes/hommes puisque, dans le cadre des obligations sociales, 30% des financements seront octroyés à des projets soutenant l’entreprenariat et le leadership féminin.

12/12/2018
Date de signature du projet
Bénin Burkina Faso Côte d'Ivoire Niger Mali Sénégal Togo Multi-Pays Afrique
Localisation
Outils de financement
50 000 000 Euros
Montant du financement
Souscription à une émission obligataire sociale à hauteur de 50000000 euros pour financer et/ou refinancer des projets sociaux, conformément aux principes de l'International Capital Market Association (ICMA).
Details du financement
Atlantic Business International SA
Client
CES