• logo linkedin
  • logo google plus
  • logo email
electrician, africa
FISEA has become a shareholder of AB Bank Zambia, the only bank which finances SMEs and micro-entrepreneurs in Zambia. This capital contribution will improve access to financing for micro-entrepreneurs, smallholders and SMEs in the country.
Client presentation

AB Bank Zambia is the only bank which finances SMEs and micro-entrepreneurs in Zambia. At the end of 2017, its balance sheet totaled EUR 24m. ABZ operates via a network of 7 branches, employs 419 people and has 14,754 borrowers.

Project description

The project involves a participation in the capital increase of AB Bank Zambia. Following this capital increase, FISEA holds 22.5% of the capital of ABZ.

Project impact

On the economic front, the capital contribution will allow the institution to continue to serve some 15,000 clients, 96.4% of which are micro-entrepreneurs and smallholders (accounting for 54.7% of the portfolio), and 2.1% are SMEs (41.2% of the portfolio). 
The bank’s activity is important for the support it provides to the development of Zambian SMEs, in particular for the wholesale and retail trades (28%), the transport, logistics and communication sectors (20%), catering (16%) and community services and services to individuals (12%).
The loans allocated by ABZ are generally earmarked for capital investment and the working capital needs of borrowers.
The project will directly allow the creation of several new branches (2 of which will serve rural areas) and will create or maintain 621 jobs in the bank. 

28/03/2019
Date of signature of the project
Sectors
Zambia
Location
Financing tool
1 800 000 Euros
Amount of funding
ZMW 25,000,000 Equity investment
Financing details
AB Bank Zambia
Client
CES

• logo linkedin
  • logo email
electrician, africa
FISEA est entrée au capital d'AB Bank Zambia, la seule banque de financement des PME et micro-entrepreneurs en Zambie. Cet apport en capital permettra d'améliorer l'accès aux financements des micro-entrepreneurs, petits agriculteurs et PMEs du pays.
Présentation du client

AB Bank Zambia est la seule banque de financement des PME et micro-entrepreneurs en Zambie. Fin 2017, elle affichait un bilan total de 24 MEUR. ABZ opère via un réseau de 7 agences, emploie 419 employés et compte 14 754 emprunteurs.

Description du projet

Le projet consiste à participer à l'augmentation de capital d'AB Bank Zambia. A l'issue de cette augmentation de capital, FISEA détient 22,5% du capital d'ABZ.

Impact du projet

Sur le plan économique, l’apport en capital permettra à l’institution de continuer à servir près de 15 000 clients dont 96,4% sont des micro-entrepreneurs et petits agriculteurs (pour 54,7% du portefeuille), et 2,1% sont des PMEs (41,2% du portefeuille). 
L’activité de la banque est importante pour le soutien au développement des PME zambiennes, en particulier pour le commerce de gros et de détail (28%), le secteur du transport, de la logistique et de la communication (20%), de la restauration (16%) et des services communautaires et services à la personne (12%). 
Les crédits octroyés par ABZ sont généralement dédiés à l’investissement en capital et aux besoins en fonds de roulement des emprunteurs. 
De manière directe, le projet devrait permettre la création de plusieurs nouvelles agences (dont 2 qui serviront des zones rurales) et la création ou le maintien de 621 emplois au sein de la banque. 

28/03/2019
Date de signature du projet
Secteurs
Zambie
Localisation
Outils de financement
1 800 000 Euros
Montant du financement
Prise de participation de 25 000 000 ZMW
Details du financement
AB Bank Zambia
Client
CES