Social & Inclusive Business

The notion of “Social & Inclusive Business” has emerged alongside that of microfinance. It is a hybrid approach that brings an entrepreneurial spirit to bear on the fight against inequality. To ensure the long-term viability of this approach, AFD Group supports all those operating within the ecosystem at the different phases of their development, from establishing and growing the sector to strengthening its institutional framework.

Social & Inclusive Business brings together economic stakeholders, including not-for-profit organizations and businesses, that put social and/or environmental development front and centre of what they do. AFD Group aims to promote this hybrid approach and boost its impact on people and the planet. Its initiatives to promote the growth of Social & Inclusive Business target stakeholders (from start-ups to big businesses), technical support organizations, funding bodies and political decision-makers.
Equipe de Nutrizaza
AFD Group and Social & Inclusive Business: combining entrepreneurship and sustainable development goals

1. Social and inclusive projects

Julius Okoth, menuisier et membre de la plateforme LYNK

Social and inclusive projects

Social & Inclusive Business is driven by private- and public-sector stakeholders whose raison d’être is to make a positive social and environmental impact, from start-ups to local businesses, multinationals and non-governmental organizations (NGOs). To do this, they adopt a hybrid approach, come up with innovative models and develop internal structures that are in line with their objectives.

AFD Group has established a specific approach to encourage and support all Social & Inclusive Business stakeholders and their innovations. By supporting these organizations, we are helping to create development that brings greater social, economic and environmental value, by combining entrepreneurship with sustainable development goals and the fight against inequality.

AFD Group has been supporting “social business” since 2015. The term is used to refer to organizations that have a clear social and/or environmental purpose and sustainable business model, whose internal structure reflects their objectives (e.g. their governance, use of profits and HR policies). Inclusive businesses incorporate those at the “bottom of the pyramid” into their value chain, whether as customers, distributors or suppliers. Such individuals live on less than eight US dollars a day and have little or no access to basic goods and services.
 

2. Activities supporting disadvantaged groups

Cliente d'Enda

Activities supporting disadvantaged groups

Promoting the inclusion of those at the bottom of the pyramid in a wide range of sectors, from education to health, food and even energy and water, is not only a way of establishing a fairer, more inclusive economy; it also creates major economic prospects for those seeking customers or business opportunities.

AFD Group supports Social & Inclusive Business projects that make it easier for disadvantaged groups to access basic goods and services. For example, we are helping to reduce infant malnutrition in Madagascar by supporting the development of the Nutri’zaza initiative. We are also trying to improve access to water by working alongside operators such as the Phnom Penh Water Supply Authority (PPWSA), as well as to make health care more widely available, particularly in sub-Saharan Africa, by supporting entrepreneurial projects with a social objective, such as the Medical Credit Fund (MCF).

We also support microfinance actors such as Enda Tamweel in Tunisia who participate in the financial empowerment of disadvantaged populations.

3. Getting Social & Inclusive Business projects off the ground

PRO-JKENYA-SANERGY-FEMME-ENFANTS-2015

Getting Social & Inclusive Business projects off the ground

AFD encourages the creation of Social & Inclusive Business projects through our annual “call for initiatives”, which aims to identify and support social and inclusive start-ups in a range of countries, using local intermediaries as incubators. The first project to win AFDIBA (AFD for Inclusive & Digital Business in Africa) funding kicked off in 2019. The aim is to identify, support and fund inclusive start-ups working with digital technologies in Burkina Faso, Ghana, Morocco and Senegal. The programme has been allocated €2.1 million in funding, 95% of which comes from AFD Group. The 60 successful applicants take part in a programme designed to fast-track entrepreneurs who are using digital technologies to achieve social objectives. 

AFD is also funding entrepreneurial projects through the Investment and Support Fund for Businesses in Africa (FISEA), which is advised by Proparco. For example, in 2015, the FISEA invested in the Novastar East Africa fund, which supports entrepreneurs in East Africa who are developing basic services for the very poorest in sectors ranging from education to health, food and water. The fund supports businesses such as Sanergy, which installs toilets in Nairobi's urban slums.

AFD and Proparco also support organizations with structuring their Social & Inclusive Business projects. The team at the Development Campus organizes an annual boot camp in Marseille with the aim of bolstering start-ups and rooting them within their communities. Each year, we also hold our Social & Inclusive Business Camp, a networking programme for entrepreneurs. With all these events, we place particular emphasis on approaches that promote gender equality.
 

4. Helping Social & Inclusive Business stakeholders to grow

Femme dans une usine de textile en train de travailler

Helping Social & Inclusive Business stakeholders to grow

AFD Group supports economic stakeholders who have ideas for Social & Inclusive Business projects with the aim of guiding them towards a more inclusive approach and helping them to grow. We achieve this by granting loans that come with technical support (where appropriate), providing guarantees for investors and investing in businesses.

AFD Group provides financial backing to:

  • businesses that want to adopt a more inclusive approach;
  • businesses whose approach is already inclusive that are seeking support with the next phase of their growth;
  • investors and financial backers who want to step up their involvement with social and inclusive businesses.

5. Promoting the development of an institutional framework that fosters Social & Inclusive Business

Pakistan, microfinance - Rahim Bibi, femme commerçante

Promoting the development of an institutional framework that fosters Social & Inclusive Business

A suitable institutional framework is key to ensuring that Social & Inclusive Business initiatives can be developed sustainably. This framework must cover aspects such as regulation, the general business environment and taxes. AFD Group promotes the implementation and strengthening of such a positive framework (e.g. legal and tax frameworks, the adoption of common definitions or the establishment of labels) by helping to structure advocacy channels and supporting public-sector stakeholders.

1 Billion euros
to be granted over 5 years (2019-2023)

OUR COMMITMENT:

At a time when we are seeing the rise of a generation of entrepreneurs devoted to ensuring their businesses make a positive social impact, AFD Group is stepping up its support of Social & Inclusive Business in developing countries. AFD’s previous initiative, which was launched in 2015, resulted in a total of €163 million being granted to support 50 Social Business projects.

Interactive map
This map is for illustrative purposes only and does not engage the responsibility of the AFD Group
Geography
Funding type
Antennas
Filters

Geography

Tout cocher
Tout décocher

Funding type

Tout cocher
Tout décocher

Antennas

Display local antennas

Filters

Launch search
See map of all projects

Social & Inclusive Business

Apparu en parallèle de la microfinance, le Social & Inclusive Business (ou entrepreneuriat social et inclusif) est une approche hybride qui associe lutte contre les inégalités et dynamique entrepreneuriale. Pour assurer un développement pérenne de cette approche, le groupe AFD accompagne l’ensemble de l’écosystème aux différents stades de leur développement, de l’émergence à la croissance du secteur, en passant par le renforcement du cadre institutionnel.

Le Social & Inclusive Business regroupe les acteurs économiques (associations, entreprises, etc.) qui font du développement social et/ou environnemental une priorité. Le Groupe AFD entend promouvoir cette approche hybride et renforcer son impact auprès des populations et de la planète. Les actions du groupe AFD en faveur du développement du Social & Inclusive Business ciblent autant les acteurs (de la start-up à la grande entreprise) que les structures d’accompagnement technique, les financeurs et les décideurs politiques.
Equipe de Nutrizaza
Le groupe AFD et le Social & Inclusive Business : intégrer les ODD dans la dynamique entrepreneuriale

Des projets sociaux et inclusifs

Julius Okoth, menuisier et membre de la plateforme LYNK

1. Des projets sociaux et inclusifs

Start-up, entreprises locales ou multinationales, ONG… Le Social & Inclusive Business est porté par des acteurs privés et publics dont la raison d’être est la recherche d’impacts sociaux et environnementaux positifs. Pour ce faire, ils adoptent une approche hybride, imaginent des modèles innovants et développent une organisation interne cohérente avec leur mission sociale.

Le groupe AFD a structuré une approche spécifique pour favoriser et soutenir l’ensemble des acteurs du Social & Inclusive Business et leurs innovations. En appuyant ces structures, nous contribuons à un développement plus social, économique et écologique, alliant dynamique entrepreneuriale et lutte contre les inégalités.

Depuis 2015, le groupe AFD accompagne le social business (entrepreneuriat social) défini comme des activités à finalité sociale et/ou environnementale claire, dont le modèle économique vise la pérennité et dont l’organisation interne reflète la mission sociale (type de gouvernance, utilisation des profits, politiques RH, etc.). L’inclusive business (entrepreneuriat inclusif) intègre dans sa chaîne de valeur, comme client, distributeur ou fournisseur, les populations dites Bottom of the Pyramid (base de la pyramide) qui vivent avec moins de 8 dollars par jour, et qui ont peu ou pas accès aux biens et services essentiels.
 

Des activités au bénéfice des populations défavorisées

Cliente d'Enda

2. Des activités au bénéfice des populations défavorisées

Dans les secteurs de l’éducation, de la santé, de l’alimentation ou encore de l’énergie et de l’eau, l’inclusion des personnes de la base de la pyramide constitue à la fois une opportunité économique incontournable pour des acteurs à la recherche de clients ou de débouchés et représente la possibilité de faire émerger une économie plus équitable, partagée et solidaire.

Le groupe AFD soutient des projets de Social & Inclusive Business qui facilitent l’accès des populations défavorisées aux biens et services essentiels. Par exemple, en accompagnant le développement de l’initiative Nutri’zaza à Madagascar, nous contribuons à la réduction de la malnutrition infantile dans la Grande Île. À une autre échelle, l’eau est un service dont nous cherchons à améliorer l’accès en travaillant notamment aux côtés des opérateurs comme la régie des eaux de Phnom Penh (PPWSA). 

Nous accompagnons également des acteurs de la microfinance comme Enda Tamweel en Tunisie qui participent à l’autonomisation financière des populations démunies.
 

Faire émerger le Social & Inclusive Business

PRO-JKENYA-SANERGY-FEMME-ENFANTS-2015

3. Faire émerger le Social & Inclusive Business

Nous encourageons l’émergence de projets de Social & Inclusive Business. Chaque année, un appel à initiatives est lancé. Le but ? Identifier et appuyer des start-up sociales et inclusives dans plusieurs pays, à travers des relais locaux comme des incubateurs. Le premier projet sélectionné AFDIBA – AFD for Inclusive & Digital Business in Africa  a ainsi démarré en 2019. L’objectif est d’identifier, d’accompagner et de financer des start-up inclusives à dimension digitale au Burkina Faso, au Ghana, au Maroc et au Sénégal. 2,1 millions d’euros, financés à 95 % par le groupe AFD, sont dédiés à ce programme. À la clé pour les 60 lauréat·e·s, un programme d’accélération destiné aux entrepreneurs à impact social et utilisant le digital.

Nous finançons par ailleurs des projets entrepreneuriaux par le biais de FISEA, le fonds d’investissement et de soutien aux entreprises en Afrique conseillé par Proparco. FISEA a ainsi investi en 2015 dans le fonds Novastar East Africa qui accompagne les entrepreneurs d’Afrique de l’Est développant des services de base à destination des plus démunis dans les secteurs de l’éducation, de la santé, de l’alimentation et de l’eau. Il soutient par exemple l’entreprise Sanergy qui installe des toilettes dans les bidonvilles de Nairobi. FISEA a également investi dans les fonds IPAE II et IPDEV II d’Investisseurs et Partenaires, qui soutiennent des PME en croissance en Afrique sub-saharienne. 

L’AFD et Proparco soutiennent aussi la structuration de projets de Social & Inclusive Business. Chaque année, l’équipe du Campus du Développement organise un bootcamp à Marseille qui vise à renforcer les start-up et à les fédérer au sein de leur communauté. Nous organisons aussi chaque année à destination des entrepreneurs le Social and Inclusive Business Camp, un programme de mise en réseau. Une attention particulière sera portée sur les approches pro-genre.

Accompagner la croissance des acteurs du Social & Inclusive Business

Femme dans une usine de textile en train de travailler

4. Accompagner la croissance des acteurs du Social & Inclusive Business

Pour les guider vers une approche plus inclusive et accompagner leur croissance, le groupe AFD appuie les acteurs économiques porteurs de projets de Social & Inclusive Business. Nous leur allouons des prêts associés à de l’assistance technique lorsque cela s’avère pertinent, nous faisons bénéficier leurs investisseurs de garanties ou encore nous investissons dans les entreprises.

Les appuis financiers du groupe AFD peuvent concerner :

  • les entreprises souhaitant adopter une approche plus inclusive;
  • les entreprises déjà inclusives qui souhaitent être accompagnées dans les prochaines étapes de leur croissance;
  • les investisseurs et financeurs souhaitant renforcer leur action au service des entreprises sociales et inclusives.
     

Favoriser la création d’un cadre institutionnel favorable

Pakistan, microfinance - Rahim Bibi, femme commerçante

5. Favoriser la création d’un cadre institutionnel favorable

Pour assurer un développement durable des initiatives de Social & Inclusive Business, un cadre institutionnel adapté est indispensable. Il est fondamental qu’il offre les appuis nécessaires en matière de réglementation, de climat des affaires, de fiscalité, etc. Le groupe AFD promeut la mise en place et le renforcement d’un tel cadre favorable (cadre juridique et fiscal, adoption d’une définition commune, création d’un label, etc.) en appuyant la structuration du plaidoyer et en accompagnant les acteurs publics.

1 Milliard d'euros
octroyés sur 5 ans (2019-2023)

L'action du Groupe AFD :   

À l’heure où une génération d’entrepreneurs résolument attachés à l’impact social de leur entreprise voit le jour, le groupe AFD renforce son soutien au Social & Inclusive Business ou Entrepreneuriat Social et Inclusif dans les pays en développement. La précédente initiative de l’AFD, lancée en 2015, avait permis de soutenir 50 projets de Social Business pour un montant total de 163 millions d’euros.

Carte des projets
Cette carte est uniquement utilisée à titre d’illustration et n'engage pas la responsabilité du groupe AFD
Géographie
Type de financement
Antennes
Filtres

Géographie

Tout cocher
Tout décocher

Type de financement

Tout cocher
Tout décocher

Antennes

Afficher les agences locales

Filtres

Lancer la recherche
Voir l'ensemble des projets

Téléchargement